Refusing to give way to VIP convoys with a police escort against the law, and a punishable offence – IGP

Police-Escort-Pix-Bernama

It’s against the law to refuse to give way to VIP convoys with a police escort, according to Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Khalid Abu Bakar.

The Star reports that road users who defy police instructions – particularly in refusing to give way to VIP convoys when asked – can be penalised under three laws. Khalid explained that such behaviour can be considered as obstructing a civil servant from carrying out his duties and is an offence under the Police Act, Road Traffic Act and the Penal Code.

“There have been discussions encouraging the public to defy police, particularly on the road while escorting VIPs. VIPs are escorted mainly for safety reasons,” Khalid said. He was responding to a news report last week that had questioned whether it was required for the public to give way to a VIP convoy.

The subject came about following a December 15 posting by a motorist on social media, in which the road user claimed that while driving on the road, several police outriders on motorcycles were ordering motorists to give way to a car which was ferrying a VVIP.

The road user, however, refused to give way, a move that was matched by the car ahead of him. He applauded the move as Malaysians fighting for their rights, and continued on by stating that he wasn’t angry with police officers who were just performing their duties. Instead, he had asked for ministers to “practice what they preach”, as in to leave earlier to avoid traffic congestion.

Khalid said such reports would only encourage lawlessness by telling people not to obey police instructions. “I request this stops because it won’t bring any good to the society or country – instigating people into lawlessness,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Dec 21, 2015 at 10:08 am

Hahahahahaha… nasi lemak government. 1 say this another say different.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 1
    • Jimmy on Dec 21, 2015 at 1:00 pm

Tiada definasi yang tepat bermakna: prone kepada abus.

Jika saya Obama, mamang saya akan sengaja tidak kasi definasi tepat pada semua & segala-gala laws/undang2/regulasi Amerika Syarikat.

Supaya jika saya mau sue sesiapa, saya pasti menang di Amerika Syarikat.

• Rude Buli on Dec 21, 2015 at 3:37 pm

Rakyat byr cukai jalan, lesen, toll, GST.
      diorang beli superbike Honda, Kawasaki tapi peragut motor, lumba haram, triple parking masa tghari Jumaat maseh lg berleluasa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • Jalan Tun Razak on Dec 22, 2015 at 10:03 pm

I will only give way at one road…Jalan Tun Razak. I don’t want be in a situation where I wind down the car window and shout “Lu bapak punya jalan kah?” and the VIP winds down his window and shout back “Ya!!!”

• gaviny on Dec 21, 2015 at 10:08 am

proof again our police force are political enforcers not working for the public who bloody pay their salary

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 145 Thumb down 5
  • longjaafar on Dec 21, 2015 at 10:08 am

The ones that bring “no good to the country and society” are the VVVVVVIPs who abuse their privilege.
    They use outriders to go to play golf; to attend weddings; to and from their homes…etc..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 1
  • What law?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 0
  • hailthepurist on Dec 21, 2015 at 10:20 am

yes sir..

• George Abdul on Dec 21, 2015 at 10:20 am

He non-stop licking his boss shoes and forgotten who pay his salary(tax payer)… he think Rakyat are “slave” to dumno ???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 6
  • Who dares to touch me if I have RM2.6 billions in my account?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
  • Poor rakyat on Dec 21, 2015 at 10:27 am

Then in this case, please don’t tell us to leave early to work because statement like this won’t bring any good to the society or country.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 1
  • Rakan_cop on Dec 21, 2015 at 10:28 am

As usual… we, citizens, are always on the wrong side of the law. The police & the VVIP, no matter what they do, they are always right.

BULL! WHO CARES.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 0
  • dodgeviper88 on Dec 21, 2015 at 10:29 am

Stealing RM2.6b is also against the law, which is more severe? That is why I have no respect for police officers, just a part of UMNO dogs feeding off scraps and extorting from the rakyat

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 1
  • I am surprise not sedition, sosma, poka or terrorism acts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • applegreen on Dec 21, 2015 at 10:43 am

Hek Eleh…dah la pakai kereta tak bayar cukai, tak bayar tol, kemudian nak suruh rakyat yang bayar cukai jalan, kereta dan tol bagi laluan kepada VIP?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 0
  • Annoynimouse on Dec 21, 2015 at 10:44 am

In asking the ministers to “practice what they preach”, the guy actually has a point. However, many drivers don’t give way to anyone including ambulances, which for me is utterly selfish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • I would say drive at the speed limit and only give way to ambulances or fire fighters. You have no obligations to give way to cronnies who took away RM2.6 billion Ringgit without a proper explanation.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
  • nabill (Member) on Dec 21, 2015 at 10:54 am

didnt a lawyer recently said according to msia law and legistlation , its NOT against the law to refuse give way to VIS(u know what S stands for, dont u?)
    those guys really know crap about their own law…
    its not that we are stubborn bunch n dont give way , its you guys are so arrogant and holy ,and prime example of abusing power, its a human nature not to give a cow dung whenever these guys pass by…Either EARN our respect or shut up…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
  • karmictrail on Dec 21, 2015 at 11:03 am

Shaddap la. Don’t try to make your own laws and impose on us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • don the kong on Dec 21, 2015 at 11:09 am

legalised road bully? What’s new in Malaysia? Everything can be legalised.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Honhon on Dec 21, 2015 at 11:10 am

I love you all

• BigBalls on Dec 21, 2015 at 11:10 am

For an IGP that doesn’t know LAW to say its against the law for not giving way to VIP escorts its the epitome of irony

Go back to learn LAW Mr IGP

-BigBalls-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • Typical Nasi Lemak Country on Dec 21, 2015 at 11:12 am

Malaysian: Ape benda ko merepak nie…. Ko ingat tu u bapak punye jalan ke?

