Wallet hurt by toll fare hikes? Wake up earlier, use toll-free alternative routes – Rahman Dahlan

Rahman-Dahlan

Feeling squeezed by the recent toll fare hikes? Wake up earlier to use toll-free alternative routes, Housing and Local Government Minister Datuk Abdul Rahman Dahlan urged motorists, according to a report by Malay Mail Online.

“Wherever there are tolls, there are alternative routes. So you can avoid tolls just that you would have to brave the traffic. You would have to invest in more time, waking up earlier. It’s about trading off,” he told reporters after launching a forum on town planning in KL today.

According to MMO, the minister was defending the government against criticism of the recent rate hike. He added that the government had no choice but to allow the concessions to raise toll rates as there had been no increase for some time.

2015-npe-pantai-dalam-toll-plaza- 001

The rate hike was necessary as maintenance costs of operating the highways were also shooting up, and the government felt that it was only fair that consumers bear some of the costs to prevent more taxpayers money from being used to subsidise the tolls. “Given the choice no government would want to increase the toll rates, but we have no choice,” he said.

The Kota Belud MP added that Putrajaya was still subsidising some of the costs despite the increase.

Last month, 18 highways increased toll fares, with Class 1 passenger vehicles having to pay between 20 sen to RM2.30 more than before. The highways are the AKLEH, Besraya, DUKE, Grand Saga, Guthrie Corridor Expressway, Kajang SILK, Karak, LATAR, LEKAS, LKSA, MEX, NPE, SMART tunnel, Senai-Desaru Expressway, SKVE, Butterworth Outer Ring Road (BORR), Sprint Expressway and the LDP.

The table below shows you the before and after toll fares for Class 1 vehicles:

New-Toll-Rates-2015

Works Minister Datuk Fadillah Yusof revealed last month that despite the price hikes, the government paid RM510 million in compensation to concessionaires for the Jan-Oct 15 period, because toll rates should have been raised in January. Without the toll fare increase, next year’s bill would amount to RM1.6 billion.

If the increased toll fares are too much of a burden, and you don’t fancy waking up earlier for alternative routes, there’s always the city’s rail services. But do bear in mind that KTM Komuter ticket prices will go up next month, while LRT and Monorail fare structures have been revised by Prasarana.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Another “ahmadmaslan” statement… I think they ar related or at least always minum Kopi together :) resulting in the same brains

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 346 Thumb down 1
    • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:45 pm

Government actually no need to raise toll prices if there was no songlapping in Malaysia. All prices go up because too many people are songlapping.

Dahlan’s big boss can songlap RM2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions. All the songlapping can go to making new highways with NO tolls and existing highways also no need to raise prices.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM80 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor. Even given Tunship. RM80 billion can so many FREE highways in Malaysia. And this is just ONe songlappers wealth.

What about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?
      It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap. Many many more FREE highways can be built.

This is why tolls, LRT, KTM all going higher and higher. Our guardians are more interested in Songlap than fighting for the rakyat to get good and better transportation that are also reasonably priced.

Problem is, Government own all the Public Transportation companies in Malaysia. they are also ultimately owners of ALL toll concessionaires.

It is up to Government to reduce toll charges. I repeat, toll concessionaires also, all ultimately Government owned via Khazanah, EPF, PNB, Tabung Haji and various GLCs.

Nak ketuk rakyat Malaysia lagi?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 236 Thumb down 1
      • Then why not just abolish the tolls?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
        • Guess who on Nov 03, 2015 at 7:11 pm

Isn’t that what he’s saying?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • No 1 Post for 2015 on Nov 04, 2015 at 8:52 am

This is how UMNO thinks. The whole party infact has not even sacked their tuan fr the RM2.6 billion because all of them also on the take and it is condoned behaviour.

By the way, this post is record breaking. In Facebok posting alone got over 3000 comments from angry people. And 18,000 people facebooked it.

I think PT should put this post on the front page as the hottest story of the month.

• Same L0rrrr on Nov 03, 2015 at 6:28 pm

Now you know why RV so important. No everyone so rich can tahan toll suddenly hike 50~100%. Forget about the brainless minister, buy the right car, save your money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 77
        • BeemerFreak on Nov 03, 2015 at 6:49 pm

Haha don’t buy car only save money stupid….but car whatever the RV also loose money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
          • Corrupted Jeep can buy so many AMG S63 and still have so many billions left in his bank account. So hard to deplete the RM2.6 billion. And that is what we know of what he stole. What about the other times the tupai did not get caught over the years?

• Same L0rrrr on Nov 04, 2015 at 1:36 pm

Congrats to you if you don’t have to buy car to travel.
            But if you are a car owner, you are pure talkok here.

