Taxi group to unite in suit against SPAD and gov’t

Malaysia-Taxi-03

On top of the planned protest come November 18, a group of taxi drivers intend to unite under a single union before the demonstration takes place. The strike is to address other issues that taxi drivers are facing, with ride-sharing apps among the few, The Star reports.

To be headed by the Klang Valley Taxi Drivers Action Committee, R. Kengadharan, a lawyer speaking on behalf of the taxi drivers said, “we are targeting to file the suit by the end of November.” The class action suit will be against the government and the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD). Expected to enlist some 3,500 complainants, the suit is said to address a spate of issues that taxi drivers needed to contend with.

Some of the issues spelled out include rentals that were imposed on driver permits, having too many taxi operators around, in which the lawyer is calling for SPAD to halt the issuance of bulk permits, and for a “restraining order” to be issued by the government on Uber and GrabCar, so as to stop both from operating.

Taxi Drivers Protest Against GrabCar 2

Kengadharan claims that the government has not paying attention to drivers problems, in that it was not addressed seriously. If the registration of a national union goes through, the lawyer stated that it would become a union-based suit. “This action (union) is necessary because there are many issues which have been pending for the last 10 years and continue to be unresolved,” he said.

One taxi driver who was not affected by Uber and GrabCar has expressed his thoughts on some of these other issues. The limelight however has been mostly centred on ridesharing apps, with a series of events including, calling on PM, Datuk Seri Najib Razak himself to ban such apps, to ambushing of a GrabCar driver, to rogue arrests of both Uber and GrabCar drivers around KLCC.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• This is a case like telco trying to tell the government to ban VoIP calls. Instead, they understood that they need to move with times, embraced it and made it into an extension of their existing service and used it as a tool to promote their own product and services.

These taxi dude need to understand that the world is moving at a pace not seen in the last 20 years and will move faster. They can either sit like a child screaming on the floor or embrace the change and work it to their advantage.

What they need to be aware is that as a taxi driver, dont think you can take home a 3-4k income. Its unrealistic and unfortunately with inflation combined with fast pace technology, its going to get even tougher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • Same L0rrrr on Oct 22, 2015 at 8:47 pm

When they can’t provide good services, they blame the sky blame the sea blame the haze blame the kangkung.

• Nesniw on Oct 22, 2015 at 12:58 pm

They can request to hapuskan Grabcar or Uber, can we request to HAPUSKAN TAXI?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
  • Pakatan says “You wanna demo against Gov?, You wanna sue Gov? COME, COME MY FRIEND! We have same goal to discredit Gov! Come and I will intro you to our barrage of lawyers! You want Gobind, no too expensive? How about Ramkarpal? Also try sample our partners Lateefa, Rapisi. But if you want best result, do go for our supreme leader tag team LGE+LKS.
    If none can suit you, we still have our partners in BAR Council. You dun take from them, you cannot go court, you know? So COME. COME ONE COME ALL!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 44
    • George Abdul on Oct 22, 2015 at 1:16 pm

If not Najis and his ridiculous “donation” Rakyat won’t turn out like this !!! Dumno Ministers Act nonsense Rakyat just follow…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
      • Who started this: Is your god Dear Leader.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
        • George Abdul on Oct 22, 2015 at 3:00 pm

Don’t bring God in stupid human crisis !!! Lousy ministers act supporter like you followed.

• The cronies hold all the taxi licences…..go and demo against them, the real blood suckers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
  • Last time politician said demo is not our culture. Nowadays, everything want demo.

While taxi drivers want more “beneficial” settlement, who is capitalizing the service for his/her own interest?

Do any regulatory bodies know about this? Or purposely shut their eyes?

Rakyat didahulukan, pencapaian diutamakan. Rakyat die first, we are untouchables.

Kahkahkah.

• andrekua on Oct 22, 2015 at 1:17 pm

Changes had to come from both sides, don’t expect others to changes to suit your preference, fellow taxi drivers.

• ungrateful on Oct 22, 2015 at 1:18 pm

yall better unite to improve service and quality. tak tahu menari salahkan lantai, customer lari salahkan SPAD/GOV/UBER,GRABCAR.

• kereta_lembu on Oct 22, 2015 at 1:44 pm

I do pity some of the honest taxi drivers. While it is not easy to separate the good ones from the bad ones, you can’t blame the public for rejecting all of them because the bad apples gave them a bad image. For years, people had no choice but to pay more because the taxi drives refused to use the meter. The meters are there for a reason, and they choose not to use it, why? TBecause they want to cheat customers. Now, people have better options, cheaper, cleaner, safer and you start to protest and act violently. Why not use your energy to change the whole perception of taxi drivers by doing the right thing? Start using meters, give people good service and they will return to you. Simple.

• i pity every taxi driver. most taxi license are hold by cronies, and taxi driver are paying premium for it. one taxi driver from klia told me the company charge them rm100 per day. that rm3k per month. wth cronies hold license, goyang telur get rm3k per month per taxi. i bet other taxi also the same, though maybe not that much. pity them

• FIST (Member) on Oct 22, 2015 at 1:55 pm

all uber/grabcar drivers will be busy during the strike

• Really happy to see this, after the court case, what will happened for their licence in future? against SPAD and gov, SPAD allowed them to renew? gd move all these dudes, I waiting for this come out since long time ago, good news, good news.

• commuter on Oct 22, 2015 at 7:11 pm

Good good
    Go on strike while uber/grabcar and good taxi drivers can make more income

• Ben yap on Oct 22, 2015 at 8:27 pm

Calling all uber and grab car drivers to drive in kl city this nov 18. Since so many taxi drivers are protesting, there will be shortage of taxis. Time to earn good income!

• anti taxi rider on Oct 23, 2015 at 11:52 am

Why not they suggest all the taxi come under one roof and monopolise the entire taxi industry?? Haha….stupid fools……

• Why fight against the inevitable? Rational thinking taxi drivers would just embrace the change and become uber or grabcar drivers. No need to pay those cronies and be at the mercy of SPAD and PUSPAKOM. I bet these hooligans fighting against uber are actually working for those cronies.