Jalan Tun Razak now 50% less congested thanks to new traffic dispersal plan in effect, claims DBKL

Jalan-Tun-Razak-traffic-dispersal-plan

According to the Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL), the new traffic dispersal projects that begun two months ago in Jalan Tun Razak has been fruitful, as traffic congestion has reduced significantly by 50%, especially during peak hours.

Smooth traffic flow on Jalan Tun Razak was reported from the Integrated Transport Information System (ITIS) at the Transport Management Centre based on observations via CCTV during peak hours. DBKL Civil Engineering and Urban Transportation Department director, Dr Leong Siew Mun told Bernama that dividers were installed in several routes as part of the traffic dispersal plan to reduce congestion.

“Among the lanes installed with road dividers are entry into Jalan U-Thant (in front of the US Embassy), Jalan Pekeliling Lama, Jalan Ampang (near Ampang Park) and Jalan Tun Razak,” he told the news agency. Earlier this month, DBKL announced a new traffic dispersal plan that involved the installation of several road dividers at certain roads in order to block vehicles from accessing Jalan Tun Razak, or to re-route them.

Leong also stated that DBKL will install traffic lights at the Jalan Kuching exit (heading towards Jalan Tun Razak) and Sultan Iskandar Highway to ease traffic in both directions. This is part of a project referred to as the Dynamic Merge Control System (DMCS).

For those who frequent driving in Kuala Lumpur, have you observed any drastic improvements in traffic flow thanks to the new traffic dispersal plan? Let us know in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Lumpis pato on Nov 20, 2015 at 10:49 am

Is it??

• Halim on Nov 20, 2015 at 10:58 am

Nothing change because cars squeezing to Bulatan Pahang jammed up Tun Razak road also.

• i hate jam on Nov 20, 2015 at 11:47 am

it’s just a claim by DBKL.

the way i looked at it – jam as usual -.-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
      • correct, my office is located at GTower. I can see clearly the traffic congenstion remain unchanged

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
        • Gargantia on Nov 20, 2015 at 3:08 pm

Same here bro, work in GTower too nothing change… Except DBKL “praise themself” for receiving funds from Rakyat taxes on doing unnecessary changing road that not improve the situation !!!

• city slicker on Nov 20, 2015 at 5:50 pm

DBKL only know how to spend money and change road name to and till todate I still like to call it as Jalan DUTA.

• Nasi lemak dbkl on Nov 20, 2015 at 7:54 pm

DBKL guys eat too much nasi lemak and sleep all the time doing nothing but collect gaji buta. So they have to claim that they did something.

• Boleh/Bodoh Nation on Nov 20, 2015 at 6:50 pm

In order to songkalap more, they have do carry out more projects. Probably costs RM26 mil just to build the diversions, and bingo share-share lah.

• DonkeyKong on Nov 20, 2015 at 11:02 am

So, basically, by eliminating the possibility of people cutting lanes and jumping queue indiscriminately at busy merge lanes, traffic flow has improved by 50%. Goes to show what a bunch of uncivilized drivers Malaysians are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
  • Nimza on Nov 20, 2015 at 11:07 am

Based on my observation, the traffic flow merging to Jalan Tun Razak (towards Jalan Pahang) from Jalan Pekeliling Lama and Bulatan Pahang has improved. Unfortunately, traffics from Bulatan Pahang towards Jalan Ipoh may suffer due to long queue and longer waiting time at traffic light.

• start a fight on Nov 20, 2015 at 11:14 am

not fair… less car on the road now since school also start holidays and people start clearing up their annual leave.. of coz less people on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • C.P.MOHAN on Nov 20, 2015 at 11:32 am

Reminds me some advertisements claiming xx minutes to KL.

• Thank you very much dbkl for another excellent, half baked solution hatched by the countless bunch of simpletons running dbkl! Previously the traffic issue was only contained around Jln tun Razak; now it has spread around the embassy enclave, and just exacerbated the traffic mess.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • bull to the shit.

• Painter on Nov 20, 2015 at 11:54 am

Traffic more smooth at Pekeliling. Thanks to that divider.

Actually drivers’ attitude also contribute to jam. People go all the way to the front to cut queue. Change lane for fun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • i noticed trafic flow along gua musang-kuala krai improve a lot by dbkl latest solution. tq.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • nabill (Member) on Nov 20, 2015 at 12:46 pm

I use end of tun razak… Less jam bt really by not much… Bt there are alot of monkeys who make shortcut u-turns infront of the US embassy n that creates bottleneck by itself…

• foreverstuck on Nov 20, 2015 at 1:50 pm

50% less congested on Jln Tun Razak means that it is 50% more congested somewhere else.

• They eliminated the feed in lane for those turning left from U-Thant onto Tun Razak. That, coupled with the geniuses who force the single lane turn into a double lane turn, make it really both dangerous and stupidly slow if you are trying it get onto Tun Razak during peak times.

And the forced left turn off of Tun Razak onto U-Thant results in horrible back ups from the idiots who then make a u-turn on U-Thant to get back onto Tun Razak. This backs up everyone on U-Thant trying to get to Tun Razak. And delays everyone actually trying to get down U-Thant from Tun Razak.

And…the congestions isn’t any better.

Way to go, gang. Lose, lose, lose.

• sekkee on Nov 20, 2015 at 5:40 pm

Fully agree. Those making a u turn at Jalan U Thant is creating a mess for those trying to turn in from Jalan Tun Razak.They should go straight from Jalan U thant, pass the traffic lights then turn right into the road where most diplomats stay. This road will lead them back out to Jalan Tun Razak and is definitely much faster then trying to make a u turn.

• ayamxxx on Nov 20, 2015 at 2:43 pm

how they calculate the 50% less congested?
    syok sendiri perhaps

• Probably they are busy makan nasi lemak and scratching their butt, hmmm, how do we justify our kpi for year end. Hey, how about saying we manage to reduce jam by 50%.

• superbird #43 on Nov 20, 2015 at 3:05 pm

thank god im not earning my living in kl.

• initially was all right cause many caught off guarded and had to u turn at u-thant area (traffic dispersed to somewhere else). now that the drivers are smarter, the Tun Razak road its back to its glo-rious days. Jammed as usual.

• i2iman on Nov 20, 2015 at 7:40 pm

DBKL needs to improve the traffic flow for traffic from Jalan Pekeliling Lama and Bulatan Pahang going onto Jalan Ipoh and Mahameru Highway.
    Prevent drivers from criss-crossing and re-timing of traffic lights to facilitate the increased traffic going in these directions.
    Prevent vehicles from illegally parking in front of the shop lots leading to the traffic lights.

• darkermarker on Nov 20, 2015 at 9:09 pm

DBKL can claim all they want…..and syoik sendiri lah, as usual.

I can oso CLAIM I am 20x better qualified than that who-who KL Mayor and can CLAIM I could do his job 20x better, any day, anytime.

• Please position traffic policeman at the Tun Razak/Jln U-Thant junction, motorists making dangerous illegal U turn here…

• DBKL ingat gua bodoh. on Nov 21, 2015 at 10:57 am

Tipu orang punya. Still jam as usual. Self proclaimed 50% less conjested by DBKL. How do u even measure conjestion by percentage? Bodoh!