2016 Toyota Innova officially revealed in Indonesia

2016 Toyota Innova 1

The 2016 Toyota Innova has finally been revealed in Indonesia after a series of leaks prior to its release. Known as the Toyota Kijang Innova in the country, the MPV receives many significant upgrades that extend beyond just its looks.

First up, the Toyota Kijang Innova will go on sale in Indonesia with three variants on offer – G Type, V Type and the range-topping Q Type. Colour choices include Alumina Jade, Attitude Black, Avant Garde Bronze, Dark Grey Mica Metallic, Silver Metallic and Super White. There will only be two engines available, paired to an equal number of transmission options.

On the petrol front is a 2.0 litre Dual VVT-i 1TR-FE four-cylinder engine providing 139 PS at 5,600 rpm and 183 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm (3 PS/1 Nm more than before). Toyota’s new 2GD-FTV diesel mill that debuted on the Hilux, makes its way into the Innova as well. The 2.4 litre four-cylinder turbodiesel outputs 149 PS at 3,400 rpm and 359 Nm of torque from 1,200 to 2,600 rpm.

The engines are paired to either a five-speed manual, or a six-speed torque converter automatic with manual sequential shifting (replaces the four-speed auto). However, the powertrain configuration is pretty comprehensive to say the least. All three Innova variants are offered in petrol MT/AT and diesel MT/AT configurations.

2016 Toyota Innova 2

Moving on to the design, the Toyota Innova clearly deviates from its predecessor in a huge way, as we’ve previously covered. With hints of the Hilux pick-up, there is now prominent front grille with two thick chrome accents running across it. The grille links up to the new LED projector headlights with LED DRLs, which are reserved for the Q Type (the G and V gets reflector halogens).

There are also two alloy wheel sizes to choose from, each with its own unique design. Only the diesel Q Type will be fitted with 17-inchers, whereas the petrol Q Type, all V Type and G Type Innovas gets the smaller 16-inch items instead. Customers can also specify mudguards and chromed door housings if they so desire.

At the rear, larger taillight sections now spreads towards the centre of the lift gate. The liftgate itself is dubbed as a “Smart Close Back Door” on the Q Type. The taillight cluster also extends down the car’s edges, narrowing up as it proceeds along. As we’ve seen before, there is also a rear spoiler that houses a third brake light, and a downward-facing chromed exhaust tip. The Innova measures 4,735 mm long, 1,830 mm wide, 1,795 mm tall and 2,750 mm in wheelbase.

If the list of exterior changes seemed substantial, the interior reflects the same. The cabin still offers enough seating for eight occupants unless you opt for the Q Type. In the top-spec variant, the second-row seating is now replaced with two captain seats upholstered in fabric with a “zebra-like” pattern, each with their own cabin trays. There is even cabin illumination lights on the V and Q.

2016 Toyota Innova 7

Up front, the dashboard is completely overhauled for a more contemporary look. The driver benefits from a new three-spoke steering wheel (with on-wheel controls), plus a new instrument cluster with a TFT colour multi-info display (V and Q Type).

Other luxuries include automatic air-con for both the V Type and Q Type. However, only the Q Type gets an eight-inch touchscreen entertainment system with an impressive array of inputs including Miracast and HDMI. The driver can also alternate between Eco, Normal, and Power modes via buttons located below the air-con controls.

Safety-wise, the Innova gets dual front and knee airbags, ABS with EBD and Isofix child seat anchors for all variants. However, side and curtain airbags are reserved for the diesel Q Type only (total of seven), as is Hill Assist Control and VSC electronically stability control. Looking at how the extra airbags and VSC are reserved for the diesel variant only, it would be a real shame if Malaysian models would lose out on those features.

The Avanza (also sourced from Indonesia) arrived here fairly soon after its country-specific launch. Would it be the same with this? What do you think of the substantially-upgraded 2016 Toyota Innova? Would you be looking forward to the MPV’s arrival here in Malaysia?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Sammy Loo on Nov 13, 2015 at 1:49 pm

Hot cakes fresh from oven!

Best 8 seater MPV in market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 58
    • pxp154 on Nov 13, 2015 at 2:51 pm

safety spec mcm haremmmmmmmmmmm….

oh wait RV cun…whahahah!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
      • Sammy Loo on Nov 13, 2015 at 3:19 pm

Q spec has got 7 airbags and VSC, and yes all of them are coming with good RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
      • ZERO SALES on Nov 13, 2015 at 3:41 pm

Same Lorrr and Sam Loo (ori1) nowadays spend their time in UMw toilet masturbating cause UMw now got ZERO sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
        • Same L0rrrr on Nov 13, 2015 at 5:57 pm

You can talk east talk west talkok bullshit whatever you want. End of the days, sales figures will tell. Don’t blame Toyota so expensive because your attitude got problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
    • Toyota Moving Coffin on Nov 13, 2015 at 3:11 pm

In overseas, Toyota is highly respected. But in Malaysia, Toyota now has become a laughing stock. If you buy one, people secretly laugh at you thinking you are the dumbest person in town cause the Toyota is heavily stripped of its safety features. Now somemore, Picanto, comes with 6 airbags and can be safer than a Camry!

