Prasarana releases new fare structure for LRT and Monorail – comes into effect December 2, 2015

LRT rail pix Bernama

Beginning December 2, 2015, all Prasarana rail services, including the LRT Kelana Jaya Line, LRT Ampang Line and the KL Monorail Line, will follow a new distance-based fares structure. The set of four new fare structures has now been released by Prasarana for your reference here.

Token, cashless (click to enlarge)

As previously reported, a fare differentiation mechanism between cash and cashless modes of payment will be implemented to encourage savings under the new fares structure. This will mean that fares may differ depending on your mode of payment – token, cashless (Touch n Go, MyRapid card), MyRapid Smart7 weekly and MyRapid Smart30 Monthly.

MyRapid7, MyRapid30 (click to enlarge)

Commuters could either pay more or less under the new distance-based fares structure. Fare calculations are based on blocks of decreasing fare per kilometre rates the further a person travels. Prasarana has prepared a few examples of the changes in fares (higher, lower, unchanged) that you can refer to here:

To alleviate the potential fare hike for commuters that still resort to cash payments, the “MyRapid Smart 7 Weekly” and “MyRapid Smart 30 Monthly” cards offer discounts between 18% and 35% from the new cash fares.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• tycoon88 on Nov 27, 2015 at 5:22 pm

Betul or not what my eye saw?

Tambang baru will be cheaper! Not like our bl ood suc king toll gates.

For once the govt is doing d right thing :)

• Mr Fakta on Nov 27, 2015 at 5:31 pm

There’s no such thing as “Fare structure” in this country, because a lot of things are “unfair”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • jwrx (Member) on Nov 27, 2015 at 5:48 pm

Why oh why ….WHY WOULD YOU LAUNCH FOUR DIFFRENT PRICE LISTS FOR FARES????? it doesnt make sense at all…. have 1 freaking price list…and discounts based on TnG or the other weekly/monthly cards…you dont have 4 diffrent pricelists for ppl to confuse over.

• Fair price on Nov 27, 2015 at 6:04 pm

I like the idea for those who paying cash, no discount. For those who using cards, should enjoy certain discount. But 4 different rate is just too much.. should have only cash rate and cashless rate.

Hope the highway in Msia will have the same system, cash and cashless rate.

• wiwiwiwiw on Nov 27, 2015 at 6:39 pm

Kelana Jaya to KLCC = RM 3.40
    Kelana Jaya to KL Sentral RM 4.00

Why is it more expensive to go to KL Sentral than KLCC?

• I think you got mixed up its
      KJ to KLS RM3.40
      KJ to KLCC RM4.00

• KH Nam on Nov 27, 2015 at 8:24 pm

not only that, i also noticed same location, but exit Putra LRT gate vs Monorail gate will charge differently.

Very weird

• Consumer on Nov 28, 2015 at 10:32 am

due to the further you travel the lower your charge per km rate.

• Still cheaper than train trip in Queensland.

2 stations away, 1 person, 4 AUD. How do ozzie live with that?

• Samad Jain on Nov 29, 2015 at 10:22 am

RIP,

That is like comparing orange with apple. Different country. Salary of ppl different lah.

Over here in Malaysia, ppl earning peanuts, do donkey work, and pay GST through their nose…and much much more.

• Can anyone confirm that my daily fare from Kelana Jaya to Bangsar will see a 100% increase from rm1.40 per trip to rm2.80 per trip using touch n go? This is quite crazy, and means my daily return fare has increased from rm2.80 to rm5.60!!! Or am i missing something?!

• Azree Azhar on Nov 30, 2015 at 10:59 am

This is totally misleading! You forgot to mention about the “premium subscription fee” that you need to pay monthly for MyRapid30 & 7 days card (RM10 & RM2.50 respectively). Try calculate your fares from Gombak to Bangsar for cashless vs. MyRapid30.

Cashless RM3.80 x 2 x 22days = RM167.20
    Myrapid30 (RM3.40 x 2 x 22days) + RM10 = RM159.60

Savings of only RM7.60 per month. Really Prasarana?!

• Huh-huh-huh on Nov 30, 2015 at 1:45 pm

This is absurd. Did you management use roulette to pick the fares? It is not logic. It looks more like probability!!!
    Also RM10 additional one month on Smart30? Yeah! Very Smart. One day I fall sick and didn’t take train to work, I rugi like shit !!

• Legal weed dispensary Seattle on May 12, 2016 at 3:59 pm

Does marijuana cause mental disability?