Ford Ranger T6 facelift launched in Malaysia – six variants, 2.2L and 3.2L, priced from RM91.5k

Ranger_Wildtrak_Ext_02a

The Ford Ranger T6 facelift has been officially launched in Malaysia – the refreshed pick-up, which made its world debut in March at the Bangkok Motor Show, was unveiled at an event in 1Utama a while ago.

The facelift T6 – which, like its predecessor, continues to be assembled in Thailand at the AutoAlliance Thailand (AAT) plant in Rayong – makes its debut in full force, with a six model line-up announced at point of launch.

Three 2.2 litre and three 3.2 litre variants are available with the facelift, with the range starting with the baseline 2.2L XL manual. Next, there’s the 2.2L XLT, which is available in manual and auto forms. As for the 3.2 litre line-up, that consists of the 3.2L XLT, in both manual and auto guise, and the range-topping 3.2L Wildtrak.

As such, three Duratorq TDCi engine versions are available. The Puma mills are led by the P5AT 3.2 litre five-cylinder Duratorq, which continues on with 197 hp at 3,000 rpm and 470 Nm of torque at 1,750 to 2,500 rpm, but now with a reworked EGR system for better efficiency.

Ranger_Girls_02a

Meanwhile, the ZSD-422 2.2 litre four-cylinder’s output has been bumped up to 158 hp at 3,200 rpm and 385 Nm at 1,600 to 2,600 rpm, from the 148 hp and 375 Nm found on the pre-facelift. Finally, the high-efficiency derivative of the ZSD-422, which equips the 2.2 XL – the facelift actually features the new 129 hp tune, an increase of six hp over the outgoing unit, but Malaysia continues on with the old 123 hp (and 370 Nm) output.

Mechanical revisions include a longer final drive ratio, though stop-start tech – which was mentioned as being available at the Thai world debut – is not to be found on MY-spec cars. Transmissions remain as before, the 6R80 six-speed auto and MT82 six-speed manual being the options. The Ranger also gets electric power steering, which is a first in the segment.

Not many external changes, but there’s no mistaking the facelift from the front on. It wears a new face, the rework led by a bold, chrome trapezoidal grille that bears some resemblance to the F-150 Raptor’s in shape.

The truck also gets newly-styled headlamps and a new bonnet, with powerdome strakes dressing up the panel. Interestingly, the Ranger – at seen on the 3.2L Wildtrak and 2.2 XLT launch vehicles – features projector headlamps, but they are all of the halogen variety.

The interior is where the real changes are – the curvy dashboard of old is gone, replaced by an edgier design with more emphasis on horizontal lines. There’s a new steering wheel too, and on the range-topping 3.2L Wildtrak an eight-inch touchscreen and SYNC2 infotainment is present, as is a dual-TFT instrument cluster that provides the driver with all sorts of info.

Standard safety kit across the range is made up of ABS, EBD, electronic stability control, Isofix mounting points and two airbags, with Hill Descent Control, Hill Launch Assist, Roll Over Mitigation and Load Adaptive Control present.

In terms of equipment levels, the baseline 2.2 XL – which is only available in manual guise – is fitted with a black front grille, non-auto halogen headlamps and fabric seats. It comes without a bedliner and side steps. Interior kit, meanwhile, includes two-way manual adjustment front seats, a four-speaker single CD player audio system and an urethane steering wheel.

The variant comes in three colours, Cool White, Metropolitan Grey and Aluminium Metallic. Rather basic, but all in line with the utilitarian, workhorse target market it’s aimed at.

The 2.2 XLT adds on auto halogen headlamps, auto rain sensing wipers, manual climate control, an electrochromatic rear view mirror, leather steering wheel, four-way manual adjustment driver’s seat and SYNC, which offers a 4.2-inch colour display and six-speaker audio system. Two additional colours on top of that offered for the XL, Aurora Blue and Black Mica making up the rest of the five colour palette.

As for the 3.2 XLT, equipment levels mirror that on the 2.2 XLT, so it’s dual airbags as well as SYNC and its 4.2-inch screen for the variant. Four colours as that listed above, save Aurora Blue, which is not available for the 3.2 XLT.

