SMART tunnel toll up RM1.00, to RM3.00 on Oct 15

SMART_Tunnel_ 001

It seems today’s the day all highway concessionaires are announcing toll hikes, and the latest is the Storm Water Management And Road Tunnel (SMART) – according to Bernama, the toll rate for the dual-usage tunnel will be raised by RM1.00 starting Thursday, October 15, 2015.

This means that from the current rate of RM2.00, the Sungai Besi toll plaza will charge both private vehicles and taxis RM3.00 to use the tunnel. The tunnel recently moved to Touch ‘n Go and Smart Tag-only cashless toll collection on September 9.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• xxXxxXxx on Oct 12, 2015 at 3:24 pm

Yes, high income nation by 2020 !!!

• I am happy it has gone up. At least now, our Government has more money for the nation. Thank you BN. I am not being sarcastic but sincerely thank our Government for this increase.

I am happy to give. Why everybody making noise? Only RM1 lah. RM1 you cannot even buy Gardenia Tigggies from 7ELeven

To all those not happy, pls pack your bags and leave!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • Same L0rrrr on Oct 12, 2015 at 5:59 pm

Now you realise the importance of a reliable car. You need to save the garage money for toll.

• This is robbery!

• hailthepurist on Oct 12, 2015 at 7:25 pm

yeah, everyone could go to Mars..

• Huat ar!!!

• ben yap on Oct 12, 2015 at 3:45 pm

Is it really worth the increase of RM1?

With the current RM2, motorist still gets stuck in the jam inside the tunnel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • 50% increased? insane…

• SAM VHL Loo on Oct 12, 2015 at 3:55 pm

No need to increase toll rate, instead setting up speed traps along few hotspots of this SMART tunnel will bring in a lot of income to G coffers (through PDRM) as lots of motorists are speeding inside this tunnel (some even go more than 100 km/h in 60 km/h limit tunnel). Any crashes inside tunnel will always become catastrophic to all other road users.

• sick&tired on Oct 12, 2015 at 4:00 pm

the increase is so high!!! and to make things worse, price of petrol just went up! and not mentioning GST! 2015 is shaping up to be a very bad year indeed!

We have to thank Najib and 1MDB! It’s time to kick out BN!

• A.Maslan : Siapa suruh pakai SMART tunnel? Saya pakai LPT2 pun ok je…

• jobless on Oct 12, 2015 at 4:35 pm

going cashless do not reduce traffic jams just becoz 10 lane suddenly become 2-3 lanes..and pay money still jam even at Not so Smart tunnel just try during rush hour

• Krasher on Oct 13, 2015 at 2:01 am

Pay RM3 for the smart tunnel jam every morning?! No way!!