RON 100 fuel in Malaysia – what does it mean to you?

Petron Blaze 100 Euro 4M launch-4

The launch of Petron Blaze 100 Euro 4M fuel in Malaysia has raised the interest and curiosity of many drivers. Aside from the price, which has attracted its own set of supporters and detractors, many have asked about the possible benefits, and curiously, the drawbacks of using RON 100 on a regular basis.

Among the many questions are whether the increased octane number will harm the engine, or the engine needs re-tuning. The answer, as with many things car related, is both simple and hard.

Let’s go back to chemical engineering 101 for a moment. RON stands for Research Octane Number. This number represents the ‘knock-resistance’ of the fuel. Knocking is the car world’s slang term for premature ignition or detonation.

This is when fuel in the combustion chamber ‘explodes’ before it is supposed to, giving rise to a ‘knocking’ or ‘pinging’. This is not a good thing in combustion engines, especially those running on petrol. A holed piston is the usual result, with the expensive overhaul that follows.

High performance engines, running high compression ratios, are prone to detonation when using low RON fuel. It might also be surprising to learn that older, low compression engines are also prone to detonation, but the reasons why they happen are different.

Most modern engines, with Programmable Fuel Injection (PGM-FI), are able to run on RON numbers as low as 88, and as high as 103. But, if the manufacturer classifies the engine as high performance, with high-compression pistons or a turbocharger, a minimum RON will be specified to prevent detonation, and damage to the engine.

For an older engine, running on carburettors, detonation occurs with low RON fuel because carbon build-up in the combustion chamber allows ‘hot-spots’ to develop, creating conditions where detonation can occur, especially on a hot day and under load.

The ECU will take readings from the knock sensor when detonation occurs, and retard or advance the ignition timing accordingly. There is a limit to the level of adjustment, of course, hence most manufacturers will put a little sticker on the inside of the fuel-filler cap saying the minimum fuel the engine will take.

Petron-Blaze-100-Euro4M-launch-4_BM

Another thing is the calorific capacity, or the energy contained in the fuel and released when it is burned, is specific. Hence, the amount of power available from burning the fuel is a finite number, and RON has no bearing on that.

What is intended with high RON numbers is the ability to run the engine at high compression ratios and advanced ignition timing. However, a high compression ratio usually means a very small combustion chamber volume, which leads to detonation.

So, does a normal, normally-aspirated, four-cylinder family sedan require RON 100 petrol? Probably not, because the cost of fuel will outweigh the the possible benefits of the possible power increase. Not all modern turbo engines will require high RON fuel either, because the boost pressure, sized for efficiency rather than performance, does not need it.

Will the ECU need re-flashing or the engine re-tuned because there’s RON 100 in the fuel tank? Again, probably not, because the ECU will advance the ignition to the brink of detonation, and no more. Once it reaches the limit of advance, the rest of the RON 100 will simply be blown out the exhaust as un-burnt fuel (which is another bad thing in and of itself).

Mercedes-Benz A 45 AMG 59

The benefit of running RON 100 is primarily for very high-performance engines, or performance motorcycle engines, where heavy loads are placed on the high-compression engine that allow it to produce huge hp figures.

While using a lower RON fuel in a high performance engine may cause reliability issues in the long run or a loss of power, what will not happen is damage to the engine because of using RON 100 fuel or any higher RON than what is recommended. Nor is there any necessity for engine tuning, unless running a highly-modded engine, or the engine’s manufacturer calls for it.

The long and short of it is, high performance engines may benefit to a higher degree from using fuel with a higher RON number, while the perceived increase in performance will not be as noticeable in a less powerful engine.

As for those who think using RON 100 will damage your engine, science says otherwise.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Oh mak lu cina on Jan 15, 2016 at 8:25 pm

“Once it reaches the limit of advance, the rest of the RON 100 will simply be blown out the exhaust as un-burnt fuel (which is another bad thing in and of itself).”