Lastly, the 3.2L Wildtrak, which was revealed in June. The vehicle wears a similar looking front end to the rest of the lineup, but like the outgoing Wildtrak, the grille and bumper extension are painted dark metallic grey, with the faux skid plate finished in silver. Grey also dresses up the wing mirrors, side air vents, door handles, bed rails and tail light internals, and there’s also a Wildtrak graphics package in the mix.

As mentioned in our earlier report, only two exterior colours will be available for the Wildtrak, and these are Cool White and the ‘hero’ orange hue, which has been revised for the facelift – the 2015 shade is called Pride Orange, and replaces the previous Chilli Orange signature shade.

The Wildtrak is the only Ranger to feature the SYNC2 eight-inch touchscreen infotainment system and dual-TFT LCD instrument cluster as well as a 230-volt invertor socket to charge laptops and the like.

It also features an eight-way power adjustable driver’s seat, cooled console box, dual-zone climate control, rear view camera and black-and-orange Wildtrak fabric seats with leather inserts, complete with orange stitching.

Incidentally, the Wildtrak is the only model in the range to feature new plastic side steps, the rest continuing on with the previous metal units – the company says the new side steps are more practical and offer better usability aspects, being wider and easier to step on as well as being easier to clean.

The top-of-the-line model also ups the safety kit and driver assist electronic aid count, with dual front, side and curtain airbags, Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Alert (which warns of an impending collision and primes the brakes) as well as Lane Departure Warning and Assist to be found.

The Ranger 2.2 XL goes for RM91,588, while the 2.2 XLT manual is priced at RM101,388 and the 2.2 XLT auto goes for RM108,788, all on-the-road without insurance.

Meanwhile, the 3.2L XLT manual is priced at RM110,888, while the auto version is priced at RM118,388. As for the range-topping 3.2L Wildtrak, that goes for RM132,188, quite a jump from the pre-facelift.

The Ranger, which will be available in all Ford showrooms nationwide from tomorrow, will be showcased at the ‘Tough Done Smarter Experiential Test Drive’, which will be held at the Central Park Avenue outdoor area of the new wing in 1Utama on Oct 9-11. No advance bookings are required, and admission is free.

Visitors will be able to experience all the capabilities of the refreshed Ranger at the event – each visitor will be paired with a professional driver, who will lead them through a course that simulates tough driving environments – challenges such as water wading and navigating steep terrain are in the mix.

Ford Ranger facelift, 2.2 XLT
Ford Ranger facelift, 3.2L Wildtrak

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Joyrider on Oct 08, 2015 at 1:10 pm

Wow, the price of Ranger is getting more and more expensive, RM132k! is a lot of money for a truck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
    • olio benzina on Oct 08, 2015 at 2:09 pm

RM132k is for top of the range 3.2 Wildtrak. Malaysians are getting a bargain.
      The list price in Australia is A$56,000 not including options like lane departure warning

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • True, a lot of money for a truck but if you compare the specs with SUVs or any passenger cars, you will start to see its a good price :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
      • and not to forget these 4x4s can kick those poser SUV’s a$$es off!

• Raptor on Oct 08, 2015 at 2:37 pm

Thailand top-spec pickup prices, estimated convert RM:

Toyota Hilux Revo 2.8L G Auto = 1.139 million Baht
      (RM133,934.69)

Ford Ranger Wildtrak 3.2L Auto price = 1.124 million Baht
      (RM132,170.84)

Chevrolet Colorado 2.8L HighCountry Auto = 1.029 million Baht
      (RM120,999.82)

Isuzu DMax VCross 3.0L Auto = 1.017 million Baht
      (RM119,588.74)

Mitsubishi New Triton 2.4L GLS Auto = 1.008 million Baht
      (RM118,530.43)

Nissan Navara NP300 VL 2.5L Auto = 996K Baht
      (RM117,119.36)

Mazda BT50 Pro 3.2L Auto = 992K Baht
      (RM116,413.82)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
  • compare to the Post-GST price:

http://paultan.org/2015/04/01/ford-malaysia-gst-prices/

look at how much price has hike.

• alonso on Oct 08, 2015 at 1:24 pm

Wow. Look at the safety spec for Wildtrak! Bravo SDAC.
    Can’t wait to test drive and feel the adaptive cruise control function.

