New Kuala Terengganu race circuit ready by end-2016

kt race circuit 1

Good news for racing aficionados living on the East Coast. Last July, it was reported that the Terengganu state government had given the green light for the construction of international professional racing circuit in Gong Badak, allocating RM12.6 million for the project.

Now, word is that the circuit – seen here in renderings taken from Kuala Nerus Gallery’s Facebook page – will be completed by the end of this year, according to Terengganu Youth and Sports and Human Resources committee chairman Datuk Rozi Mamat.

The circuit, located near the Gong Badak Sports Complex, is recognised by the Automobile Association of Malaysia (AAM), and features a 1.35 km-long cub prix circuit and a 950 metre-long stretch meant for sprint tests. It will also have seating for spectators as well as a viewing tower.

Last year, during the announcement of the project, Menteri Besar Ahmad Razif Abdul Rahman explained that the circuit was being built to meet the motorsports needs of young people in the state. “We do not want our young people to race illegally on roads which is dangerous. We are building the circuit to produce professional racers,” he said then.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• old dog on Jan 05, 2016 at 2:22 pm

WTF!! at KT? who is the main con for this?

who will go there to race? mat Rampit?

The G is spending money to build white-elephant project without any economy return..

It makes Dr M curve bridge to Singapore looks so good project in compare..(at least Singaporean will pay for it when they use it..)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 47
    • Contractor of the collapsing-roof-stadium will be awarded.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • Looks like those dragstrip race circuits in land of freedom and democracy, so its dihalalkan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
    • kaizen on Jan 05, 2016 at 3:52 pm

WTF to u too!. don’t u know that there has been an annual racing event in the state. don’t u know that petronas cub prix has been making their rounds for so many years. don’t u know that that are youth from the state represent the country in the motorcycle grand prix. And surprisingly, don’t u know/realize that u are incapable/unable to ride a bike! dude.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 3
      • Azri Mohamad on Mar 22, 2017 at 4:28 pm

These guys know nuts lah. All cannot all negative. Hope more thai dragsters will come down and roll in KT.

• Luqman on Jul 13, 2022 at 3:36 pm

after 6 years, I hope you read your comment again… so funny anjing tua

• tokmoh. on Jan 05, 2016 at 2:35 pm

inb4 bumbung runtuh

• azhar on Jan 05, 2016 at 2:38 pm

it will collapse..trust me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Donkey Kong on Jan 05, 2016 at 2:52 pm

I think we all know who is pocketing the money for this sort of large and unnecessary projects… really sad… its like Malaysia is having mini 1MDBs everywhere and it’s OK for so called govt servants to do this…. btw what happened to all the flood victim relocations from 2013???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • Ford Power on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:14 pm

I tot them flood victims are mostly Kelantanese right? But really doubt this project since it took them yeaaarss to complete the LPT.

• BigBalls on Jan 05, 2016 at 3:01 pm

make sure the roofs doesnt collapse though

• Proton achieving 13% TIV in 2016 on Jan 05, 2016 at 3:11 pm

Bagus, I support BN effort to make Terengganu into an international sports hub. We already got Monsoon Cup, now bring own Rempit Grand Prix and 1Malaysia Drag Race. Those Ahamd, Ah Beng or Mutu with their 700 hp tuned Wira Evo Lancer, Satria Colt and Myvi Quad exhaust are welcome to take part.

Majulah sukan automotif untuk negara! Malaysia Jaguh! Malaysia Gemilang! Pembangkang tak tau apa2 tentang sukan automotif duduk diam2!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • kaizen on Jan 05, 2016 at 3:56 pm

pitty!!!!. monsoon cup has already been moved to johore last year!

• As long as not another construction failure like the Terrengganu Stadium collapse and made Malaysia Famous worldwide, especially recorded for civil engineering education.

• Bomoh on Jan 05, 2016 at 3:29 pm

MAybe can race boat during December..

• I think it will flood when come to monsoon season.

• Soon instead of maintaining its standard. This place will turn into maksiat place by mat rempit in no time. Jatuh standard.

• Andas on Jan 05, 2016 at 6:19 pm

Curcuit only not enough leh.. u need educate these rempits fella.. no use they race in circuit on daytime but go illegal racing in night time.. morning win championship then later found dead the next day for illegal racing.. another bola tanggung to opposition.. see all the comment.. havent start building, but soooooo many negative comment.. msia boleh!

• karipap 1malysia on Jan 05, 2016 at 6:38 pm

if the roof not collapsing, then the track will be full of potholes…..

• Abahkau on Jan 07, 2016 at 4:32 pm

Most of the road in KT are way better than klang valley.. Believe me, I just moving to KT last year and hardly found any potholes. U can come here to see for yourself bro

• choha on Jan 05, 2016 at 8:41 pm

so the gov is encouraging more racing and road deaths….don’t they have better project to spend the money on?

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:24 pm

Wow they are spending on a circuit when they should use the money to better prepare for the upcoming natural disasters

• wa…circuit recognised by AAM…foooi yo….not FIA?

who cares AAM..

and lets hope the crowdstand does not collapsed after 1 yr, and feature in NatGeo Engineering Blunder show :P