Malaysians already now know how Toyota has been cheating people. Until today, even RM150k Camry got no VSC and only 2 airbags. Paultan already wrote long article how vital VSC is 3 years ago and yet UMW don’t care a damn for our lives.

Global price of Camry with 10 airbags and VSC is US$22,000. Besides VSC and 10 airbags, the global Camry has about 20 other safety features that is NOT in our Camry. These features are standard and free on the global Camry.

UMW don’t care about your life. you die or vegetable, they don’t care, janji untung lebih. they take out safety features to save cost. Yet, they charge us 3x the global price of US$22k. We buy for RM180k a heavily stripped down car. Same with Altis. Same with Vios. Now maybe same with this Innova junk.

Worse still, it is CKD and Made in Malaysia. The price is even cheaper. If US Toyota is sold at US22k and still make a profit, you can bet that UMW will get this car at country distributor price of US15k. CKD it, it will be US$12k (about RM40k). But they sell to Malaysians for RM180k.

Camry Hybrid even better. US$26k. Come to Malaysia no tax. But sold for RM175k

Let’s pray and hope UMW don’t take out the VSC and give us 2 airbags in this Innoshit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 8
      • Sammy Loo on Nov 13, 2015 at 4:37 pm

Picanto with ESC and 6 airbags doesn’t mean to be safer than a Camry. There is a reason why for A-segment cars maximum safety rating is only up to 4 stars.

Price of Toyota in US is not global. There is no global price of a Toyota, it depends on the tax structure of the country. You may compare the price of a Camry around SEA, the differences are not that huge if you want to compare with North America. Check it out the price in Thailand, Singapore, Indonesia, Cambodia, Myanmar, etc.

In North America, cars can be much cheaper than other places around the world due to the quantity sold. They are selling way more cars in a month compare to Malaysia and that is one of the main reason it can be priced lower.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 38
        • comeonla on Nov 15, 2015 at 10:10 am

What about his comment on people secretly laughing at those who is buying a toyota with stripped down safety features. I didnt see you counter on that.

• George Abdul on Nov 13, 2015 at 3:54 pm

Yea in the market… but definitely not in Malaysia, the spec is shit and UMW will over-pricing it again !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • spongewai on Nov 13, 2015 at 1:58 pm

Honda: Why you copy my rear headlight?!

Toyota: You like I like?!

Honda: …….. so disappointed of you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
  • Mark Tan on Nov 13, 2015 at 2:03 pm

I do appreciate that this is based on the New Hilux Platform, which is having alot, not minimum improvement in terms of handling, riding and comfort.

this new innova with Dual VVt-i engine and new platform.
    More importantly is the elegant interior. Family Guy will appreciate this so much given the comfort and fuel economy. It’s about time to trade in the ROTI MPV Nissan Serena for Toyota Innova.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 12
    • hilux on Nov 13, 2015 at 2:54 pm

hopefully umw bring the more powerful diesel with 356nm of torque compared to only 183nm of torque for the petrol version here in msia. i dont see any problem since the engine are similar to the hilux which only available wt the diesel

• Sammy Loo on Nov 13, 2015 at 3:18 pm

This new 2.4 diesel engine has not made it’s debut in Malaysian market.

Our Hilux is still using the older 2.5 diesel engine due to the bad diesel quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Many Nissan Serena S-Hybrid owners are the previous owners of Innova. They will be able to explain to you on the weak points of Innova, especially travelling on highway. I would really doubt if there is any Serena owner abandon their Serena for Innova

• altimi on Nov 25, 2015 at 3:47 pm

New platform but ancient techs ladder frame chassis. At least give monocoque construction la…..why so stingy?

• Innova_Diesel_Fan on Nov 13, 2015 at 2:04 pm

Why no diesel for Malaysia?

• urzu3 on Nov 13, 2015 at 2:14 pm

finally, quite nice looking innova..
    but i prefer they put diesel on it.. more torque..

• shawal on Nov 13, 2015 at 2:17 pm

when is the ‘jantan’ edition coming out with leather upholstery n curtains?

• Why Hyundai front grille? Later pipu think its new Hyundai MPV straight RV from show room drop 50%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • mr1031 on Nov 13, 2015 at 2:28 pm

finally an improvement to the interior (dashboard)..good people mover btw

• Same shit on Nov 13, 2015 at 2:32 pm

Cannot beat Honda sales, copy HRV tail lamp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • Muggle on Nov 13, 2015 at 2:37 pm

the front looks so stream-ish from second generation. overall, strong bold looks. quite tempting…

• The front looks good .. The rear is just an amature copy of HRV .. Ridiculous

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • Toyota, why wont you offer full spec Innovas for sale from the onset of launch at affordable prices? Full interior and safety specs will be appreciated by many and you will be rewarded with good sales. However, if you persist with your strategy of selling low spec cars at premium prices and letting customers pay thru their noses for high spec cars, your sales will suffer. This is evident through your extensive rebates n discounts currently on existing models. The early buyers are now very unhappy at what is happening and turning to other options.