Of course whatever RV you are losing money, because you USE the car. When you are USING the car, the fuel consumption, reliability and maintenance incurs additional and unpredictable costs. That’s why you save money with good RV car:
            1. Reliable – Save money
            2. Cheap Maintenance – Save money
            3. Fuel Efficient – Save money
            4. Good RV – Save money

You might think Proton is cheaper than a Toyota. But considering these factors, Proton is much more expensive than a Toyota. Why Proton sales so bad now? Because previous Proton owner KENA the pain already and scare now. Simple fact!

• Tahar on Nov 04, 2015 at 3:12 am

Same Lorr is also mentally retarded like the minister talking.

Why do we pay high price for cars in malaysia compare to other advance countries except singapore

Answer: Government already scoop extra high tax to leverage for the next 10 years actually meant for new roads building and gasoline subsidy. However the government is not doing that anymore but still collecting high taxes for cars overall.

I wonder annual road tax of every car is either meant for road maintenance and building new roads or just huge pocket monies for the ministry or officials just for doing nothing. ???? get rich scheme.

Big question mark left unanswer??

• guest on Nov 03, 2015 at 11:20 pm

Very good new word~~~~~songlap…lol. I like this new vocabulary

• Bijan on Nov 04, 2015 at 12:21 am

songlap happens in any country and any part of the world..
        it can never be abolished totally!
        tell me if you become minister, do u think u wont songlap also?
        Once u r minister, u will think that since everyone before me also do it, y am i so stupid not to do it and be righteous?
        It is easy money anyway..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
        • I will take songlap anytime. Then I can sleep, eat nasi lemak the whole day, kahwin many wives…..so fun lah

• red-idiot on Nov 04, 2015 at 11:22 am

yahoooo! toll naik-kena bangun pukul 4pagi nak pegi kerja! boleh tido dalam kereta kat parking office… yahooo! aku sokong semua benda harga naik dan gaji mati! yahoo!!!! BN memang jaga kebajikan rakyat- rakyat WAJIB bagi segala harta benda untuk kelansungan BN!!! ALL FOR BN AND BN FOR THEMSELVES!!! YAHOOOO!!!

• politikus on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:48 pm

Mas & Lan should fill the Raja Lawak form..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 0
    • Pengundi Bijak on Nov 03, 2015 at 5:01 pm

Voters also can vote to have new alternative govt other than BN.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 1
    • “about trading off”

As a Rakyat, we shouldn’t even have to live like this!

It’s like telling my parents “you can have my earned salary for your healthcare fees, OR u can have my love. please choose one, its all about trading off”.

WTF?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 0
    • George Abdul on Nov 03, 2015 at 5:07 pm

The minister famous of making “licking” statements on 1MBD… Rakyat should make him know who paying his salary !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 1
    • hahaha

• mangata on Nov 03, 2015 at 9:17 pm

Haha! Well easy for u told,idiot! Y not all the ministers pay their own fuel and toll..that’s would be fair right?! Guna duit rakyat tapi cakap macam mangkuk! using rakyat money not only for u but for your wife and kids! And you have the guts to say all this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • old dog on Nov 03, 2015 at 10:25 pm

the first time of 200 thumbs up and zero thumbs down..

• Albert on Nov 03, 2015 at 11:14 pm

Leo,look at his bladdy face.Ptui….ptui.,,
      Those brain tumour patients at Universiti Hospital has more dignity than this guy.
      What on earth is this socalled minister proposing.
      Recalcitrant and shambolic.

• Dahlan Ong on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:04 pm

The Ahmad Maslan in this lad is very strong.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 182 Thumb down 0
    • BODOH BN KLIA Macammana? on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:47 pm

Wahai si bodoh, saya kerja KLIA, macam mana nak naik toll free or old road?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 1
      • policeman on Nov 03, 2015 at 9:35 pm

Why not just stay in the area? Ni bodoh nak tinggal kat Kepong tapi kerja kat KLIA.

You’re causing congestion, therefore you’ve got to pay the cost for it.

If all you morons could live and work in the same area, the roads will be a lot less congested.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 97
        • Anti CO2 on Nov 03, 2015 at 10:02 pm

Policeman with Ahmad Maslan brain…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 1
        • Booyah! on Nov 03, 2015 at 10:26 pm

You think staying in the area is a good idea? Policeman, you talk like a 12 year old. Either that or you must be getting paid to lick gov boots.

• Wahai Orang Orang Kampung on Nov 03, 2015 at 5:05 pm

Sampai hari ini pun orang orang kampung dikelentong dan diperdaya.

This year, LHDN/KDRM will collect the record highest ever tax revenue in the history of Malaysia since 60 years of independence.

