Gov’t will try to push for off-peak toll fare discounts

Karak-highway

Malaysians, especially urban dwellers, have been affected by a recent round of toll fare hikes on 18 highways, which the government says is unavoidable. An escape route could be on the horizon, although it does involve waking up earlier.

The government will try to push the idea of off-peak discounts to highway concessionaires, The Sun reports. Works Minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof said that a comprehensive study will be conducted by his ministry and the Malaysian Highway Authority before the proposal is forwarded to highway operators.

“We are willing to listen to suggestions from the public and discuss with the highway concessionaires, but it is up to them. We can’t force them since these companies are also answerable to their shareholders,” he said during a dialogue with Malaysian students in Seoul, where the World Road Congress 2015 is being held.

Fadillah had previously said he has no objection to the idea of frequent-user rebates on tolls. “There are probably many ways we can do it but perhaps the public, if they have any ideas, can share (them) with the ministry,” he had said.

The minister was responding to comments in response to Urban Wellbeing, Housing and Local Government Minister Datuk Abdul Rahman Dahlan’s “wake up earlier” to use toll-free roads statement, which an aide of the Kota Belud MP said was taken out of context. A netizen had suggested that “before 6am, highway users should be given a discount of up of 40%”.

Sounds like a decent plan to us, as it not only gives those on a budget a less painful option, but could potentially spread out and ease rush hour traffic. What do you think?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Very funny. Encourage people to use toll when jam less likely? What kind of mindset is this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • Curi2 Wang Malaysia on Nov 05, 2015 at 12:03 pm

Kerajaan nak duit lebih, takut tak cukup bisnes

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Nov 05, 2015 at 1:18 pm

Government actually no need to raise toll prices if there was no songlapping in Malaysia. All prices go up because too many people are songlapping.

Dahlan’s big boss can songlap RM2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions. All the songlapping can go to making new highways with NO tolls and existing highways also no need to raise prices.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM80 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor. Even given Tunship. RM80 billion can build so many FREE highways in Malaysia. And this is just ONe songlappers wealth.
        What about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap. Many many more FREE highways can be built.
        This is why tolls, LRT, KTM all going higher and higher. Our guardians are more interested in Songlap than fighting for the rakyat to get good and better transportation that are also reasonably priced.
        Problem is, Government own all the Public Transportation companies in Malaysia AND they are also ultimate owners of ALL toll concessionaires.
        All toll operators are either UMNO big boys or direct cronies.

It is up to Government to reduce toll charges. I repeat, toll concessionaires are ALL Government owned via Khazanah, EPF, PNB, Tabung Haji and various GLCs.

Please do n’t ketuk the Rakyat anymore. This year Malaysian Government will collect record highest tax collection in the history of Malaysia. Just from GST alone, Gomen has collected RM50 billion in 4 months. You plus that with Income tax, Corporate Tax, Investments by EPF, Khazanah, duties, cukai, eksais etc….Malaysian Government this year is super rich.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
        • Jambang tebal on Nov 05, 2015 at 8:05 pm

Statement ko ni dh basi…copy paste memanjang je… Semua article ada ja ko komen..

• why we need discount for highway during early morning?? Just used normal road (since it is less traffic) then I don’t have to pay a single cent for toll.

the main reason behind may be: by giving this discount, the highway concessionaire can extend they contract and collect more money!! Brilliant idea!!

• George Abdul on Nov 05, 2015 at 12:23 pm

“Will try, will soon” and other “in future”. Upon all “empty promise and denying in future statement”… Rakyat still need to PAY for the cronies shareholder’s loses on “Profit” this doesn’t make sense !!!!!!! As shareholders still making profit out of every users “Rakyat” !!!

• Jimmy on Nov 05, 2015 at 10:08 pm

Saya amat suka bersandiwara.

Saya mengupah seorang untuk berpura-pura merompak atau mengusik kekasih saya and then I terjun keluar membelasah dia. Now I look like a hero.

• BigBalls on Nov 05, 2015 at 12:50 pm

Well that’s all nice and rosy until they define the off peak hours as 12am-5am, and they will have the cheek to tell the rakyat to syukur for their effort.

-BigBalls-

• Black Dog on Nov 05, 2015 at 1:51 pm

I think its a bloody good idea.

Off peak should be 4-7am and 7-10pm. Discounts should be at least 40% – 70% to make it worthwhile.

Restaurants should do the same too, 2-5pm and 9-11pm cheaper prices. Hong Kong does that.

• agreed…encourage ppl/office to spread their working hours too…will also helps in reducing the congestion by staggered use of the hyways

• thepolygonal on Nov 05, 2015 at 11:55 am

I hope this does not mean those that have to take the rush hour have to pay WAY MORE just to compensate those can does use the highway on not so rush hours.

• marji on Nov 05, 2015 at 11:59 am

Last year we enjoy discount toll usage mor than 20 passes (correct me if i’m wrong). Are u aware that if reminder of your T&Go balance is x.01,02,03,04, 06,07,08,09 is not rounded up or down. The toll charges with x.05 is very limited. None x.01,02,03,04..so this value will remain foever until you terminate the card. Tq

• PLUS already do this 5-6 years ago…
    10% discount midnight till 7am for duration of 2 years.
    and one of the prominent malay economist said ‘kutu mana yang guna highway pagi-pagi buta’
    if not mistaken late Datuk Salleh Majid ex-KLSE president

• C.P.MOHAN on Nov 05, 2015 at 12:09 pm

It is odd to me that new ‘off-peak’ is not a contractual issue/clause. Does it mean that ‘off-peak’ starts from 2am like our telcos.

• applegreen on Nov 05, 2015 at 12:18 pm

discount at midnight? hello government…who’s wanna going to office at midnight? even pontianak also flying dont want to pay toll

• The irony with this move is that it just shifts the peak hour earlier.
    Imagine waking up at 5am, to enjoy the discount before 6am BUT since everyone has the same idea as you, you’ll be stuck in a jam before the toll and when you reach, it’s 6.01am and the discount is no longer available and you pay full price.

• “An escape route could be on the horizon, although it does involve waking up earlier.” lol….

#Author’s humor

• kontek on Nov 05, 2015 at 12:52 pm

sikit2 out of kontek. sikit2 out of kontek. lain kali cakap clear sikit. ngok.

• aqeef on Nov 05, 2015 at 12:54 pm

don’t try. do.

• Ayam jantan on Nov 05, 2015 at 2:41 pm

Alamak mamat nie nk off-peak plak.
    Gua dah set alarm bangun 3 pagi pegi keje beb

• hamkachan on Nov 05, 2015 at 5:12 pm

suruh org bangun early in the morning…. you bangun pukul berapa?? puiiii..
    you senangla toll free,makan free,baju free,rumah free,vacation free, semua pakai duit rakyat…
    hamkachan