MBPJ to bar traffic offenders from renewing road tax?

polis operasi PT

Have outstanding summonses in Petaling Jaya? You’d better get them settled quickly, as from March next year, traffic offenders who fail to do so will be barred by the Petaling Jaya City Council (MBPJ) from renewing their road taxes, according to The Star.

The English-language daily reports that the council will submit details of the offenders to the Road Transport Department (JPJ), which will then bar the offending car owners. PJ mayor Mohd Azizi Mohd Zain said that MBPJ received approval from JPJ last month.

Azizi added that it will offer an 80% discount on summonses until February 29, in order to encourage offenders to settle summonses before the deadline. It is reported that MBPJ has so far racked up 4.1 million unpaid traffic summonses, worth some RM100 million.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• PoorGuywithNoMoneytoPayParking on Nov 30, 2015 at 6:26 pm

80% discounts? for DBKL and PDRM summons? sure? what should i mention when im paying plus where should i play?

• whereUread on Dec 01, 2015 at 9:30 am

where did it say DBKL or PDRM? I believe this is only for summons issued by MBPJ. Usually its for parking offences

• BigBalls on Nov 30, 2015 at 6:49 pm

The 100 million should be used to tar all the roads in PJ, which is appalling and worse than kampung roads. Driving in PJ these days is super stressful.

-BigBalls-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • That 100 mil would go into dear leader’s state piggybank for his personal use in GE14. So its dihalalkan. Jangan persoal

• Legoland on Dec 01, 2015 at 10:09 am

This better be true. The MB is gonna snatch some wigs come ge14.

• MBPJ Clean Your House First on Nov 30, 2015 at 7:12 pm

The MBPJ should clean up their dirty organisation instead of coming out with all this barring road tax nonsense.You all are so dirty and filthy, instead of cleaning your filthy house, you got time to do saman and bar road tax renewal.

Everyday your MBPJ guys are taking money from all the makcik jual goreng pisang and hawkers who try to earn a decent living. Many of the MBPJ officers are on permanenet payroll from hawkers so that MBPJ don’t kacau them.

Then you have your enforcement officers looking for illegal renovation. They alone make a couple of thousands a day. We all know lah every house in KL memang got illegal extension but MBPJ love to close an eye just to make money every now and then.

MBP clean up your organisation. Your people on the streets are so so so so dirty. Everybody in Malaysia have been approached and stopped by a MBPJ officer who has openly asked money to settle the offence or supposedly imaginary offence on the spot.

Oh yeah MBPJ, was it you guys where your nyamuk aedes enforcement officer was carrying a small tube with dengue larvae to put into house owner fish tank and got caught by CCTV?

MBPJ is one of the most corrupted bodies in Malaysia. Nearly every single enforcement officer takes money. Each day each can make easily RM1000. In a month, can get RM20,000. Even doctor and lawyer also lose. Why bother studying?

Somemore income tax and epf free. Clean RM20,000 per month for a person with hardly SPM education.

Clean up your MBPJ first

• Henry on Nov 30, 2015 at 7:16 pm

Under which law? Who is MBPJ to instruct JPJ to refuse road tax renewal for offenders?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • Loong on Nov 30, 2015 at 8:35 pm

Highly likely to be a bluff. The law will need to be changed to stop people renewing road tax due to unpaid town council saman. Besides will anybody offer 80% discount if it is going to be implemented?

• Albert on Nov 30, 2015 at 8:59 pm

JPJ,please ensure VVIPs also get thrown out if they have unpaid summons.
    But in Bolehland,have you seen any of these bastards been thrown out and embarrased?

• dodgeviper88 on Dec 01, 2015 at 8:36 am

Hmmm wasn’t it illegal to do that? http://paultan.org/2011/04/28/jpj-lifts-blacklist-on-drivers-and-vehicles-with-saman-ekor/
    Flippidy floppidy government.

• Malaysia should be the only country in the world who offer discount to encourage people to pay summons… laugh me die….

• I support this, as this can deter ppl from parking at the roadside, making a 2 lane road into single lane, causing traffic jams. Unless for special occasion like friday prayers and sunday church goers

• ben yap on Dec 01, 2015 at 11:12 am

MPSJ tried to do that. they weren’t successful. MBPJ will face the same thing too.

• Black Dog on Dec 01, 2015 at 1:43 pm

They say every time to threaten people to pay their summons but every time also tin kosong

• Dicky on Feb 26, 2016 at 1:30 pm

The road in PJ is super suck. All holes here and there.
    And MBPJ does not put effort to try to solve some unnecessary traffic jam when peak hour.
    For cleanliness of PJ is still ok, but some place is dirty/smelly.
    Kena summon is our fault no doubt, but just feel not willing to pay, because is like paying for nothing…