Just from GST alone, Government has already collect RM50 billion in tax in 4 months. Not even included income tax, corporate tax, Petronas Private UMNO Free Money Bank, EPF, Khazanah, Ministry of Finance Inc investments etc.

This year, Government of Malaysia will collect record highest ever revenue from its people. Duit semua pergi mana?

Sedarlah orang orang kampung.

Malaysia is the only country in the world where 1KM of highway cost over RM100 million to build (excluding house and land acquisition)

Highway concessionaires, ALL UMNO owned companies and cronies, tell the Government they spend so much per KM (despite using cheap Bangladeshi labour)

Government in return pay them RM100 million PER KM of highway PLUS 40 to 50 year Contract with every few years can increase tolls

“PLUS Malaysia Bhd collected an average of RM378,486 at the Batu Tiga and Sungai Rasau toll plazas daily, as The Star understands. Of the total figure mentioned, RM228,650 stems from the Batu Tiga toll plaza while the remaining RM149,836, from Sungai Rasau, said deputy works minister, Datuk Rosnah Abdul Rashid Shirlin, to the Dewan Rakyat”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 4
      • policeman on Nov 03, 2015 at 9:41 pm

What do you contribute to the country?

How much taxes do you pay? Is that amount enough to cover the benefits you’re enjoying from the government? Decent level of security, infrastructure, economic stability, free healthcare, free education.

You want the government to provide free tolls?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 85
        • Anti CO2 on Nov 03, 2015 at 10:06 pm

Yah we know, you don’t have to pay toll. You don’t even need to fast on seat belt when driving… Policeman right???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
        • Mark Cheng on Nov 03, 2015 at 11:47 pm

This is confirmed that Policeman is come from Ulu Kampung.

• Insider News on Nov 04, 2015 at 12:29 am

Car lost, snatch theft, c4 bombing, kidnapping-Decent level of security?
          RM skydiving-economic stability?
          I wonder if you’re really policeman… Or just another ahmadmaslan.

• medic on Nov 04, 2015 at 9:24 am

Why Sabah & Sarawak have toll free highways?Politics?

• GOV the Sucker on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:09 pm

Why the heck aftesr toll hike the government still has to pay “COMPENSATION” what kind of idiot agreement they have signed? And now asked us to wake up early? If not enough sleep later causes accident, is the bloody government gonna help us

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 146 Thumb down 0
  • Speechlesss…….. ;)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 0
    • Where is Najib's Promise Dahlan??? on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:54 pm

The question rahman Dahlan must be asking is, where is my boss Najib’s promise to the rakyat? Forget toll for now.

Where is Najib’s promise? Najib promised 30 million people 2 years ago before the election that he would reduce car prices by 30 percent.

He said the 30 million people need not worry because BN always kept their word and never mungkir janji. He said if people voted for BN, he was 100% sure to reduce car prices by 30 percent.

Najib, in his speech told people that BN knew how much people suffered paying for their cars and he felt very sorry for the people, thus, he was sure to reduce car prices by 30%.

It is a well know fact, that we Malaysians are paying 3x the global prices of cars. And double whammy, not only we pay 3x the global prices of cars, our cars are stripped down so bad, it hardly lacks any safety features. Even our top D segment cars each have about 20 less safety features than the same car costing 3 times less overseas. For example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry CBU in the US cost US$22,000. In Malaysia, this cost RM180k. And loads of safety spec taken out. For example Tyre Pressure Monitoring System and many others. Camry Hybrid in the US is US26,000. Come to Malaysia, should be tax free. CKD it using Malaysian parts should be even cheaper. But here sell RM175k. Can rahman Dahlan ask his boss to honour his promise? I don’t mind paying high tolls if you give me global car prices in Malaysia.

Now, what happened Najib? Where is your promise?
      Najib also said that by 2020, we would become high income nation. He said our GDP per Capita would be US$48,000. That would mean, per month, the average Malaysian would be earning US$4000 (RM17,000) per month.

Raja Nazrin, Sultan of Perak said this was pure lies. He said it is an utter lie because 78% all EPF contributors are earning RM1200 and below.

Do you see the average Malaysian earning RM17k per month by 2020?

Malaysia produce minyak also, Government hantam high petrol prices. Now high toll prices..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 3
  • badman on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:12 pm

This is the problem we are facing now:
    “The intelli are full of doubts , while the idiots full of confident” !
    Dayummmn!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 0
  • dodgeviper88 on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:12 pm

Dahlan, Maslan, all the Lan people talking cock make people Tulan

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 162 Thumb down 0
  • Kak Timah on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:12 pm

Amboi, bagusnya jawapan……
    Sayur mahal? Tanam sayur sendiri….
    Ikan mahal? Jangan makan ikan…..
    Tak suka duduk Malaysia? Pindah bulan….
    Politicians can say what they want, but for rakyat to do the same, completely NO-NO.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 180 Thumb down 1
    • Abg Dol on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:33 pm

Nasib baik dia tak suruh buat highway sendiri.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 0
    • Tak suka semua ni? Lain kali janganlah pangkah BN!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 0
    • policeman on Nov 03, 2015 at 9:52 pm

What if I told yo there is an easy way out? A solution to all your problems. It wouldn’t cost you much. No more tolls, no more high car prices, no more worries.

