Road rage in SS15, Subang Jaya over parking dispute

A video of a recent road road incident involving a steering lock (yes, a new one) is currently going viral on social media platforms. The clip shows a woman hitting the man’s Toyota Camry repeatedly, apparently over a parking dispute in SS15, Subang Jaya.

It’s not as simple an incident as it may first appear, however. Subang Jaya OCPD Asst Comm Yahaya Ramli told The Star that it all started over a parking dispute last Wednesday.

It’s said that the Camry driver parked at a lot along Jalan SS15/5A that was reserved by the woman. With the Camry parked there, “she ended up parking her Volvo in front of the Toyota and went about her business,” Yahaya said.

The Volvo was still blocking the Camry when the man returned two hours later. Apparently, he then started blaring his car’s horn, calling for the woman to move her vehicle.

“An argument ensued after the man allegedly hurled profanities at her and shoved her elderly father,” Yahaya told the newspaper.

She then called the police for help, “but the man allegedly drove his car into hers several more times, causing damage to the right side passenger door. She then took out a steering lock and began hitting his car,” Yahaya explained.

“The woman confessed to hitting the man’s car with the steering lock, while the guy admitted that he drove his vehicle into hers,” Yahaya concluded, adding that MPSJ had issued a summons to the man. The case is being investigated under criminal intimidation and committing mischief.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• I think there is a need for correction there regarding the statement of “Double-parking should never be your first option, especially if it’s for the sake of convenience rather than blunt necessity”. The lady didn’t park it for the sake of her convenience but because the man had parked on her parking lot which was painted in RED which means its a reserved parking lot.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 2
    • skabt on Nov 03, 2015 at 1:09 am

cool concept u have there, base on malaysia law, her fault in other end ……… is two different case.

if hudud, her fault again, cause shouldn’t drive and dressing code …..

hahahaha is cool joke mate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • The story from the woman’s side: the parking was her’s i.e. it was a reserved parking which she had paid for. The man parked there despite clear indications it was reserved, with cones put there.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 2
  • Jeanne k on Nov 01, 2015 at 3:51 pm

I read from her side of story that it was her reserved parking spot in front of her shop. Perhaps u can check that authenticity because accusing her if she is right seems very wrong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • Shamsul on Nov 02, 2015 at 8:47 pm

I work around the area and from what I heard the man had parked the night before without realising it was a reserved lot and because he had drank, someone dropped him off. Anyway at 845am there are quite a lot of parking at this area so I guess she could’ve just parked elsewhere and told him off later when he came to get his car. Her post also didn’t mention the guy was honking for close to an hour. Hmmm…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
      • I say on Nov 06, 2015 at 8:05 am

Woman nowadays very fierce lah!

• dugongx on Nov 12, 2015 at 11:41 pm

How you like it if this camry dude come and park inside your house porch. And when you park outside to block him, he rams your car.

• Here’s her version of the story. https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10153788688629653&set=o.409593962550533&type=3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • what’s up with women and steering lock?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 27
  • azure on Nov 01, 2015 at 3:58 pm

the man also admitted to have been binge drinking the night before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • wowowow on Nov 01, 2015 at 4:01 pm

volvo also need steering lock?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • What happen to women nowadays??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 51
  • Bbaharein on Nov 01, 2015 at 4:38 pm

So what !even you paid fo the parking lot can’t you talk nicely and get whoever out of your spot!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 99
    • Bill Cosby on Nov 01, 2015 at 5:24 pm

Well. The guy didn’t even care to listen.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 2
    • apalagicinamau on Nov 02, 2015 at 1:48 am

Bbaharein, sounds like barbarian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Toyota King of The road on Nov 12, 2015 at 11:36 pm

Yeah…so what you paid for the parking but we still own the road!

• dugongx on Nov 12, 2015 at 11:42 pm

Bhabariein where you live? I want to come park in your house porch. And then you have to ask me nicely to see if I want to move out ok.

• Modesto.h on Nov 01, 2015 at 6:11 pm

If someone has paid for a spot, it should be vacanted whenever owner does not use it. This may not be respected quite many times before and she may have accumulated enough rage until burst into flame with this incident.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • What business does she run? I thought local council guidelines allow reserved lots for emergencies only like clinic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 33
    • RawFlesh on Nov 02, 2015 at 2:24 pm

Please check again… Anyone may reserve a parking lot, especially if you have a company there and have a need to use it. Certain places, if you don’t reserve a lot, you will spend alot of time going around looking for a lot.