• 8sg9ft on Nov 13, 2015 at 3:11 pm

One of the ugliest rears I have ever seen on an MPV. Seriously

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • Black Dog on Nov 13, 2015 at 3:56 pm

Finally can reclaim the best MPV title again and tapau Serena, Exora…hope they maintain the low pricing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
  • Side view look like a coffin car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • tiffany on Nov 14, 2015 at 6:07 am

Coffin cars are luxury car though..

you jealous couldnt afford one while others have been using for corporate drive, luxury rip drive, business drive, family drive etc?

• altimasss on Nov 13, 2015 at 5:17 pm

Try selling this in Japan, your home country… if your own people are not going to buy this, please la respect us, the south east asian by not selling junk like this here..

come downvote me.. !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • FIST (Member) on Nov 13, 2015 at 5:19 pm

Oh look! It’s the Mouth of Sauron

• front.. ok… back.. err.. lousy, bad, ugly.. toyota pls close shop.

• Good Quality brand must always available.
    i am already headache of maintenance.

I have other better things to do.

• HRV-like tail lamp copied by toyota to be used in the Innova? Toyota designers ran out of ideas?

• Noyota on Nov 13, 2015 at 7:01 pm

Continue to boycott them until they mau mati to give the Malaysians a properly spec’d model. See, Toyota Camry Hybrid is an effort made by the potential buyers.

• Ulkamikup on Nov 13, 2015 at 9:44 pm

Better pray for umw to close shop and die faster rathan than proton.

• Suharta on Nov 14, 2015 at 12:57 am

Try to.email kenny…. CANNOT.

• Suharta on Nov 14, 2015 at 12:58 am

Innova with NGV…. how much…??
    Ki dly email.me.

• tiffany on Nov 14, 2015 at 6:05 am

Width Comparison:
    Toyota Innova: 1830mm
    Nissan Serena: 1735mm
    Mazda Biante: 1770mm
    – New innova is 10cm fatter than new Serena, and also 5cm fatter than Biante-

Wheel Size Comparison:
    Toyota Innova G: 205/65 R16
    Toyota Innova Q: 215/55 R17
    Nissan Serena : 195/60 R16
    Mazda Biante : 205/60 R16

Spare tyre:
    Toyota Innova : Full Size
    Nissan Serena : Space Saver
    Mazda Biante : Space Saver

Interior Picture Comparison:
    Nissan Serena:
    http://paultan.org/2014/11/28/driven-2014-nissan-serena-s-hybrid/sony-dsc-1715/
    Mazda Biante:
    http://paultan.org/2013/11/13/2013-mazda-biante-launched-rm146k/mazda-biante-12/

Door Comparison:
    Toyota Innova: Swing
    Nissan Serena: Sliding
    Mazda Biante : Sliding

Drivetrain:
    Toyota Innova : RWD
    Nissan Serena : FWD
    Mazda Biante : FWD

Gearbox Comparison:
    Toyota Innova: 6 AT
    Nissan Serena: CVT
    Mazda Biante : 6 AT

Malaysia Innova will come with suitable integrated Aeorkit to provide enhanced planted look. This will make it looks more well rounded.

Get ready for CNY 2016, cheers.

• chiller on Nov 14, 2015 at 8:34 pm

Boring comparison, Exora got 1799mm width, much more powerful torque 205Nm output to pull full load.

• camtakpro on Nov 16, 2015 at 8:52 pm

Punch CVT will be the issue even before warranty expires.

• pajerol on Nov 14, 2015 at 12:21 pm

I don’t like Nissan Serena shape…but this design worst than Serena…

• sparcov on Nov 14, 2015 at 12:41 pm

It is still widely use in indonesia and vietnam as a taxi.

• kanazai2001 on Nov 16, 2015 at 11:26 am

innova – 2.0L I4 NA petro 139 PS 183 Nm RWD
    innova – 2.4L I4 turbo diesel 149 PS 359 Nm RWD
    innova – 7 seats
    innova – look like … -_-”
    innova – $$$?
    innova – IBJ (indon borne japanese)

Maxus G10 – 2.0L I4 turbo GDI petrol 225 hp 345 Nm RWD
    Maxus G10 – 10 to 11 seats (config dependent)
    MAxus G10 – look like alphard
    Maxus G10 – RM130k
    Maxus G10 – kimchi style china doll…

** 1PS = 0.98631997hp

• joel23 on Nov 16, 2015 at 3:31 pm

Now a good smoke costs rm17 per pack, smoke less – top up n buy Serena lah unless u needs to use it for pasar malam work.