The answer is to just die. Think about it. Once you’re dead you won’t have to worry about any of these things. You can be happy forever – for eternity. Think about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 50
      • Block. on Nov 03, 2015 at 10:36 pm

Nice words. This will usually come back to you and family. Jaga-jaga. Bye bye this stops at you.

• Dahlan Ong on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:12 pm

The Ahmed Mazlen is strong in this one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Dahlan on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:14 pm

Orang bodoh jadi menteri. Macam ni la jadi

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 0
  • Henry on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:14 pm

Works Minister Datuk Fadillah Yusof revealed last month that despite the price hikes, the government paid RM510 million in compensation to concessionaires for the Jan-Oct 15 period, because toll rates should have been raised in January. Without the toll fare increase, next year’s bill would amount to RM1.6 billion.
    —————————–

Yalah, as if we don’t know. Who is the idiot who sign such lopsided agreements? Why don’t you tell us something we don’t already know.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 1
  • Addam on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:14 pm

Tidak melambangkan menteri yang sepatutnya membela nasib rakyat. So sad

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 1
  • Matchy on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:16 pm

Maybe I should just sleep in office… can save even more!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 0
  • xxxxxxxx on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:20 pm

hahaha, malaysia minister pandai talk talk …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • I like your statement. No wonder you are appointed as BN Minister.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 1
  • diablo on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:23 pm

this is going backward.
    thank you for your brilliant idea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
  • John Doe on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:25 pm

Talking alot this idiot. How dumb can this ministers get. Really dumb. like a bunch of pigs just like all of bn and umno.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 2
  • PayTollForJam on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:26 pm

Before the toll hikes, i always wake up early and found out that LDP was jam so i use the alternate road such as jalan segambut. But since after the toll hikes no matter i wake up early or late the “alternative” road always jam in the morning. 45 minutes to my class using jalan semagbut wiithout toll vs 30 minute or less with LDP, it’s a really hard choice for me to make. Either pay the toll for one straight line jam, or use alternate road with high risk of car cutting into your lane by sudden, angry bikers and countless potholes.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 0
    • policeman on Nov 03, 2015 at 9:47 pm

How about waking up an hour or two earlier?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 56
      • Booyah! on Nov 03, 2015 at 10:28 pm

Your office is 7-11?

• PayTollForJam on Nov 04, 2015 at 1:01 am

you fkin wot m8? always see you in jalan duta early morning not helping to manage the traffic but only keep blocking the highway in order to escort those “minister” to the parlimen then after that wandering around campus area to “summon” those student’s car even though you clearly aware about lack of parking among students and they have no choice to park by the street or housing area especially during final exam. Although is not right to park outside the parking lines, obviously those car are not blocking any vehicle passing by the street. Yet you still summon just for “extra income” to your boss.

• rider on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:27 pm

if u cannot pay toll fares wake up early use alternative road. If u cannot find alternative road, built it urself, n use it. To maintain the road built a toll gate n ask money from other road users. Then ask compensation from GOV, so u not need to raise toll fares, giving reason that u are poor millionaire that need money to be billionaire. Dei stupid how do you think, using anal hole?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • EngKokCiao on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:28 pm

Cetaklah wang sendiri kalau miskin…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • HaIrI on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:30 pm

Twisted Plot – “The reporter had misleading my comment on previous press conference”. Ya ya we know the script well Mr. Minister!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • This guy know talk about cock only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • BNPKM on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:34 pm

Is there anyway WE can cut his & fellow friends salary?
    Government should help the People, not asking people to help them! APA SUDAH JADI??!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • PayTollForJam2 on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:35 pm

What a speechless advice from a people who are so called Minister in Malaysia. We always wake up at 5am to fight for the traffic, and still need to be more early to fight for your so called Trading Off?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • kumar on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:39 pm

Morons ..pls think a better plan rather than cronies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • spongewai on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:40 pm

this fella is really SH lol

• Kroni dan ABU

• release the t&c on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:43 pm

Dear Mr Minister, we Malaysians will stop griping after you have revealed the terms and conditions in the agreements signed with the concessionaries… fat chance…

• No more bn after this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • policeman on Nov 03, 2015 at 9:43 pm

oh trust me, BN will be here, and you will live with it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 28
  • waters on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:47 pm

what a moron

• roti masin on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:47 pm

Ayo! WHAT a statement like that!!! dahlan is putting his reputations in risk.. Bye2 we wouldn’t see u again next GE then u can be a rakyat and wake up early in d morning like us rushing go to work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • marxedes on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:48 pm

What kind of politician is that? Might as well tell people buy house near workplace. Gosh.