Once fuel is burnt how can there be unburnt fuel?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 35
    • When you combust you memang can’t and don’t burn everything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
      • Oh mak lu cina on Jan 15, 2016 at 11:05 pm

Once you combust, all fuel is burnt. Saying there is unburnt fuel implies that if you take a lighter and light up the fumes in the exhaust it will catch fire. No, it won’t because there is no unburnt fuel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 56
        • Another factor to consider is the EURO grade and sulphur level. The diesel and RON97 is already EURO4 standard.

But the public’s RON95 still on EURO2 !!!!

• Cheap Fuel on Jan 17, 2016 at 10:37 am

Yea, low grade with high sulfur content makes a hell out of the engine

• Polo owner on Jan 16, 2016 at 7:52 pm

Some amount of fuel is not burnt, hence the existence of a pollutant called UHC (unburnt hydrocarbon) in exhaust gases. A better designed engine has lower UHC, and vice versa. Operating conditions, e.g. engine speed, also affects UHC levels.

• lengfan on Jan 17, 2016 at 1:09 pm

just look those GT Race car exhaust got fire out ,thats mean fuel dont have 100% burned ,when meet hot exhaust , get firing. there is NO 100% perfect burn for every cycle of engine running.

• Celicazz on Jan 17, 2016 at 12:52 pm

Not enough oxygen to cause fire lah…

Chemical Engineering 101 lah…

• Anonymous on May 03, 2022 at 6:35 pm

No oxygen nothing can burn, without oxygen there will be no fire

• yeah…i think the author are new…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 40
      • Jarred on Jan 16, 2016 at 6:46 am

Your grammar is wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 9
        • JB_KIA on Jan 16, 2016 at 1:20 pm

ingat sini british council kaa? understand sudah laa???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 73
          • Village mentality. That’s why Proton sucks. Sudah working, OK OK la. Keep standards low, rilek je.

We should strive for higher standard.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 10
      • Troll on Jan 16, 2016 at 8:19 am

Better read up on stoichiometric ratio before showing ignorance in public…

• You dun burn 100% of the fuel during combustion, even worse when you have premature detonation. The rest of the unburnt fuel will exit out from ur exhaust. The writer skipped to explain this becoz he expects those who come here knows. Apparently most dont & come only to bash mindlessly

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 2
        • George Abdul on Jan 16, 2016 at 10:41 am

This john spoke the right thing… The other john(fake) only know to protect cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
          • Sorry Georgey boy. Im not that RBA john. DAP onli paid him to work 5 days a week. No OT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
          • George Abdul on Jan 17, 2016 at 12:42 pm

Boyish john, don’t even know who’s real or fake… and don’t even care!

• i’m not talking about your catburated kancil, i’m talking about my directly injected Beamer where alamost 100% of fuel is burned… i’m not shtupid, thats why i introduce gst…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 33
          • Tried to be funny but failed. Najib is more of a Benz fan than BMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • Mat Kulup on Jan 16, 2016 at 3:37 pm

Jib, kipidap Dongibap Yukenduit.

• go back secondary and ask your bio and physic teacher offer you the studies again

• Blown out the exhouse as unburnt fuel.

Blown = blow out not burn…..
      overall meaning will blow out from exhaust as un-burnt fuel.

• Tin Kosong on Jan 15, 2016 at 8:37 pm

Believe it or not, there will always be people who intentionally fill up with the most expensive fuel to get more power or just to brag about it. They need to read this article to know how wrong they are to think that higher RON equal to higher power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
    • Well, it could be true for direct injection cars. If the car detects that its using a higer ron fuel, the ecu will inject more fuel into piston chamber since knocking is less prone to happen

• Tin Kosong on Jan 15, 2016 at 11:51 pm

Yes, engines like the Skyactive family with very high compression ratio will benefit from higher RON. But I believe RON97 is already good enough. RON100 is for highly-tuned, high performance engines. Engines like those in a Ferrari 458 or in a tuned GT-R.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
        • thefact on Jan 16, 2016 at 11:52 am

BMW, Mercedes, Audi, VW are also running on DI (Direct injection) engine..

whats the author fails is this…

Euro 4M RON 100, does it do anything to a modern high performance engine that needs Euro 6 fuel??

