Nissan joins Toyota, Mazda and Honda in ditching Takata; Mitsubishi and Subaru considering the same

airbag

It looks like Takata’s woes are set to worsen, as Nissan has announced that it will drop the Japanese airbag supplier. The carmaker now joins Toyota, Mazda and Honda, all of which have recently announced that they will cease to use airbags sourced from Takata in their vehicles as well.

In a report by Bloomberg, Dion Corbett, a Nissan spokesman said, “In line with the recent announcement from the United States’ National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, we have decided to no longer use inflators containing ammonium nitrate in airbags for future models.

“We will continue to put our customers’ safety first and work to replace the inflators in vehicles under recall as quickly as possible,” he added.

Ammonium nitrate is used in the composition of Takata’s airbag propellant, which when subjected to moisture and heat, can become unstable and rupture with excessive force, resulting in injury, and even death.

SRS-Airbag

Bloomberg also reports that Honda, Toyota and Nissan are the three companies that formed the largest number of vehicles recalled due to Takata-sourced airbags.

Toyota have also stated their stance on Takata airbags. “The inflator using ammonium nitrate produced by Takata will not be adopted by Toyota,” Akio Toyoda, Toyota president, said at a briefing in Tokyo recently.

Other car manufacturers that are considering ditching Takata include Fuji Heavy Industries (Subaru) and Mitsubishi. Should that happen, this could further diminish the company’s share of the global market for airbag inflators to 5%, compared to 22% from last year.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• DonkeyKong on Nov 09, 2015 at 6:23 pm

Looks like Takata might go out of business.. with massive loss of customers all around in addition to the hundreds and millions of dollars already spent on recalls and replacements, in addition to the millions more in fines..

• Say NO to sushi cars with sushi airbags!
    Say YES to Proton with salmon airbags!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
    • Same L0rrrr on Nov 11, 2015 at 12:45 am

Now this is your 100% Malaysia R&D car, with important part imported or poorly made (e.g. Campro engine, punch transmission etc.) Pui~~~ for me, it is same as the vw: cheating.

• traveler on Nov 12, 2015 at 1:16 pm

my vw polo never cheated on me. never gave me problems. so which part of vw cheating on you? shall we share together?

• Finally, a punishment worthy of his crime. Takata has been manufacturing killer airbags for a decade, why would associate your business with them (unless you’re in the business of killing of course).

• Nissan, Toyota, Honda, Mazda and the rest have a moral obligation to recall and replace all the existing installation of the killer airbag…

• Autoliv CEO is smiling right now

• Proton made the right choice with their airbag suplier..but not the CVT.

• Uncle on Nov 10, 2015 at 7:19 pm

That’s becos takata didn’t have time for proton

• Albert on Nov 10, 2015 at 8:53 pm

Ken,Do you know why Proton is unwilling to ditch PUNCH CVT gearbox,which is condemned even by Paultan himself?
      Not surprising we are hearing ,those dudes got some “benefits” by retaining these noisy/underperforming CVT gear system.
      Our former MCA minister once remarked about “kao tim” in Boleh Land.You should know what I mean?

• Bad CVT no risk of killing you, bad airbags do

• will anyone out there consider not to buy toyota anymore for their power windows scandal ?

• figure drawing on Nov 21, 2015 at 8:47 pm

If you are looking for adult porn social signals, then contemplate shopping for our adult social signal package.

It’s the top method to get larger rankings in google in case you are a pornographic material
    website internet marketer.