• Woot Woot on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:48 pm

BTW, dahlan is his father’s name.this d**b a** is Abdul Rahman

• AhmadMaslanNo2 on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:49 pm

Again, stupid comments from a stupid minister.

• Pak Din on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:49 pm

tapi encik Minister Datuk Abdul Rahman Dahlan…kalau rakyat bangun awal elak toll ikut jalan alternative routes…nanti concessionaires complain tak dapat keuntungan pulak…last-last goverment kena bayar juga dekat depa supaya dapat keuntungan. kan depa ni jenis takut kerugian…nak buat macam mana pun rakyat juga yang kena tibai…daripada encik Minister Datuk Abdul Rahman Dahlan buat comment bernas, baik encik Minister Datuk Abdul Rahman Dahlan makan beras bernas dan tutup mulut anda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • Typical bn minister

• NoBrainMinister on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:49 pm

Stupido. Nuff said.

• Puchong suffere on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:51 pm

just out of curiosity can this moron tell me the alternative non tolled route to cross over into puchong from the hicom side or the sunway side? I know one route from unway side but it means traveling to the old klang road or cutting through the taman medan area, which is not the direct alternative this morons speaks off.

• Hisham on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:52 pm

woww… our minsters are so full of ideas… why don’t they lead the way by practicing what they suggest… barulah Kepimpinan Melalui Teladan…

• Azmi Ahmad on Nov 03, 2015 at 4:59 pm

Go out earlier?
    How laa..Nursery pun belum bukak lagi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Azmi Ahmad on Nov 03, 2015 at 5:00 pm

Keluar awal?
    How la. Nursery pun tak bukak lagi.
    Sama saje. Puieeee…

• sohhai on Nov 03, 2015 at 5:06 pm

In the immortal words of Abdullah Badawi…’Ubahlah cara hidup anda’.

• I would suggest to reduce usage of police outriders for escort so they can focus on the real traffic issues, thus optimizing police resources. If the ministers cannot arrive to important events on-time? Wake up earlier!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • joan labu on Nov 03, 2015 at 5:08 pm

Go to work late from work early… when you got to say this in the name of common sense…the brain warts. Malay say like this, Pergi kerja awal,Balik kerja lewat,Bila cakap tak guna akal,Ini di namakan otak ketuat.

• arhusin on Nov 03, 2015 at 5:08 pm

Statement menteri yg tk bijak. Patutnya kena cakap tol dinaikkan utk rakyat memberi peluang kepada kerajaan menyalurkan dana subsidi kepada projek pembangunan negara. Atau tol dinaikkan bg mengalakan rakyat mengunakkan public transport. Betul atau tidak tk penting. Yang penting statement mesti nampak macam dari menteri.

• avatar on Nov 03, 2015 at 5:11 pm

Wow thanks for the advice! Now I finally found a way to save money on tolls!

• ahmad malas han on Nov 03, 2015 at 5:13 pm

Ask this stupid minister… show me the road from kajang to gombak that has no toll.

If there is such a route, how many hours will it takes and how much distant we have to travel?

Shame on you mr minister.

• Actually there is this alternative route… Kajang – Semenyih – Ampang – Gombak… But who on earth would travel the distance like that just to avoid toll?

• ben yap on Nov 03, 2015 at 5:17 pm

All these menteri using toll is paid with our taxpayers’ money. of course when they talk is easy.

even if 2016 will cost the government RM1.6 billion, the money is shared to all malaysians. How about the missing RM2.6 billion? That money is not shared with all malaysians but went to 1 person!

you want us to use alternative road? yes we will! we will use the motorcycle lanes! after all motorcycles that don’t pay toll also started to use car lanes when they are on highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • WTF with this kind of statement? ayoyooooo I am so pissed off!

• DumbMinister on Nov 03, 2015 at 5:18 pm

This is a real joker. We wake up early in the morning and evening? We all go back early too?

Then next thing you know, all don’t have to leave home, all work from home!

• Mozilla Chrome on Nov 03, 2015 at 5:19 pm

There ya go..sooner or later somebody from Gov gonna come out with dumb statements to justify their leader “lies”.

• I hope this BN Minister read all the comments. Or someone pls sent all the comments to him … if not he think that he come up with a brilliant idea!

• applegreen on Nov 03, 2015 at 5:21 pm

As i said earlier, where is alternative route from shah alam to putrajaya?