• alldisc on Jan 16, 2016 at 6:19 pm

Hi. To answer your question – not necessarily. But our fuel quality is way down lown especially the euro 2 ron95. The high content of sulphur is most likely to clogged the injectors.

This was realised some 10 yrs ago when car importers tried to bring in recond Toyota Nadia D4 which is DI along with wish D4 and also Camry D4. But they suddenyl disappeared from the market due to problems arising with clogged injectors

• Lance on Jan 17, 2016 at 10:06 am

Only direct injection engines will have benefit.Most conti and even Mazda Skyactiv which has the highest compression ratio will have the advantage of using this fuel.

• drMpower on Jan 15, 2016 at 8:40 pm

While it may not damage your engine using higher RON product may damage your wallet content. This is absolutely true that higher RON does not mean the combustion is any better than the minimum required RON.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on Jan 15, 2016 at 8:53 pm

Does my BMW F30 330i need RON100??? Please share with me. Coz just brought it and still 50-50 whether need to pump RON 100 or not. Thanks for sharing bros

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 42
    • KeretaKuda on Jan 15, 2016 at 9:38 pm

To summerise the whole article, when your engine (its brain) don’t need to give any compensation, or in other word, is able to run at its most ideal setup at all rev range, you’ll get the most out of what your machine has to offer. And when you are running very expensive machine, would you settle for defeciencies?

• I like to think the engine of a car is like its heart and the human who driving it is the brain

• nah bmw on Jan 15, 2016 at 9:39 pm

Stupid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • Petron Malaysia on Jan 15, 2016 at 9:47 pm

Yes, you do need to pump our RON100 Euro 4’M’ fuel for better performance, efficiency and protection to your advanced engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • seancorr (Member) on Jan 16, 2016 at 1:31 pm

Nope u don’t, RON97 is good enough for the average BMW engine but if you’re driving any of the true M vehicles then it will benefit from it.

• Mazlan385 on Jan 16, 2016 at 2:11 pm

Your BMW need ron97. However, My Ferarri would definitely need RON100…

• Cybermaster98 on Jan 18, 2016 at 8:40 am

Most BMW’s even the 7 Series are designed to run on RON95 or lower. Your F30 is no difference. Don’t even bother filling up with RON97.

• KeretaKuda on Jan 15, 2016 at 9:12 pm

Just bring it to Kota Bharu!!!

• KeretaKuda on Jan 15, 2016 at 9:44 pm

I swear even my kapchai will have it…

• KB fuel on Mar 18, 2016 at 10:34 pm

90 % fuel in kt bharu sucks. Even Ron97. Something very wrong with the fuel. Think the fuels there is adulterated.

• Before this Malaysia don’t have any Ron 100 fuel? Shell V Power Racing isn’t RON 100? then those Lamborghini Ferrari normal using what fuel?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • KeretaKuda on Jan 15, 2016 at 11:08 pm

As written in this article, modern engines got brains so that they can stomach as low as Ron88 fuel, with of course reduced output, but still not damaging the engine. Read the article in full okey…

• VTEC-Killa on Jan 15, 2016 at 9:40 pm

VTEC after pump will becomes i-VTEC, whole i-VTEC after pump will becomes Advance VTEC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • “However, a high compression ratio usually means a very small combustion chamber volume, which leads to detonation.”

“Once it reaches the limit of advance, the rest of the RON 100 will simply be blown out the exhaust as un-burnt fuel”

the concept are wrong….or i’m stupid…

• first of all, high compression engine doesn’t necessarily have small combustion chamber.. it is the ratio of swept + combustion chamber volume to the volume of combustion chamber itself. So, small combustion chamber doesn’t always mean high compression..and small combustion chamber will not cause knocking..

next, the advance that you mean are the degree of advance of the ignition..basically, more advanced the degree of spark means more power but the engine will be more susceptible to knocking because of high pressure caused by the advancement…but trust me, there is no correlation between degree of advancement with unburnt fuel…the fuel will only become unburnt when the air-fuel mixture are wrong…

• intermilan on Jan 18, 2016 at 11:47 am

Hahaha.. Suddenly jib become smart! Better this way. Pandai jangan simpan sorang sorang.