• proproprola on Oct 08, 2015 at 1:27 pm

Omg photo also got projector. What are you writing paotan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • xxXxxXxx on Oct 08, 2015 at 1:35 pm

Sime Darby = BN (Barang Naik)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • Orang kampung pun da pening oO sikalang on Oct 08, 2015 at 1:38 pm

Waa.. ajib…this prices is really “reasonable” for a truck…I need to seeking for donations from middle east first…then I will booking it..

• Technically I have saved 16k off for the pre-FL T6 Ranger Wildtrak which I bought 2 years ago.

• Ford Service on Oct 08, 2015 at 1:39 pm

Before you get any ford model, try this. Go to SDAC PJ, sit and observe. Count how many unhappy customers vs happy customers. You’ll get your answer whether to get a ford after a few hours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
    • Ex-Ranger 3.2 Owner on Oct 08, 2015 at 4:16 pm

I had a 3.2 XLT manual, great truck, extremely powerful. But a few issue which made me sell it:

-fuel consumption is quite bad.
      -road tax is RM3k
      -maintenance service every 10k was costing RM700+ because Sime Darby says its a Continental car. hahaha a continental pick-up truck… good excuse to cheat people more money.

Newer trucks like the Navara NP300 will have similar power from a 2.5 (much less road tax), 7-speed gearbox (better fuel consumption), and it’s not a “Continental” car!

Conclusion: (1) great truck but with outdated engine, (2) road tax too high, (3) SDAC sucks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
    • I went there back on 2014, wearing short and tshirt only, intentionally to book a ranger, but no one entertain me for almost 15 min seating inside the ranger……only the foreign guard greet me after sadly left the showroom…he said..’selamat datang, terima kasih’

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 08, 2015 at 2:07 pm

So in order to have the goodies everyone has to buy he wildtrak. But then the main seller is actually the 2.2 double cab and the spec kit sucks! Will wait to see how the Navara will compete with this.

• wiwiwiwiw on Oct 08, 2015 at 2:11 pm

Great Ford products but sucky Sime Darby Malaysian distributor. I am a Ford Escape V6 owner and their after sales service is horse crap.

First they made you wait on their telephone “press 1, press 2, our operators are busy please call again”.

Secondly, you have to book your car for service since they do not entertain walk in customers; how if your problematic Ford needs a repair?

Thirdly all the service centres in Klang Valley are fully booked the next 10 days (I am not kidding). Forth, Their technicians or service people don’t even know what they’re doing, the problem is still there.

Call them don’t know how to pick up the phone, put operator sommore. Call main line, very efficient terus pick up the call. Don’t believe me try and call them 03-77181256 (Sales); 03-77181273 (Service).

That’s the problem when a car distributor focuses on SALES SALES SALES and not on AFTERSALES.

No more Fords for me.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 6
    • All service centers have their sour stories. I do have my share of bad experience in KIA service center where they forgot to record my appointment and treated me as a walk in and calling their main line where no one pick up or engage all the time.

Even back in my days with VW, i had technicians saying that isnt their problem to fix. So yeah, all service centers have its bad side, not just SDAC :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
      • wiwiwiwiw on Oct 08, 2015 at 3:29 pm

At least they’re kind enough of shooing you home.

• wiwiwiwiw on Oct 08, 2015 at 3:45 pm

Sorry typo. What I meant to say is…
          At least they are kind enough not to ask you to go home.
          Yes, rejection hurts.

• Richard Jonathan Lim on Oct 08, 2015 at 2:47 pm

Well,the interior looks great for a pick up,so is the exterior.But exterior wise it can’t compete with the beautifully designed Nissan Navara NP300 F23.But anyway looks are subjective.As for the price though,its a great bargain IF you compare it to passenger cars,But for a pickup,nah!

• ThunderRock88 on Oct 08, 2015 at 3:30 pm

how about the everest? when will it be launched ?

• wiwiwiwiw on Oct 08, 2015 at 3:58 pm

Hopefully when they have enough service centres, spare parts and service bays.

• setiapaduka on Oct 08, 2015 at 3:59 pm

Ford should improve cabin engine sound during acceleration 0 to 60 kmh. Auto XLT

• The front way too high almost as high as the model chest …

• Malaysian kena Screwed on Oct 08, 2015 at 8:34 pm

yes, Ford.