• Kenneth Fook on Nov 03, 2015 at 5:28 pm

“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I’m not sure about the universe.”

Albert E

• Henry on Nov 03, 2015 at 5:30 pm

Why doesn’t he recommend people stay in their workplace and only go home for the weekend? Is this guy for real? Menteri pulak. LOL.

• mhter on Nov 03, 2015 at 5:31 pm

CB betul statement minister kita ni

• Azahari on Nov 03, 2015 at 5:35 pm

I think part of government responsibility is to build roads for us. We need more roads, not more toll roads.

• BN Is Backside Nation on Nov 03, 2015 at 9:58 pm

Normal road they can’t make billions. With toll, they are guaranteed to have donation amounting to billions. Sad thing is there are plenty of shallow minded people who will still vote this goons to run the country.

• Oh my… Who hired this moron??!! Tell me!!

• areos on Nov 03, 2015 at 5:40 pm

dont blame too hard on present leaders (at least they songlap ‘loan money’…tolled hiways are the pet projects of the god father Mahathir and the gang. Tolled road are okay so long the rate are reasonable…when the rates are revised for every 3 years ..they are crazy ( the political leaders and the cronies).

• present leaders are in power and should be able to do something. don’t just blame past leaders. if present leaders cannot do anything, it’s time to change them to somebody who can do something. don’t misunderstand me. i don’t like mahathir, but he did some good and some bad decision. current leader i see do too many bad decision.

• I thought the ministers have woved not to be stupid anymore. Well they are human after all. Sigh!!!

• Krasher on Nov 03, 2015 at 5:57 pm

Why he was elected in the first place?! #jilake

• Mason_ on Nov 03, 2015 at 6:03 pm

Rahman,your brain is infected by stupidity ,cut your head off early to prevent infected to all malaysian….

• curiwangrakyat on Nov 03, 2015 at 6:07 pm

obviously corruption is the root. govt officer,minister and cronies teamwork to suck every last ringgit of taxpayer money dry. when the govt has a BIG HOLE in the pocket, all these happen la. a strong sign that country is moving backwards.

• MRsen on Nov 03, 2015 at 6:07 pm

CGPA 3.8 minister.

Do minister pay these?:
    Tolls – NO, TAXPAYER PAY FOR THEM
    Car – NO, TAXPAYER PAY FOR THEM
    Car service – NO, TAXPAYER PAY FOR THEM
    Petrol – NO, TAXPAYER PAY FOR THEM
    Water bills – NO, TAXPAYER PAY FOR THEM
    Electric bills – NO, TAXPAYER PAY FOR THEM
    Telephone bills – NO, TAX PAYER PAY FOR THEM
    Astro/Unifi bills – NO, TAXPAYER PAY FOR THEM
    Newspapers – NO, TAXPAYER PAY FOR THEM
    Travel cost – NO, TAXPAYER PAY FOR THEM
    Lunch – NO, TAXPAYER PAY FOR THEM
    House – NO, TAXPAYER PAY FOR THEM
    House maintainace – NO, TAXPAYER PAY FOR THEM
    Hospital bills – NO, TAXPAYER PAY FOR THEM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Kumaraan on Nov 03, 2015 at 6:18 pm

Another dumb minister !!!! Why malaysia continue to such ministers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Kenny on Nov 03, 2015 at 6:22 pm

In the ranking of ministers paling dunggu di dunia, this one will be a permanent feature in the top tier.

• thepond on Nov 03, 2015 at 6:38 pm

As expected. Most politicians across the pond are retard, arrogant and of low IQ.

• FIST (Member) on Nov 03, 2015 at 6:39 pm

Another dumb minister statement.

• Aniki on Nov 03, 2015 at 6:43 pm

yup, they are really bunch of nuts thought that increasing the toll rate will get more income, for e.g. before hike i used to pay RM1.90 to Grand Saga toll daily, with the new rate, they thought can get 36.84% increment, but instead they got 100% loss from me as i take 3-5km longer route to skip it. As for my car fuel consumption, RM0.15/km is less than what i should pay for the toll.

• policeman on Nov 03, 2015 at 9:46 pm

Awww, because of you they’re gonna lose income…aw… so sad.

Sleep well tonight thinking that your little boycott makes a difference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 25
  • when selangor give free bus service where dumno is the opposition, dumno complain why not give to poor kampung people. but when toll rate naik and dumno is the govt, why dumno not do anything? why dumno not give free bus? why dumno only give stupid comment. why dumno so dum?

• hamiskin on Nov 03, 2015 at 6:45 pm

Tak suka umno bn kita rakyat undilah pakatan rakyat dont care either pkr dap or pas as long as not umno bn ok. Do you all agree with this alternative route we had. So that we can live happily without umno bn corruption and can save our montnly income.