But still, as you are on it… there are info u left out.

Should explain more details on ignition timing.

Then people understand it’s relation to compression ratio. And then with RON.

Some details on AFR too.

• cucuin on Jan 15, 2016 at 11:04 pm

Why spend more if RON95 just fine!. Better to have more petrol in the tank rather than more money for less petrol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Pedophile on Jan 16, 2016 at 12:38 am

This is the type of people looking into quantity. We call them quantitier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • seancorr (Member) on Jan 16, 2016 at 1:36 pm

Yep it’s fine for the Protons, Hyundais, Toyotas but when u start owning any premium vehicle with forced induction engines, the cheap fuel ur pumping will cause issues to your engine later in life.

• john (umno) on Jan 16, 2016 at 5:11 pm

Cheap. Rich guy just change car sooner in life

• Amelia on Jan 17, 2016 at 2:42 pm

Aren’t you referring to sulfur content in the fuel though – and not the RON number?

• jazee on Jan 15, 2016 at 11:38 pm

If your car has pick issue or bumping empty your tank and fill ron100. Your engine will be cleaned so do plug.
    After that you can use ordinary fuel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • Ben yap on Jan 16, 2016 at 1:05 am

Pumping ron100 is a waste of money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • Repairing a high performance engine that ran on RON95 after track day is even more expensive

• Anak Malaysia on Jan 16, 2016 at 6:33 am

Apa yg payah sngt nak paham. Lagi tinggi RON, lagi “lembut”(susah nak ignite when compress) minyak tu. RON tinggi ni paling sesuai utk engine mampatan tinggi atau high performance engine – turbo etc. Dgn kata lain, Kebanyakan kereta biasa engine natural aspirated pakai ron 95 pun dah cukup, tak ada faedah dr segi performance, selain membazir duit beli minyak mahal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
    • Yg aku faham, walaupun harga minyak mentah dunia dah turun ke paras terendah, harga minyak kat malaysia tak reti2 nk turun…

• Nah. Bagi ko http://paultan.org/2015/12/31/january-2016-fuel-prices-ron-95-97-diesel-all-down/

• komarad on Jan 18, 2016 at 9:53 am

exora turbo???

• Jeffrey Ng on Jan 16, 2016 at 8:10 am

Much that fuel burns quickly, at very high engine speed, there are almost always not enough time for it to burn completely.

There will always be some unburnt fuel hence the need for Exhaust Gas Recirculation (EGR) valve. It sends unburnt fuel in the form of fuel vapour back into the intake port of the engine for burning rather than spewing it out to the atmosphere.

• intermilan on Jan 18, 2016 at 11:57 am

Question.

engine of standard mill japanese car like vios, city etc got EGR ke?

• Just my lima sen on Jan 16, 2016 at 8:56 am

Higher The RON means that the more compression that fuel can withstand. High performance engines usually will have higher compression, which might cause more pressure and heat in the combustion chamber. If using lower RON in this situation, the mixture of AF which is compressed might detonated / exploded by the high heat in the combustion chamber before the spark plug started to ignite. This self detonate might cause engine knocking or pinging which may damage the engine in long run. Bear in mind that the higher RON does not means higher energy.

• Gavin Y on Jan 16, 2016 at 9:28 am

I would have written the article in FAQ style:

Q : is your car a performance car ?
    A : No, you don’t need RON100

End

Now every tom dick harry will start asking oh my car turbo now i must use RON100, because no one reads the article properly.

By the way, compression ratio is not equal to small combustion chamber, that’s completely wrong, what your saying is a 1.0L cubic capacity car will have higher compression ratio because of smaller space. You can have a 4.0L V8 and still have high compression ratio.

That is a ratio not a physical attribute. Compression ratio can be increase with domed pistons, thinner gaskets but still have a big cubic capacity

• Ollie on Jan 18, 2016 at 12:01 pm

Agree. But you’re confusing combustion chamber capacity with cylinder capacity. Google it.

