Petrol prices tumble in the UK, now under £1 per litre

petrol11

The continually falling prices of crude oil have seen UK fuel prices drop below one pound per litre. The new 99 pence (RM6.50) price tabled by Morrisons supermarket has become the lowest recorded price in the UK since 2009.

Likewise, Asda, another supermarket chain, has also announced that it will be offering a special 97 pence (RM6.35) per litre promotional price over the coming weekend. It’s important to remember that unlike Malaysia, petrol and diesel prices in the UK (Europe and US too) aren’t standardised on a monthly basis by the government. It is normal to encounter different fuel prices daily, and from one station to the next.

As mentioned, the low fuel prices at UK pumps is attributed to the continually falling prices of crude oil. The assessment is made based on the current Brent Crude oil listing of USD$40 (RM173) per barrel. The index is used as a benchmark for fuel prices around the world.

However, the gradual decline of fuel prices in the UK doesn’t come as much of a surprise. In November, the country marked a low average of 1.05 pounds (RM6.90) per litre at the pumps. Still, the drop in prices isn’t as rapid as it is in Europe, where countries like Spain sell petrol from as low as 83.5 pence (RM5.45).

In Malaysia, our petrol and diesel prices are also based on a market float, with new rates only implemented on the first of every month, and standardised across all stations. These rates are also based on global crude oil trends. Currently, Malaysians pay RM1.95 per litre for RON 95, RM2.45 per litre for RON 97, RM1.90 per litre for diesel and RM2.00 per litre for Euro 5 diesel.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 14, 2015 at 5:13 pm

Even UK drop fuel price until 0.20 cents there, Encik Najix pun cakap harga Minyak paling rendah RM1.90/l punya lah. Itu lah UMNO member support dia shj dlm dunia ini.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 16
    • LatukBandar on Dec 14, 2015 at 5:42 pm

20 cents? Are u retarded or never went to school? read the article before u write your comment.

so tired of people like you, complaining and complaining without reading the article. Typical malaysians that sees everything from a political point of view. and no, i am not a BN supporter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 96
      • George Abdul on Dec 14, 2015 at 6:42 pm

Really then where the promise of transparency??? It 6 month passes seen the promise but Dumno ministry act like dummy “never” make any announcement… But always free at “hike up price” on every industry in Malaysia !!! and no, I am not PR supporter !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 10
        • deepamali on Dec 14, 2015 at 8:48 pm

thank you, BN govt. We are so very syukur of everything….

• Sir,

Do take into consideration the word “Even”! it means if it does happened in the future…

• hidupumngok on Dec 14, 2015 at 5:37 pm

in uk, you earn £1000 > petrol selling £1/L.
    in Malaysia, you earn RM1000 > petrol selling RM1.90/L.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 3
    • alldisc on Dec 14, 2015 at 7:19 pm

And not to forget. 12 years old waja is £1,200. In Malaysia rm10k.

New Ford focus £15k. Malaysia rm120k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
    • chukai on Dec 15, 2015 at 10:52 am

with income tax and VAT of 45% and 20%….

• Mr Fakta on Dec 14, 2015 at 5:53 pm

Waiting some red shirt to say “Tgok, wong Mat Saleh pam minyok mahal RM6.50. Cukur lah kite kat Malaysia minyok muroh, terima kasih kpd Pemimpin kito”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 7
  • Meanwhile in Malaysia…

• Wait a minute. If our RON97 is no longer subsidised, why are we not paying RM6.35/L like in UK?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 41
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 14, 2015 at 6:47 pm

in other countries, they pay taxes for fuel….we get taxed for our marseelee bengz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • Gargantia on Dec 14, 2015 at 8:18 pm

@john
        In your logic we pay RM 6.35/L. So are Rakyat salary pay in £??? When will you wakeup John stop reading Utusan and read world news !!!

• Normally PT quotes foreign currencies without local taxes. Or at least thats what they do for cars, just to make blind macais rage against our prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • good question on Dec 14, 2015 at 6:48 pm

good question. but alas, no one here in paultan.org can answer that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
    • kenneth on Dec 14, 2015 at 6:49 pm

if that’s your logic, why are the average malaysians not earning RM 12,700 (£2,000) like in the UK ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • Antony Gasper on Dec 14, 2015 at 7:12 pm

There a tax on petroleum products in the UK. Compare with Thailand there is no tax and no subsidy.

• kamal on Dec 14, 2015 at 8:35 pm

I just fill up at Tesco fuel station. 30 litre for £30. It is 99 pence/ litre.

• Super Blind Supporter on Dec 14, 2015 at 9:24 pm

To those xtremely ignorant ppl, & Dum-no supporter, plz check the fact by browsing this: http://www.macrotrends.net/1369/crude-oil-price-history-chart
    “Select 5years chart & pin to sept 2014”, the crude oil price was USD90++ on Sept 2014 but our unsubsidised price was RM2.57 per liter on Sept 2014, check out the photo at (http://paultan.org/2014/10/27/govt-says-structure-petrol-subsidy-rationalisation-programme-ron-95-finalised-next-year/).
    Now brent crude oil at USD38 per barrel, which is at least 57% cheaper, but our price is only 25% cheaper at RM1.95.
    *1 barrel =159liters, Usd 38 / 159 x Rm4.3 = Rm1.027. * lets say, need to add 40% for refining&retailing cost =1.44per liter only. So why still selling so high? If u know the real calculation, show me!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • john is otak batu on Dec 15, 2015 at 9:51 am

No point writing the whole bible. Bottom line is still painful when u hand over the cash you pump to the kiosk cashier. Unless u can give $1 & walk off

• Meichael on Dec 14, 2015 at 9:44 pm

Meanwhile… petrol is price as they like at a few times more in Malaysia, even though it is produced in Malaysia.

• Seriously, some people can caluculate currency exchange for the price of fuel BUT NOT the pay. BN supporter la.

My Japanese GM friend of an Oil and Gas co in Msia said our fuel is expensive because we are producer.

Our petrol is the most expensive for a major oil producing country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • My American friend punya GM punya MD of an undisclosed oil giant says our oil is not used for the vehicles here but exported out for jet fuel. The higher prices it brings we use to buy refined oil overseas (follow market prices) or bring some here to refine (by Petronas). of course among oil export nations, we have one of the least reserves and those are expensive to tap, which do justify why we cant give cheap oil like saudis which find oil by sticking a shovel into the ground.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
      • Gargantia on Dec 15, 2015 at 9:39 am

You like to bullshiting, Petronas is a dealership…. The real distributor in Malaysia are SapuraKencana and Bumi Armada with others gas and petroleum companies. Stop your nonsense BN supporter attitude !!!

• BNH67 on Dec 15, 2015 at 9:29 am

Until today the BN liars have yet to show us the formula to calculate the fuel prices. That shows that they are hiding something from the Rakyat. Is it so difficult to reveal it? Maybe after revealing they don’t have anymore money to songlap.

• back here in our country, drop RM0.10….

guessing next mth will up RM0.10….then another month drop RM0.10…ZZZzzzz

• SapotLGE on Dec 15, 2015 at 12:38 pm

At least CM Lim promise us petrol RM1/liter when Pakatan Harapan takes over. Removes Petronas monopoly. What can BN give us?

• cm lim can promise the moon, the stars and the planets.