Hyundai Ioniq hybrid – first details and official images

2016-hyundai-ioniq-first-details-pictures- 051

Following design sketches that were shown yesterday, Hyundai has now revealed its first official images of its Hyundai Ioniq hybrid, along with a few initial details surrounding the vehicle’s chassis and powertrain.

As reported, the Ioniq will offer three powertrain options – a full electric vehicle (EV), a hybrid electric vehicle (HEV) and a plug-in hybrid vehicle (PHEV). However, only the Ioniq hybrid has been detailed here, with the Korean car maker confirming that the full EV and PHEV will only appear at later points.

Even still, all three versions of the Hyundai Ioniq will rely on just the one, brand-new architecture. Advanced High Strength Steel is a primary component of the structure, assuring chassis rigidity an ability to withstand collision forces. But, Hyundai has also cleverly incorporated lightweight aluminium body panels into the design as well.

2016-hyundai-ioniq-first-details-pictures- 052

According to Hyundai’s materials, non-structural body panels such as the hood, tailgate and suspension components are made from aluminium. Use of the lightweight material has allowed for weight savings of up to 12.6 kg.

Hyundai has also revealed that its new chassis features a low centre of gravity thanks to its traction battery being positioned lower and nearer to the centre of the vehicle. The Korean carmaker suggests that its new model will offer “dynamic ride and handling at its core,” but we’ll reserve judgement for that once we get a chance to drive it for ourselves.

With only the powertrain of the Ioniq hybrid revealed, it looks like Hyundai is starting fresh with a brand-new 105 PS/147 Nm 1.6 litre Kappa GDI petrol engine. Paired with a six-speed dual-clutch automatic transmission, Hyundai says that both powertrain elements have been developed exclusively for the Ioniq.

Claiming to have the world’s highest thermal efficiency at 40%, Hyundai also explains that its engine’s head and block has a split design for optimised cooling. The four-pot features a 200 bar high-pressure, six-hole direct fuel injector that is said to further improve fuel consumption and CO2 emissions.

A 43.5 PS/170 Nm permanent magnet electric motor is sandwiched between the engine and transmission, while a lithium ion polymer traction battery positioned almost directly under the passenger’s seat completes this vehicle’s hybrid nature. No further details, such as its performance characteristics, were revealed.

As mentioned in our previous report, the Hyundai Ioniq will be making a global debut in Korea first, while bookings for the vehicle are already being taken in several markets. Its motor show debut is set to take place at Geneva in March, giving Hyundai some time to go before revealing further details.

GALLERY: Hyundai Ioniq spyshots

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• sejibik Proton Gen2 hybrid

• Koreans Workers vs Proton Workers on Jan 08, 2016 at 9:38 am

Amazing how Hyundai can come up with a superb modern looking car. I wonder why Proton cannot come up with such a good car?

See below and you will know why Proton is a failure.

Korean workers :
      “We must work hard. We must focus in our work. We take pride in our products and must deliver excellent quality. Only then, we can enjoy our remuneration for the hard work done. We must aim to be more hardworking than our other Korean car plants. We must be better than even the Japanese!”

Proton Malaysia workers:

“Rilak lah bang, buat apa nak keje ni. rilak lah, nanti boleh buat. Letih lah ni, mari meh tido sekejap kat bilik stor, boss takde ni. Eh tengok awek kilang cun tu, bess lah dapat kongkek dia. Syok. Jom lah, mari pegi kantin minum teh dan makan kuih lapis. Tak payah keje kuat ni, kerajaan nanti tolong. Buat apa keje kuat ni? Nanti kerajaan mesti order Proton banyak banyak, pasti jual. Aku nak tengok awek kilang lah, nak dapat isteri lebih”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Dr Mamak on Jan 08, 2016 at 10:35 am

Blardy kopikat

• hadi ramli on Jan 07, 2016 at 6:41 pm

lawa betul.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
    • Fugley on Jan 07, 2016 at 8:22 pm

Ugly. Front design and back mismatched like 20 different part pasted together

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
      • Shion on Jan 07, 2016 at 10:09 pm

At least a lot better looking that the other EV cars that the manufacturers think look cooler flat backs. Tails are sexy, gentlemen. Cutting weight at the expense of appearance is a terrible idea.

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 08, 2016 at 12:35 am

No doubt it will be the worst RV models from kimchi world. I don’t even wanna accept the Ioniq trade in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
          • Low Budget on Jan 08, 2016 at 10:59 am

Nobody cares except the Toyota die hard uncles and aunties.

• blast off on Jan 07, 2016 at 11:54 pm

does ur face so similiar to ur butt….

• To Fugly on Jan 08, 2016 at 9:01 am

Please share what handsome car are you driving?

• eddie3 on Jan 08, 2016 at 9:12 am

design ok what…can’t please everyone…as if you can design better than this

• Same Lorrrr on Jan 08, 2016 at 7:54 am

Give me free also i dont want. Worse RV than my son saga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
      • Same L0rrrr on Jan 08, 2016 at 3:59 pm

Bullshit imitator. If I have a Saga at home, I will give out for free. Who likes to keep junk at home?

• Salesman on Jan 10, 2016 at 3:29 pm

let me know where your house, i want take saga from your apartment

• hadi ramli on Jan 07, 2016 at 6:42 pm

cantikk…cantik.

• Hyundai Ironic

• shawal on Jan 07, 2016 at 7:04 pm

prius vs ioniq in the next driven episode…

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jan 07, 2016 at 7:20 pm

But the spec tak lawa… Macam underpowered aje compared to Prius… That guzzly Krappa engine alone probably makes it 11km/L or 9.1L/100km… Together with the power pack, I’ll give it 14km/L or 7.15/100km at best…

Buy Toyota hybrid or Conti turbo better…

• Proton better lah than this junk.

• Andrekua on Jan 07, 2016 at 9:34 pm

Will this be cheap if it gets EEV?

• horrayooi on Jan 07, 2016 at 9:37 pm

The Koreans don’t save on transmission cost. 6 speed dsg. THE Japs always cut cost. They give us miserable 4 speed auto for Vios.Imagine 2 speeds less. How do you feel. I hope next Vios model to have 6 speed auto. I will buy. Wake up Toyota. Takata airbags problem.Accelerator problems not very long ago.

• Perspectives on Jan 07, 2016 at 10:36 pm

It’s funny to see that Americans dislike the car’s design while in Malaysia, people love it…meh.

• Sammy Loo on Jan 07, 2016 at 11:13 pm

This junk will not have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • eddie3 on Jan 08, 2016 at 9:12 am

this is a copy and paste statement that comes from the same person. obviously nobody believes you when you overdo it.

• blast off on Jan 08, 2016 at 9:13 am

I will reserve my comments on rv…wait untill they will competing head to head with ur butt face new prius

• Sammy Loo on Jan 13, 2016 at 1:38 am

you can slowly wait while the Prius is already selling like hotcakes

• KonkeyDong on Jan 08, 2016 at 9:02 am

Thought it was Accordana.