• Muahahaha on Jan 16, 2016 at 9:37 am

Jibby will use this!

• anonymous on Jan 16, 2016 at 10:01 am

Whether you believe or not, there are still people gonna driving not-high-performance car to pump this RON100.

I personally believe RON 97 is good enough for your car as it is already EURO 4M, definitely gives you smoother acceleration and better longevity of your engine.

• gaviny on Jan 16, 2016 at 10:56 am

People will feel there is a difference but it’s not because of RON rating but because of the additive package used. Petron will most likely have a much much better additive package for the RON100 compared to regular 95 and 97.

This is to ensure to give a slight psychological effect that RON100 is superior on normal cars.

• anonymous on Jan 16, 2016 at 12:00 pm

Exactly but to me, Euro grade should be the primary concern for the average car out there. I would pump RON 97 sometimes due to its significant reduction of sulphur content as compared to our current Euro 2M RON 95. One day when RON 95 comes as Euro 4 grade, I will stick to RON 95 as if I continue driving a non-performance oriented vehicles.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 16, 2016 at 1:40 pm

The high price will deter most of them anyway. Who can sustain pumping RON100 all the time apart from owners of Ferraris and Lamborghinis? Those owners will truly benefit from using this fuel type and that’s why Petron brought it in the first place so that they can switch from Shell with it’s ‘minimum RON97’ Racing fuel is which is kind of a rip off if u ask me.

• Gracke on Jan 16, 2016 at 10:14 am

It’s time now to buy Porsche, Mclaren, Lamborghini, Ferrari, Maserati, Aston Martin…..

• C70HondaOnly on Jan 16, 2016 at 11:02 am

After reading all the ‘wise’ comment here, those MyVi will surely use RON100 after this, and become MyVantado

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Muahaha on Jan 16, 2016 at 8:22 pm

Not oni myvi, kapcai n mini 1976 oso will use it…. Muahaha

• so in short just leave it to the supercars to pump ron100…end of story

• GovernmentPlanToSuckYourBloodAgain on Jan 16, 2016 at 11:48 am

I don’t really like government to touch anything related to petrol, because “It Will Never Be A Good Thing”. Since most of the people are using low petrol consumption car, so they probably introduce this expensive petrol to eliminate the RON95 as they don’t feel getting the money from RON95 anymore since it is getting cheaper. So I would say “Keep it to yourself, and I don’t appreciate this DAMM RON100”.

• Blazer on Jan 16, 2016 at 11:58 am

Is the additive different than the one in blaze 97?

• thefact on Jan 16, 2016 at 12:00 pm

seriously im laughing of people thinking RON 100 is good for their cars…

again … it only works for high performance engine..
    like a full modded WRX, or a 488 GTB or a GT3.

any other cars like even a NEW BMW 330 or a 318 or Mercedes E250 or any other wont make a difference. they are all tuned for the fuel here.

u will feel good cause it more like a placebo effect. but if u fill it without knowing it, u wont feel a thing..

and the reality is, we need Euro 5 RON 95…EURO 5 minimum for our new engines for better environment.

and for your info.
    Australia = RON 91, 95, 98
    Singapore = RON 92,95,98
    USA = RON 90, 95 and some places 98

n by the way its all unleaded…

• U r rite…. Lot of nasi lemak mindsets in our land… They think throwing money anyhow can get gud things juz like our gomen!

• If u din eat nasi lemak in ur life and never plan to, then ur not Malaysian so this does not qualify ur opinion

• Jibby on Jan 18, 2016 at 10:11 am

RON95 in boleh land is not on par with others countries.
      pls take note on MON, AKI standards.
      RON95 available in malaysia could be RON87-92 standards in others countries.

• C.P.MOHAN on Jan 16, 2016 at 1:14 pm

I thought doing multiple jobs is to survive the rising cost of living. Hope not a “trick” to increase fuel prices by saying no stock of RON 95/97 only RON 100 available.