• mnk696 on Nov 03, 2015 at 6:46 pm

Dumb ass

• Ah Pek on Nov 03, 2015 at 6:47 pm

Gua mau tanya sama lu..pukul berapa lu bangun??Lu perlu bayar toll kah?? Kalau lu tak boleh jawab…jangan jadi Hero…lu macam badut lar..shoe polisher!!

• Everyone is complaining now but it’s too little too late. Should have known before so many people supporting BN in the last election. We only have ourselves to blame. It’s like discovering cancer when it’s in stage one and still chose not to do anything about in. Now when it has developed into stage 4 everyone starts to worry and trying desperately to find a cure. It’s in god’s hands now and it’s only the beginning of the end for this country.

• nabill (Member) on Nov 03, 2015 at 6:52 pm

I know how to make this nation rich, put a dollar in a box everytime theres a stupid n arrogant statement comes from someone up thr, we will be millionaires in no time…
    Ladies and gentlemen, if ever there was a sign that those ppl are so disconnected from the oridinary folks on the street, this is it…

• Maksudnya tak ada pilihan la idiot…

• Stupid on Nov 03, 2015 at 6:57 pm

this what the government answered to all suffering peoples? how about you goverment people dont use police force to open or clearing the way on heavy traffic road or highway?? DUH DUH

• cobra on Nov 03, 2015 at 7:47 pm

Not a very smart minister. Statement is silly and childish. Govt supposed to build a better life for the rakyat. Not torture it. During election, they promised heaven and paradise. After elected, they ask us go barrger off if we cant afford to pay toll.

• andrekua on Nov 03, 2015 at 8:03 pm

Memang kena ‘wake up early’… fellow voters

• Henry on Nov 03, 2015 at 8:18 pm

Does he know the toll paying and hard working Malaysians are paying his freaking salary and perks? The last thing we need now is listen to his cock and bull. Where is his gratitude?

• Kuinosan on Nov 03, 2015 at 8:21 pm

This bugger is not a sincere problem solver. All he knows is to pass off some sarcastic remarks and pour salt over the rakyats wounds. In this case, the Rakyat will have to suffer from all the bad decisions and agreements signed between our government and the highway operators. So there you go, be smarter when the time comes to vote for a smart and genuinely sincere government. Cheers!

• Otakatlutut on Nov 03, 2015 at 8:26 pm

Ok Minister. I can wake up earlier but can you give up your outrider/ escort + driver and get stuck in traffic with the rest of us? Cakap banyak….

• backtofuture on Nov 03, 2015 at 8:30 pm

Can someone invent a time machine and go back in time and give his dad a condom?

• Normal Guy on Nov 03, 2015 at 8:55 pm

For once i agree with this fella. Change your habits if you can’t sustain the lifestyle. Petrol expensive? Ride a bike. If you have trouble paying an extra RM100 per month on toll you obviously can’t afford to own a car. Buying and owning a car is 2 different things. You can’t afford a car but force your way anyway and you cause massive traffic jams because your car run out of petrol in the middle of rush hour traffic. This also discourages idiots who do stupid mods on their cars and think they are “racers” going crazy in rush hour traffic.

You guys want to enjoy a capitalistic economy but in a socialist society? Dont be stupid. Its a highly competitive world out there and malaysians must wake up that u want more comfort, you need to work hard. You want to own the newest smartphone AND still drive to work? Put in the extra hours..you guys will never learn if u are always protected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
    • andrekua on Nov 03, 2015 at 11:15 pm

I dont think you know the true meaning of competitiveness. The toll agreements were all one sided, overpriced petrol not reflecting to market pricing, absurd import duty and ap to protect P1 and P2, and so on.

Which part of Malaysia make you blurt out competitiveness in the first place?

• RejimKejamGanas on Nov 04, 2015 at 12:01 am

Wow, with your thinking and attitude you must be big time millionaire now huh? Good lah, when the lanuns deduct more money from you, please sokong them 100%. I guess you don’t own a car and drive the public bus service yourself to work and home. Maybe that is why you are never late, but only cause other people to be late, because you don’t care whether they need to arrive to work on time or not.

I hope you spend more time in school and study what embezzlement and kleptocracy is about, so you can get a clue about what our government is actually doing to us. Since when being competitive is about letting those having authority over you to rob you blind? Did your father teach you such pearls of wisdom?

People don’t work hard to give more money to the lanuns la bodoh, they work hard to improve their living conditions and lifestyle. How do you expect people to live a better life when the lanuns have stupid people like you supporting them to rob us continuously with bigger amounts every time?