• Ravi Kumar on Nov 03, 2015 at 9:47 am

A wrong is a wrong. We should stop making excuses for the perpetrators.

• Funny statements from Rip.. Please Rest in Peace ya :)

• Gurcharan singh on Nov 01, 2015 at 8:03 pm

The problem in Malaysia is ignorance , or pretence in ignorance.There is no respect for laws and instructions.If there is legally arranged parking facility, paid for by someone, then RESPECT that and do NOT park there as if you own it.Malaysian fail to respect this basic respect of others.I would have not parked there, unless I was continually sitting in the car, and would be able to move as soon that reserved place is needed by the tenant who has rented it.The man is at fault.The lady displayed a reactionary violent behaviour, if it breaks the law for the criminal damage-she caused-charge her too.It is no excuse for her to cause damage.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 2
    • Ravi Kumar on Nov 03, 2015 at 9:49 am

I agree IGNORANCE and pretending to be dumb when one makes a mistake without wanting to admit it.

• coolcontrast on Nov 03, 2015 at 12:04 pm

who wouldn’t be aggresive if they r cursed at, her old man shoved, and her car rammed by a selfish ignorant drunk man

• the parking lot is owned by the lady and clearly marked. they run a medical supplies shop at ss15. i know both her and her father well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • Camry driver had it coming. Suits his arrogant ass well. I applaud the girl. I’d do the same thing as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
  • SamKL on Nov 02, 2015 at 10:54 am

What we need just a rational/wise man/women……why on earth people get easily agitated?

• Better Ways on Nov 02, 2015 at 10:57 am

Is there no way to tow away his car?

• RawFlesh on Nov 02, 2015 at 2:27 pm

The local council was called, nobody showed up for 2 hours! ;)

• Thomas on Nov 02, 2015 at 12:39 pm

Not to say all Camry drivers are bad and rude, but most Camry drivers, old or new Camrys I faced on the road are rude and inconsiderate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
    • lowiqtoyota on Nov 02, 2015 at 7:32 pm

All Toyota drivers are rude. Fullstop. Maybe because it takes lower than average IQ to buy a Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
      • Stefmeister on Nov 02, 2015 at 8:59 pm

Clearly BMW drivers fare much better by your logic

• dugongx on Nov 12, 2015 at 11:46 pm

What do you expect when low IQ ppl pay high prices for tin kosong? Mostly Camry owners paid alot for their useless junk and expect to get respect but end up as laughing stock in their office. So they act like king of the road to compensate.

• SURESH on Nov 02, 2015 at 4:33 pm

Is this women from the stone age?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 41
  • LC Lim on Nov 02, 2015 at 6:05 pm

Irrespective of who is right or wrong, both should not take such a drastic action,like reversing into the car which blocked the Camry’s path. The man should have apologized since he parked in her reserved lot. That would been the end of the story. Why kicked up all this fuss.Now both will have to pay the price of their actions.

• kang.kimlye on Nov 02, 2015 at 6:50 pm

using steering lock is consider as a weapon….every now and than if we meet an accident it ok we take out some weapon to threaten or hammer the opposite party car and it a right thing to do?and if we are wrong just pay the summon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Anywhere in kl u r facing problem..wat happen if someone pass away on this small matter which can b resolved if both parties b slightly considerate.if u park behind someone car..leave your fon number..n make sure your fon is on ringing tone..if everybody think like..msia will

• Kerul on Nov 02, 2015 at 8:58 pm

The man simply doesnt understand simple instruction or he just an idiot and dumb arragont

• too many stupid and arrogant human being in boleh land nowadays…sigh…

• He should not push the lady’s father in the first place.
    By that he is already a bully to a lady with an old father. She is not to be blame.

• K Omar on Nov 03, 2015 at 1:03 am

He parks in her reserved lot, then drives into her car repeatedly. Also, he shoves her elderly father. She was being nice. Good thing he didn’t get out. This could have been worse. Morons like this guy are aplenty. Next time he’ll respect the red box.

• hamiz on Nov 03, 2015 at 9:52 am

no wonder.. the guy is MU fans, so brain like najib.