2016 Toyota Innova official photos leaked online

toyota-kijang-innova-leaked-official-photo-1

The leaks just keep on coming for the 2016 Toyota Innova. After brochures of the vehicle found their way onto the internet earlier, we now have “official” photos of the MPV (known as the Toyota Kijang Innova in Indonesia) courtesy of the team at Autonetmagz.com.

As a recap, the Indonesia-market Innova range consists of three variants (in ascending order) – G Type, V Type and Q Type. These new leaked official photos appear to focus on the top-of-the-line Q Type.

The photos gives us a closer look at the Innova’s new styling. Starting at the front, the entire fascia has received a significant overhaul. Everything from the bumper to the headlights and even the grille has been swapped out to give the Innova a fresh new look.

With hints of the new Toyota Hilux apparent, the Innova features a prominent front grille with two thick chrome accents running across it, linking the sleeker projector headlights with LED daytime running lights. The fog lamps are now of a new design, adopting a trapezoidal-like design. Curiously, the Indonesian car portal stated that the turn signals are located near the fog lamps.

Meanwhile, at the rear, larger taillight sections now extends towards the centre of the lift gate, lending a “L-shaped” design. The side clusters now appear to narrow up as they continue down the car’s flanks. We also spot a rear roof-mounted spoiler and chromed exhaust tip as well.

toyota-kijang-innova-leaked-official-photo-2

Moving inside, we get our first look at the 2016 Toyota Innova’s interior and just like the outside, significant changes have occurred here as well. From the driver’s seat, there is a new four-spoke steering wheel with on-wheel controls, similar to that on the all-new Hilux. There is also a new instrument cluster with a TFT-coloured multi-info display and a new gear shift level that is positioned away from the driver.

The car’s entire dashboard has been swapped out as well, replaced with one that adopts a more “fluid” design that slopes upwards from the driver-side, and continues downwards leading towards the passenger. As a result, the air-conditioning vents are placed in unique locations, unlike the symmetrical positions in the previous Innova.

A dark wood grain trim piece is also laid out across the dashboard, running through the seven-inch infotainment touchscreen at the centre that is framed by two silver pieces of trim. Just below it, you’ll find the controls for the air-conditioning system and various other settings. Due to the low resolution of the photo, it’s hard to tell what those settings are.

As previously reported, two engine options available for the 2016 Toyota Kijang Innova – a 2.0 litre 1TR-FE petrol engine or a 2.4 litre four-cylinder turbodiesel. The former outputs 139 PS at 5,600 rpm and 183 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm while the diesel provides 149 PS at 3,400 rpm and 359 Nm from 1,200 to 2,600 rpm (342 Nm with the five-speed manual). A six-speed automatic transmission is also offered for the engines.

GALLERY: 2016 Toyota Kijang Innova leaked brochures

GALLERY: Malaysian-spec 2013 Toyota Innova facelift

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Improved dashboard but creepy outlook

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Same L0rrrr on Nov 11, 2015 at 4:04 pm

Everyone know they won’t go wrong with sushi cars. I gonna be damn busy again selling this hot cake.

• Giugiaro on Nov 11, 2015 at 11:45 am

Theopilus Chin please do your magic on the rear lights design please, thank you.

• Same L0rrrr on Nov 11, 2015 at 11:48 am

I expect to get 800 bookings in 10 days. Come and trade in your kimchi at RM25k.

• kipas angin on Nov 11, 2015 at 11:54 am

Tiru HR-V.. Tak malu..

• Black Dog on Nov 11, 2015 at 12:00 pm

Huge improvements. I think the previous indon designer got sacked!

• NUTPS on Nov 11, 2015 at 12:01 pm

The front looks good .. The rear though, It looks like a bad chinese copy of HRV rearend .. Just stupid !!

• suomynona on Nov 11, 2015 at 12:04 pm

Honda Hr-v-ish rear

• Why does the front look like a hyundai?

• Thooi ! It’s really ugly with an oversized mouth protruding outward. Its interior are resembles those China cars. OMG.

• snoumen on Nov 11, 2015 at 1:32 pm

Dat HR-V rear doe!

• jobless on Nov 11, 2015 at 1:38 pm

Toyoda: moving sideways

• Same's Long Lost Son on Nov 11, 2015 at 2:23 pm

You know shit just got real when you see the HRV-like rearlights on the Innova. Come on Toyota, are y’all running out of original ideas??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Albert on Nov 11, 2015 at 3:08 pm

The other day,my in law drove straight to a UMW service centre in Setapak for warranty schedule service.
    OMG….no need make appointment like 6 months ago.Plenty of service bays available for any Toyota.Why? Cos sales of Toyota have fallen sharply and resurgent Honda is attacking their market share with so many new gung ho models.
    Those days,you need to give advance notice to get your cars serviced.
    Rocketing pricing and poorer after sales service are the 2 main factors hurting UMW now.
    If today,your new Toyota boot opens by itself,the engine suddenly seize up,and other deeper electronic parts malfunction…you will have to wait 30-45 days to get the problem fixed.
    Why? Cos they are only interested to send record profits back to PNB for dividends payouts.
    Tunggulah…is their usual reply.Kami nak ambil video,tulis report,check wiring here and there
    before Shah Alam dispatch spare parts.
    Shambolic is their service today.No better than Proton.Toyota Japan….your local distributor here is rapidly losing market share to Honda.Perhaps ,you have to look into changing this distributor cos they are relying too much on everlasting perlindungan like Proton.

• Faizah on Nov 11, 2015 at 6:19 pm

Comes to bolehland price increased to starting RM148K.

• Sammy Loo on Nov 11, 2015 at 6:21 pm

Best design to date for Innova coming with dual VVT-i engine and 6 speed gearbox, this is moving forward!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • Bodow on Nov 11, 2015 at 10:06 pm

The front looks OK, but the rear? YUCK!!!