• Compression on Jan 16, 2016 at 1:25 pm

As reference:
    Compression ratio for :
    2015 Honda accord 2.0 vti – 10.6

Honda FD2 Type R 2.0 – 11.7
    ref: http://www.fd2.org/fd2-honda-civic-type-r-specs/

2012 Honda CBR1000RR – 12.3
    ref : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Honda_CBR1000RR

and just for kicks,
    2015 Mazda 6 2.5 (atkinson cycle) – 13.0

2015 BMW S1000RR – 13.0

2015 BMW M4 (twin turbo) – 10.4

So it shows that in order for a compression to be “high” is also relative to the type of engine it runs. i believe most modern turbo engine can and will benefit from higher RON but (like the article states) up to a certain point, such as the 1.0l Ford ecoboost engines.

another issue to note is that higher intake air temperature also affects engine knocking, like the recent 38-40 deg afternoons, many modern cars feel sluggish because it retards it’s ignition to try n prevent knock. this is when high RON will help, which is why some people feel their car have more “power” and “response” because if you fill up during hot afternoons, and you were using 95 and topped up using 97, the feeling is obvious.

• Amelia on Jan 17, 2016 at 2:55 pm

Good info!

Though I would point out that modern “atkinson cycle” isn’t actually the original design from James Atkinson – they actually still use the Otto Cycle but use valve timing to make the intake/compression stroke lesser than the combustion stroke.

In fact Mr.Atkinson would have done this but he would have had to pay Mr.Otto for patents

• Toffee on Jan 16, 2016 at 3:10 pm

I currently use Sheel V Power Xtra on my classic mini 998 cc. 1976.
    I will try this if it is brought closer home tht is in Klang. Right now I have to drive to the Shell Station Klang bound near Subang on the Federal Highway or the Shell Station Klang bound on the Kesas shighway aat Bukit Jalil.
    Whoever comes to Klang will find a decent crowd waiting for a fill.

• V power xtra? Whats the ron? How much is it?

• Bolehland on Jan 16, 2016 at 8:18 pm

Ur 1976 car fill in water oso can la… No need to overdo like showing ur difficulties fill up v-power…stupidity at it level

• Lim Kit Siang on Jan 16, 2016 at 4:44 pm

How can you say that there is no power difference between the usage of lower and higher rons fuel?? there were people running test for ron 95 and ron97 on a Perodua My-vi.. and there is difference but just the result is contradicting with general’s assumption. Surprisingly, My-vi running on higher ron is producing less power…. I just forgot who did that test…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Bolehland on Jan 16, 2016 at 8:14 pm

Gomen should abolish all other ron and sell this only…. Malaysia kan kaye raye with jibby leadership.

• Is it suitable for Perodua?

• ss engineering and tuning on Jan 17, 2016 at 8:44 am

RON 100 tuning and mapping for mitsubishi and skyactiv 2.0 and 2.5 are now under development.

From my point of view as a tuner and regular user of methanol injection(RON105(estimation)) has always benefits the high RON to increase the torque&hp

1) Mitsubishi NA/Turbo car required remap/reflash tuning to fully benefit 100% the high octane/Ron fuel as Mitsu’s have passive knock control and only have 2 base map for ignition timing

At high knock ignition timing will be retard.But no auto advance ignition timing.

Examples:(mitsu’s car)
    @6000rpm/load 100 ign advance base map is 20″
    1)High knock detected–> ign adv timing drop to 10″
    2)No knock detected–>ign adv timing will maintain at 20″

On the other hand
    2)Mazda Skyactiv has 3 map setting

which uses active knock algorithm which listen to knock, if knock is not detected more advance ignition timing will be add which increase the torque and hp.Still a remap/reflash is required to further open up the Max igntion timing advance for RON100 or RON105(race fuel or methanol user) for more torque and hp gain.

