BMW, MINI – no price change in Malaysia for 2016

Planning to get your Ultimate Driving Machine this year, but worried about price increases resulting from the unfavourable foreign exchange? Fret not, as BMW Malaysia has confirmed that there won’t be any such hikes, at least for now.

Current price lists on both BMW and MINI websites show the same prices for all models as before the turn of the new year. They are dated November 19 and April 16 respectively, but a source has confirmed that the prices listed will carry over to 2016.

For a more detailed overview of all the models that are on sale in Malaysia, complete with current prices, check out our sister site CarBase.my.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Thanks BMW for keeping the price at least for now … bravo !

• Nonsense logic on Jan 04, 2016 at 11:52 am

Already overpriced so no need to change it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
    • Up you complaint.. Down you complaint… Susahlah you..

• carguy on Jan 04, 2016 at 1:26 pm

What do you mean? UMW pricing is the one overpriced. If BMW is overpriced, every car in Malaysia is overpriced. You get what you pay.

• Ongtk on Jan 04, 2016 at 12:18 pm

I can imagine their enormous profit margin all those times when our ringgit is strong against the USD.

• Jimmy on Jan 04, 2016 at 5:31 pm

1. BMW, I wish you all the best. Good move, just like the 5-year warranty.
      2. Luxurious vehicles are for people who earn big money. If you are not in this category, please opt out.
      3. Do you know the land price and the building cost for a house and a condo?
      4. What about businesses with 500% profit margin?
      5. Have you learnt about price discriminations? Same work/service but different prices (example: they look at your house).

• Tin Kosong on Jan 04, 2016 at 2:22 pm

Which begs the question. Why Lexus increased the prices for their cars when BMW can retain theirs?

• Staff on Jan 04, 2016 at 3:44 pm

The truth is, every year, BMW Malaysia, wholly owned by Sime Darby, sells a few thousand units of brand new BMWs to Hertz Rental (now called Sime Darby Car Rental, a wholly owned subsidiary of Sime Darby.)

Hertz Rental then leases the cars back to Sime Darby Group as company cars for their VP1 and SVP staff. This alone amounts to few thousand units per year as the group has over 100,000 employees.

So, is there really sales when BMW Malaysia is actually selling back their cars to within their organisation (Sime Darby group) for the use of company cars?

Half the BMWs on the road are actually Hertz Rental cars that are used for Sime Darby staff.

Pre-Reg’d included also. They quickly register their car and resell later with some (or no)losses to the public saying these cars have low mileage and often used for events or by their sales people. Like this can show high sales figures, however salespeople do not get these commission.

So, BMW Malaysia, please lah. Don’t kelentong the people. Even your 7 series also, half of the sales go to Sime Darby Directors as company cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Cars r us on Jan 04, 2016 at 3:53 pm

Not this tripe again. Even people with half a brain can see holes in your argument. How many thousands of VPs does Sime Darby have in Malaysia?

• the smart co will not increase their price while the others increase…thus driving more sales for their marque…good strategy