Make more facelift models…
    After that, charge extra…..

Change bumper, increase price tag
    Change lamp, increase price tag….

• FIST (Member) on Oct 09, 2015 at 12:56 pm

Pathetic and disappointing xlt specs Ford Malaysia!!

• waitTrack on Oct 10, 2015 at 6:33 am

The car feels solid and most importantly packed with safety features. Already placed the booking but may be need to wait for 4 months as the first 300 cars have owners d..haiz

• Kenny on Oct 12, 2015 at 12:33 am

Test drive the 2.2 XTL auto this morning, ride is as comfort as the existing Navara. What impressed me the most is the new electronic power steering. It is so light even the car is not moving i still can turn it with one hand effortlessly.
    I believe it is the most easy driving pickup with best comfort of ride model at this moment… but bear in mind, it is one of the most expensive pickup with the specs offered.
    So, if you can wait, let see how good is the new Navara, but I bet the Navara’s ride will be even more comfortable, but it doesn’t come with electronic power steering. :(

• I booked a unit too after hearing from those test drivers that the electronic steering feels really light and comfortable to handle too.

That itself firmed up my decision to go for the FL Ranger despite the marked up price due to the weak RM.

True, can’t wait to see how good the Navara is when launch

• Sammy Loo on Oct 13, 2015 at 1:37 am

This car will breakdown in the middle of the road.

If you want a 4×4 get the all new Hilux and you are assured with the best RV and durability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Kenny on Oct 13, 2015 at 10:12 am

Depends on what is your expectation, for RV, yes Toyota beat most other brand. Durability, its really depends on luck some times, my corrolla SEG breakdown in the middle of the road for 7 time over 16years..
      And don’t forget, Hilux also very famous model to be stolen as well.
      So interm of ride comfort, please test drive the ford and nissan.
      When you buy a RM 100 shoes, you tried it and walk around in the shop, when you going to buy a RM 100k car, make sure you test drive!!

• Guest01 on Oct 25, 2015 at 10:31 am

Can anyone / current owner advise on the fuel consumption for the 3.2Wildtrak ? Also, it is legally ok to open the tailgate to carry items longer than the cargo bed ? PaulTan, any feedback ?

• Waitrak on Oct 31, 2015 at 8:52 pm

My wildtrak delivered today after just 3 weeks waiting… Superlike!

• jaybone on Nov 19, 2015 at 8:10 am

Received my 2.2xlt auto last month. Excellent ride & satisfied with it. Fuel consumption for long distance trip at 7.1l/100km with average speed 90km/hr, mostly set with auto cruise. SDAC should improve to include additional accessories such as car emergency kit & 1st aid kit to their vehicles.

• Reymond Samie on Feb 13, 2016 at 5:42 pm

Hi, I’m greatly interested with the new face-lifted Ford Wildtrak. However, upon reading some of the comments below, I have mixed feelings about it. I know the Ford Ranger is one of the best trucks in the market but I’d like to know the pros and cons of it as well as whether it’s recommended or the opposite. Thank you!

• kumar on Aug 16, 2016 at 10:34 am

greetings, does anyone know if the rims of ranger wildtrack can fit the isuzu dmax.
    i just bought the wildtrack and i am thinking of upgrading the rims and transfer the current ones to my dmax.
    thank you

• William on Dec 04, 2016 at 12:04 pm

2.2XLT Ranger – purchased in October and so far have experienced about 8-9 times jerking while driving between 70kmh-80kmh, the entire vehicle jerked. The gear rotation feel stuck or not engaging at this speed. Secondly two close at 100KMH, the vehicle not responding to gear in rotation, this is like when the gear in Neutral. Few seconds later, back to normal. This is what I experience so far and not what I expected from Ranger. Will continue to monitor and set appointment with the service center to diagnose. Any one experience car jerking, gear engaging issue?

• William on Dec 04, 2016 at 12:34 pm

vehicle jerk due to gear engaging not happening properly at 70kmh-80kmh, happened about 809 times. secondly gear feels like in neutral at 100KMH. Will get service centre to inspect.