• I would like to have you as my housemate. So if I didn’t flush the toilet, throw my garbage around the house and did not wash the dishes, YOU have to change YOUR lifestyle so I can enjoy my privileged laziness.

• habibi on Nov 03, 2015 at 9:27 pm

Jom ramai-ramai lepas ni if see these people lalu traffic jam guna police traffic, kita jangan bagi lalu. seriously, jangan bagi lalu. it’s time the people take over & show them who has the power. Kita dah selalu takut sangat dengan “orang-orang besar” & “orang-orang berkuasa ni”. Kita lupa yg kuasa mereka tu ada ada di tangan kita. If we seriously unite & go against them, they’re done. Thats how far they can go. We need to send them back down. All of this corrupts, these stupid people doesn’t deserve to “lead” us anymore. It’s time revolutionise our people, our country. Lets do it for the country, for the life we love! COME ON!

• Tadalaku on Nov 03, 2015 at 10:06 pm

Abdul Rahman Dahlan = longkang besar minister

• Akulesapelagi on Nov 03, 2015 at 10:22 pm

Another banggang abadi man….. Rubbish.

• Booyah! on Nov 03, 2015 at 10:30 pm

Rakyat have to suffer for gov debts…..

• Angry Citizen on Nov 03, 2015 at 10:30 pm

Can i choose not to pay my income tax, gst and all kind of crappy taxes?

You want money to run the government ? find yourself la. There’s alternative.

• Eh Datuk,
    Fine about waking up early to use alternate toll-less roads.

But do try to explain to those willing to pay (and have previously paid tolls prior to the toll increase) why should toll-paying road users bear with traffic jams on roads that we pay to use?

For years jams along a handful of toll-collecting roads have been a common sight, so what has the elected authorities done on behalf of the consumers to justify toll collection or even toll increments to highway concessionaires when services are not up to par?

• kokocekelat on Nov 03, 2015 at 11:13 pm

Not all people have the option to go to work early. Some need to send kids to school, to nursery. Takkan la you want to drop kids at 5am at school? Even 7am is still too dark outside. Thats why people still wait and drop kids when sun is up i.e 715~730am. Not because they cant wake up early, but this is the safest bet they can have. And they have to endure tolls + traffic jams afterwards. You think they love this ha?

Please put yourself in someone elses shoes before start to back up these ministers. We are all aware about ministers’s statement, but to those that work under him, think again la!

• sick&tired on Nov 03, 2015 at 11:23 pm

rtard! some of us don’t have a choice! instead of giving us stupid advice,why doesn’t the government reveal the details of the agreement the government signed with the concessionaire?

• albag on Nov 03, 2015 at 11:32 pm

bangun pagi cucuk burit.. oh wai-

• Another Minister who live in kampung, KL jam from 7am, what time shall we wake up? Probarbly he just never wake up early, always travel off Peak hour, and always back home before 5

• Macam sembang kedai kopi – rendahnya mentaliti

• Julius on Nov 04, 2015 at 8:41 am

Rahman Dahlan : “Toll expensive, don’t use toll road lah, if you don’t like me, don’t vote me lah”

• 87Nic on Nov 04, 2015 at 8:52 am

RM1 of fuel = 500ml. I believe the use of alternative route burns more than that. Think again. Mr Minister.

• applegreen on Nov 04, 2015 at 9:07 am

BN dan menteri bodoh berpisah tiada

• Dahlan on Nov 04, 2015 at 9:34 am

“If you don’t want to pay for toll:
    1. Wakeup early, use alternate road.
    2. Find a job that is a shoplot and stay upstair.
    3. Pakai bicycle… We now provide bicycle lane.
    4. Pergi kerja di Perlis… tak ada toll.
    5. Migrate to Australia..
    6. Migrate to Sabah / Sarawak. Because BN now focus the funds there and they will have free highways.
    7. Use public transport, but please don’t use Uber.
    8. Just run the lights at the toll gate, because saman could be cheaper (after discount).

— Rahman TailaNgong — ”

Would be easier to just sack the stupid people in Putrajaya and get someone more capable to do the job.

• Kupang Boy on Nov 04, 2015 at 9:40 am

Gosh! Just when you’ve thought they couldn’t get any worse, they popped up with this statement… It’s becoming a bloody circus.

How about removing some of the tolls and make those roads as alternative routes?

• the statement shows the sheer arrogance of barang naik ministers with the thinking “u cant touch us”

wake up early to use toll free road? how about petrol cost? free petrol ka?

toll co make loss? fire the goddamn stupid ceo la…hire one us to better manage the co!

• waters on Nov 04, 2015 at 3:23 pm

Ke-dahlan-an is strong here.

• sabahan on Nov 04, 2015 at 3:52 pm

as a sabahan stay on top of tree, I am so ashame of you datuk…..