VW’s EA189 diesel fix approved, recalls start in Jan ’16

VW jetta TDI US-spec

Volkswagen’s fix for its “Dieselgate” affected engines has won approval from Germany’s Federal Motor Transport Authority. The next step is to start a recall campaign for EA189 four-cylinder TDI engines in 1.6 and 2.0 litre forms, and contact customers.

In the plan, cars with the 1.6 TDI will be fitted with a new mesh “flow transformer”. VW says it “calms the swirled air flow in front of the air mass sensor and will thus decisively improve the measuring accuracy of the air mass sensor.” In addition to an engine software update, the entire process could take less than an hour to complete. Just a minor software update for the 2.0 TDI, so it should take half the time.

The updates were designed to ensure the TDI engines meet emission requirements without any adverse effects on performance or fuel consumption. Not every variant has been tested yet, though.

For the 1.2 litre TDI, VW plans to present the “final technical solution” later this month. Like the 2.0 TDI, the fix is expected to be just a software update. There will be no financial compensation for affected European owners, unlike in North America where owners get a “Goodwill Package”.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Compulsive Liar. on Nov 26, 2015 at 10:07 am

VW name already stinks in Malaysia. Nobody is even looking at VW. Used car dealers also don’t want to take in. I don’t blame them, who would trust a company that is a compulsive liar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • Logically, regulating the air flow to achieve better emission result is highly possible. I just wonder how much it affects the performance only.

• The power output sure going to drop.
        Less air, less fuel and less pollution.

• By no stretch of the imagination will this fix, fix VW’s thoroughly shat name. Still boggles my mind how the heck did the management of a top world-wide brand – all of them – didn’t detect and act on the systemic scam developed within their core engineering team. All kinds of theories of shady goings-on come to mind. Will take a long time for consumers to forgive this…but then again.. maybe not. We have surprisingly short memories of being shat on by big business (and politicians too). That’s the way life is I guess.

• Bodoh Malaysians on Nov 26, 2015 at 11:29 am

come and see in Malaysia, VGM still lying to the public that DSG can be used in Malaysia with mineral oil. But VW AG say cannot use in Asian countries or any hot countries

• gaviny on Nov 26, 2015 at 11:19 am

nobody really cares about emissions, as long engine power.

• Pampers for Toyota Salesman on Nov 26, 2015 at 11:48 am

What to do when DSG breaksdown every month?

• Sammy Zaik Loo on Nov 26, 2015 at 12:17 pm

There’s a solution – Throw away that bloody DSG gearbox and convert into manual gearbox. If can’t handle manual cars, just throw away the VW junk into river to claim insurance.

• The respective EU countries taxation department cares. Its cuz the cars cheated them on a higher emission tax so therefore the owners indirectly are cheating on paying taxes. This means lower than actual revenue.

• omegle on Nov 26, 2015 at 11:31 am

Fix doesn’t seems to be costly or complex. Why would they rather cheat from the start and get themselves in this sh*thole than doing this?

• lets say they need to spend usd10 on 1 vehicle to implement this fix. if 1 billion vehicle, they need to spend usd 10 billion. so, by cheating, they save usd 10 billion

• andrekua on Nov 26, 2015 at 11:37 am

I’m just wondering. If such a simple fix is all they need, why would they even bother cheating? Make sense?

• True. They could have silently added the part or update the ECU when the cars come in for servicing. I doubt that those could actually solve the problem. More likely just wayang only, cuz VW alredi enrich Merkel Gov by a few billions.

• gaviny on Nov 26, 2015 at 4:18 pm

because a 10 euro part cost multiply a million cars is a substantial amount

a software can be uploaded , sent, all over the world for nothing

• andrekua on Nov 26, 2015 at 8:03 pm

Yeah right…

They would risk being found out and halt sales like what they were doing now for a $10 part.

Where’s the common sense??

• bro do u even math ?
        a 10 euro part cost multiply by a million cars is only 10 million euros. care to guess how much their profit was last year ?

• Bodoh Malaysians on Nov 26, 2015 at 11:39 am

Only very stuid Malaysians would buy a VW now. firstly, they are a fraud with full of lies. Secondly, it is a cheap car in Europe. here we are conned and told it is a luxury car and priced at luxury levels.

• Bob_B78 on Nov 26, 2015 at 1:26 pm

Not all malaysian who bought vw are stupid. Some of them are willing to accept its reliability issue for its performance, handling and safety. Most of us vw owners never consider vw same level like bmw, mercs or audi. Bear in mind not only vw is selling cheap in europe, all other manufacturers are also selling similar price range over there. If you bash us vw owners stupid for buying overpriced car, u r not much different buying overpriced japanese/korean or other eu car here.

• I bought a vw. Yes it is cheap car in europe. But its up to consumer to decide. It is better specced compared to some car. Still its up to consumers actually

• Veedubber on Nov 26, 2015 at 5:07 pm

Come lah play chicken with me and ram head on, see whose lebih keras. Maybe then u won’t be so proud of your Jappy 2 airbag tin cans when u claim life support from your life insurance. Talk is cheap my friends, but Euro safety ratings don’t lie. Hahaha

• Donald on Nov 26, 2015 at 2:19 pm

What about those recon car in Malaysia with TDI engine? what about Audi & Porsche TDI model?

• watchman on Nov 26, 2015 at 6:35 pm

Msian has no emission standard. therefore, no cars were ever in violation of any standard in Msia, whatever the vehicle. don’t you know that ?

• Can people sue me if I drive Porsche Cayenne 3.0TDI???