Examples: (skyactiv’s car)
    @6000rpm/load 100 ign advance base map is at 20″
    1)High knock detected–> ign adv timing drop to 10″
    2)No knock detected–>ign adv timing will igo to base at 20″
    3)No further knock detected–>ign adv timing will be further add and now is at 22″

Plus 2′ deg ignition advance on new NA cars equivalant to 4~6hp gain.Imagine adding 4,6 or 8deg advance ignition…

RON 100 remap tuning are now under development for Mitsus and Mazda.(With dyno data and street log of course)

• lkf0512 on Jan 17, 2016 at 8:54 am

Normal daily/city drive – RON 95 (if only they have RON 92)

Highway – RON 97

• alldisc on Jan 17, 2016 at 12:22 pm

Take note Mr author that PGM-FI is a trademark of HONDA, its their term of what EFI is to the world.
    Just like how HONDA used to call ABS as ALB or anti lock brakes system. There is a need to be different from everyone else.

The term PGM stands for programmed.
    Not programmable. It has 2 different meanings.

• Amelia on Jan 17, 2016 at 2:29 pm

Mohan, could you post a more detailed explainer about the advancing of the ignition and how it works?

I thought that when the engine detects a knock, the ECU would keep the intake valve closed for a bit longer during the intake stroke in an attempt to reduce the volume of fuel+air mixture thereby reducing the pressure later in the compression stroke. The reduction in pressure would mean lower temperatures when it’s compressed thus preventing the knocking.

• Adrian Wong on Jan 17, 2016 at 7:12 pm

We need to kill this stupid Higher RON = More Performance myth. Seriously. If your car don’t need it, there is ZERO benefit from the higher octane rating alone – http://www.techarp.com/articles/octane-rating-myth-please-die-already/

• People only prepare choices.. wanna use or not.. yr choice..

This la problem… malaysian condem so much.. hehehe… complain nasi goreng lambat la.. canai pedas la… air manis laa.. weeii deeii woiii… masak sendiri la… in dis case.. buat minyak sendiri la…

Cannot.. dont condemn… sorg cakap sorg sorg cakap sorang.. sorang topic minyak dunia..sorang topic politic… sakit la weii… ppl like this la can create things like isis what not.. see now i masuk topic isis..

Point was… people prepare.. ur choice.. want use.. use.. don wan.. use another.. nobody force u.. want cheaper.. get electric car.. car expensive bill murah.. no need to rebut with people…

Sekian…

• Jibby on Jan 18, 2016 at 10:21 am

For Jibby ride, pump any fuel will do.
    Engine knocking, Broken? change another car.
    95/97/100? Doesn’t matter. Jibby got billions and never spend money on fuel.
    However, little jibby may consider this for his Bugatti Veyron.

• Hasmadi on Jan 18, 2016 at 2:41 pm

i heard before ron99 but dont where to get.

Now ron100, my friend already tried.
    Honda Wave 125. easily can reach 120km/h

• Ken Ching on Jan 18, 2016 at 3:16 pm

Majority people are not owning high end super-car but of course most of everyone dream it.

So just give a try at least once (super-car fuel) though you are driving normal car and share your experienced here after used it.

It is good if you have some comparison figure from computer or anything trustable and not by your feeling.

Let’s rolling.

• mazda fab on Jan 18, 2016 at 3:39 pm

I think Mazda skyactive owner should try this since the car has unusually high compression ratio.

• Fafau80 on Mar 18, 2016 at 4:55 pm

Talk too much…have your KANCIL try this RON100? Or perhaps it just suit RON JEREMY MOJO =)

• Razif on Aug 03, 2017 at 11:01 pm

Well for normal engines (usually those below 2liter) I suppose 95 will do.

I am debating with myself and most likely I will only use Ron 100 from now on, this is mainly because I have a 4L NA engine (not turbo) with a high 12:1 compression ratio. Idk if it will help but it might does with that high of a com ratio. With not so high ratio, even for high performance cars (most likely turbo engines, I think 97 is good).

• Papa Chemi on Sep 12, 2017 at 8:40 pm

Actually in chemistry, the petrol is burnt completely (as a whole), but the combustion of fuel can be incomplete (due to insufficient oxygen) as the air surrounding us contains only 21% of oxygen, but often less.

• Rohit Modi on Sep 24, 2017 at 1:54 pm

Is palm oil used as a fuel in vehicles of malaysia?