Vvip: yeah la tu… Ni bapak saye punye la… U nak buat pe tu? Jibby songlap 2.6b pun u olang biase tak blh buat ape2… Ko orang menyalak aje boleh… Negara ni ade duet n power boleh buat apa2 tau… U jgn nak complain bnyk.. Nnti masukkan u semua dalam jail using sediction act

Polis: yeah… Datuk2 betul u ckp tu(ni bulan blh dpt bnyk lagi duet dari datuk nie :)) )

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Niazi on Dec 21, 2015 at 11:25 am

No law exists that v have to give way to so call vip,but igp have his mouth open n pass comments that if rakyat not give way law will take action.
    2 things I sort out from this
    1-rakyat is slave n give dam to them when n where necessary but when need votes then v humble n polite n bla bla…..
    2- law in this country is no law.when n where necessary make stern law n then ultimately make whole world laugh to this Boleh land

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • the archbishop of banterbury on Dec 21, 2015 at 11:26 am

0 f@#$* given by me

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Dec 21, 2015 at 11:28 am

Lawlessness? Your bosses and cronies have been lawlessness and…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • That shows how Rakyat frustrated with current gov.

• PUBLIC SERVANT minister on Dec 21, 2015 at 11:47 am

For what’s the use of law and yet you are losing people’s respect…

• Noname on Dec 21, 2015 at 1:15 pm

Police job is escorting the VIP, not make way for the VIP.So saying blocking the VIP is obstructing police job has become irrelevant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • Rusmah on Dec 21, 2015 at 1:16 pm

Use private jet, no jam.

• No-name on Dec 21, 2015 at 1:18 pm

Your duty is escort the VIP, not making way for the fxxking VIP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • When whole article didn’t state which law, plus “obstruction of civil servant in performing duties” it Can be various things, so if we ask about 2.6b, complaining about increasing toll rates, no subsidiary for electricity etc. We will be seen as against the law.

• choong hui ken on Dec 21, 2015 at 2:06 pm

give us the sub sec law, dont quote the main law title..
    we wanna see what is the understanding of law from your eyes vs expert legal official.. will you?

• How much did najib pay them? Suddenly its against the law

• Sivil servant…the word usually forgotten by them

• albag on Dec 21, 2015 at 6:54 pm

another way of saying, rakyat is just plain cheap peasant slaves.. should give way to high keras government officers and ministers… nuffsaid

• kamal 9337 on Dec 21, 2015 at 7:08 pm

Section 21(2) Police Act .
    Engkar Arahan Polis di jalan Raya.
    Section 186 Panel Code, Menghalang Penjawat Awam melaksanakan tugas.
    Boleh di tangkap tanpa waran.
    See u in Court.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 21
  • What is the exact statement of the act? At least tell us it is under which section? Does the 2 acts and panel code actually covers about giving ways to escorts?

• And to police officers, i dont understand why are you willing to waste your time, your life and your dignity obeying lowly idiots that brings harm to you and your family.

• Lee VY on Dec 21, 2015 at 8:44 pm

Perhaps it is good to list out what law can be use in this? Will that law applies to civilian as well or just for VIP above. Can help state which Act?

• LVGagal on Dec 21, 2015 at 9:52 pm

Isn’t this lawlessness itself when VVIP don’t follow traffic rule? BODOH TAHAP DEWA

• andrekua on Dec 21, 2015 at 10:34 pm

Yesterday I saw this guy official car when coming out of KLIA toll booth. I was wondering if there’s any official duty on Sunday or just accompanying family to board a plane or shopping spree in Mitsui.

• the force on Dec 21, 2015 at 11:38 pm

Does sultan n kerabat consider as civil servant?

• Suria on Dec 22, 2015 at 12:52 am

Road Tax being paid by all vehicle riders, it is Police Riders SOP is to guard and excorting important people for security reasons, but in my opinion, select a few VVIPS and it should only be limited to a selections, like the Yang Di-Pertuan Agong, State Rulers Sultan, PM and maybe the DPM on official duty and during emergency government bodies such as Police, Defence Vehicles, Bomba and Ambulance (only valid during emergency), not other Ministers, Politicians, VVIPs or their family members is a must to excort. But in Malaysia if you are a VIP with tons of money to spare, you could probably hire out riders to make way to your shopping destination or posh restaurant,wedding or cinema. The majorities road end users supposed to be the RAKYAT, the Government-owned should liaise and consult with the rakyat first for the SOP approval, Rakyat are the taxpayers and paymaster for the government servants. POLITICIANS IS SUPPOSED TO BE THE SERVANTS of the RAKYAT, consult with rakyat before any implementations. Don’t simply approve an SOPS without Parliament majorities and mainly take into account on the rakyat safety consideration as well.

• najib gila kuasa on Dec 22, 2015 at 11:00 am

cam budak najib ni ..kena sikit terus nk ngadu gan ayahanda polis…terus laksana undang2…kita kena hari2 relex je…siap kena kerah duit lagi.

• jalan tun razak on Dec 22, 2015 at 3:37 pm

if the road is Jalan Tun Razak, and VIP is Najib, fine. i might consider give way.. cause “INI Jalan Bapa i !”