Nissan NP300 Navara in Indiana Jones-themed ad

The all-new Nissan NP300 Navara recently made its launch debut here in Malaysia, with a total of six variants being offered, priced from RM79,000 up to RM120,800. Following its launch, Edaran Tan Chong Motor has now released a video commercial starring the pick-up in its top-spec VL configuration.

The video starts with our protagonist running away from the “baddies” that are chasing him with a couple of quad bikes and an old D22 Frontier. Our “hero,” who closely resembles a very famous archaeologist/historian/college professor by the name of Indiana Jones, soon gets into his getaway vehicle, the NP300 Navara.

Firing up the 2.5 litre YD25DDTi four-cylinder turbodiesel engine with the keyless start system, our hero sets off across the rough terrain, with the Navara’s multi-link rear suspension providing a more supple ride as compared to its predecessor’s leaf spring setup.

Nissan NP300 Navara 1

The pick-up’s seven-speed automatic gearbox (with manual override) also gets featured in the ad, allowing our hero to dictate which gear is most suitable given his current predicament. Even on slippery surfaces, the NP300 Navara’s Active Brake Limited Slip (ABLS) system ensures the truck keep on going, while Hill Descent Control ensures going down steep slopes is an effortless affair.

By this point, the “baddies’” vehicles are already struggling to keep up with the truck, which now wraps a chain around a boulder, before unleashing the 2.5 litre turbodiesel’s 190 PS and more importantly, the 450 Nm of torque used to pull the boulder along to cover up the Navara, and our hero’s exit path.

What do you think of the new Nissan NP300 Navara’s advertisement? It certainly does have a certain amount of charm to it, don’t you think?

GALLERY: Nissan NP300 Navara VL

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• It’s funny because the other truck is a Nissan too. I mean come on,

They could have used the current Hilux ;)

• Bagus betul ni. Boleh bawak isteri empat saya dengan selasa bersama 10 anak saya.

• Woi! 4 istri 10 anak maksudnya lu ada 2 istri lahir 3 anak dan 2 lagi lahir 2 anak. Tabouleh camtu!

Nanti yang 2 itu jeles. Kena ada 12 anak baru adil kepada semua istri. Tapi kalau 1 di Shanghai, 1 di Beijing, 1 di Thailand, dan 1 di Taiwan, takdelah nak lawan nanti. kan? kan? kan?

• Imagine you own Toyota company in malaysia and they use your car, bet you gonna be the first to say some bad comments or even sue the company

• Advertising troll on Dec 08, 2015 at 2:27 pm

Obviously you know nothing abt advertising. Try putting in a competitor’s product and wait for your backlash.

• Hallo on Dec 08, 2015 at 2:28 pm

Imagine if you own Toyota, and you are your car in Nissan’s ad performing worse than the advertised car, how will you feel? Common sense la bro. Advertising, not starting a war

• Wiwiwiw on Dec 07, 2015 at 4:15 pm

How about an ad to demonstrate no vsc on the almera?

• Fan boy on Dec 07, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Copycat oranger colour of Ford Ranger Wildtrack. Ford should sue Nissan for this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Fanny Boy on Dec 07, 2015 at 5:44 pm

LOL, does that mean ford should sue other cars manufacturer for using black colour because the first Ford Model-T is in black as well.

• Advertising troll on Dec 08, 2015 at 2:29 pm

Can I sue you for wearing same coloured t shirt as I have as well?

• Advertising troll on Dec 08, 2015 at 2:30 pm

Or I can sue you for having 4 wheels on your car too

• Tadalaku 1M on Dec 07, 2015 at 7:44 pm

Nissan,

Do you have Navara The Malaysia Juara Kampung version??

I need this version as I think it gives me dignity.