Toyota Camry Hybrid – price unchanged for 2016

2015_Toyota_Camry_Hybrid_Malaysia_ 003

Pricing for the Toyota Camry Hybrid will remain unchanged throughout the year 2016, UMW Toyota has announced. It will carry on with the same price tag of RM174,900, as it still qualifies for the Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) incentive under the National Automotive Policy (NAP).

UMW Toyota president Datuk Ismet Suki said the company was glad that the hybrid incentive was extended for the Camry Hybrid – which is the first Toyota hybrid model assembled in Malaysia – until the end of 2016.

That said, the price will remain only throughout the year 2016. “At this point, however, we can only confirm the continuation of the same price for the whole of 2016. For the year to follow, we will need to have discussion with the relevant government ministries again,” he explained.

camry-pm-ipte

On January 1, UMW Toyota increased prices of most of its vehicles, with the hikes ranging from RM3,170 to RM9,598. Vios variants have gone up by 3.2% to 4.3%, while Hilux models saw a higher increase between 5.8% to 8.6%. The depreciation of the ringgit against the US dollar was said to be the main factor behind the higher prices.

The D-segment Camry Hybrid is the range-topping variant in the local Camry model line-up. The hybrid sedan sports a 2.5 litre VVT-i engine that produces 160 PS and 213 Nm, and the mill is mated to an electronically-controlled continuously variable transmission (E-CVT). As mentioned, it’s price at RM174,900, on-the-road including GST sans insurance, while the battery pack comes with an eight-year warranty.

GALLERY: Toyota Camry 2.5 Hybrid

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Datuk Lawrence's Assistant on Jan 15, 2016 at 1:47 pm

Toyota’s sales also unchanged

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • UMW Big Cheats- Untung RM100k per Car on Jan 15, 2016 at 2:33 pm

This is a tactic to force people to buy the Hybrid. They price the normal Camry now at RM165k, so people think, just add RM10k more for a Hybrid. It is a marketing tactic to earn more money from Malaysians.

The Camry Hybrid in US is US$26k. Even when last year exchange rate was 3.5 (RM85k), UMW was selling the car at RM175k. And this was the tax free incentive price for Hybrids. Come to Malaysia NO TAX!

Of course their margin was even higher. Being country distributor, Toyota Japan would give UMW the Camry Hybrid for about US$18k. Then UMW CKD the car, the price drops even further, to about US$15k. So last year, each Camry Hyrbid sold, UMW margin was over RM100k as RM15k x 3.5 = about RM50k

This year also, the margin is quite high also Price US$15k x 4.3= about RM70k. So, UMW is probably making the same RM100k clean profit from each car sold. Maybe just RM20k less.

So, what happened to Najib’s promise to give the rakyat 30% reduction in car prices? Government owned UMW should ask Najib why they cannot sell the Camry for below RM100k to the rakyat.

By right, last year, the factory price of the Camry Hybrid was RM50k. how much more UMW want to cheat Malaysians?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
      • alldisc on Jan 15, 2016 at 2:54 pm

You can say whatever you want but Toyota is still the number 1 worldwide and also the top non national brand in Malaysia. Who cares about stupid airbags and VSC. Brand image is much more important and driving a Toyota is the top luxury brand here with highest RV of all vehicles with top notch reliability and after sales services. You will never go wrong with a Toyota!
        You will probably never get to use the airbags or VSC anyway so why bother. However with bodykit, leather seats and DRL you get to use it daily and see it daily so its actually much more worth the money. Sportivo bodykit is top notch compared to fugly design of Mugen, Modulo, Impul and Nismo. Why would anyone want lousy fabric seats like in Honda when you can have luxurious leather seats in Toyota!
        Sure recently there was a bit of a price increase but at least you will rest assured that your Toyota will last a lifetime!

So don’t be a foolish customer and go for lousy gimmicks like those offered in the inferior Honda and be smart like me choose a Toyota.

I am smart for choosing Toyota.

Be like me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 66
        • Kimchi ftw on Jan 15, 2016 at 3:52 pm

Toyota is a very good brand, just the stupid UMW make it become bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • paulnut on Jan 15, 2016 at 6:04 pm

It is Sam Loo the uncle sales man that made it bad since he is so arrogant and has no integrity at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
          • Ex Sam Loo colleague on Jan 15, 2016 at 7:37 pm

We used to work together, nobody in the office like him. Very arrogant sales man.

• alldisc loser on Jan 15, 2016 at 3:14 pm

only a loser will be happy with a low safety car. A loser rather see his children and family become vegetable than his RV

• alldisc on Jan 17, 2016 at 12:37 pm

Beware of fake alldisc. Hehehe.. Trying to sound like me with good English. But good to know I have a fan.

• 175k go for A3 already, y need use that hard earn money buy lousy Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Proton achieving 13% TIV in 2016 on Jan 15, 2016 at 2:43 pm

But A3 so small interior woh. Uncle looking for Camry wouldn’t look at A3 if he wants to shop for Audi, more like A4 or A6.

As much as I dislike Toyota, this Camry Hybrid is a league of its own. Full safety package, brisk acceleration, fuel saving and it doesn’t comes with the sampan handling that is associated with other Camrys, all thanks to its batteries that “upset’ the Camry’s weight distribution. Nice ” upset” if you ask me.

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Jan 15, 2016 at 3:09 pm

Why isn’t car prices going down? Very simple. It is because of Songlapping. Malaysia is actually a very rich country IF there is no songlapping. Malaysia is far richer than Singapore because we got oil, gas, tin, rubber, gold, bauxite, iron, kelapa, kurpum, copper etc. Singapore has ZERO. Why is Singapore richer than Malaysia? Again, very simple, it is because of Songlapping.

In Malaysia, nearly all car companies are Government owned. Either directly or indirectly. And because of Songlapping, the Government needs to hantam the rakyat puas puas to get revenue.

One man can songlap RM2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM84 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor and given a Tunship. In Malaysia, you are rewarded for songlapping.

What about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

This is why we get higher car prices, higher tolls and higher fuel prices every year. Our guardians are more interested in Songlapping than fighting for the rakyat to get lower car prices, lower petrol prices and low toll charges.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Danny on Jan 15, 2016 at 2:04 pm

….. but but it’s using imported parts, no price increase? :-o

• Last year I was contemplating this model. Salesman was pressuring me to make sure I buy before end of the year as they said they are “unsure” if the exemption would continue this year.

Bloody UMW only announces extension this year, so that people get suckered into buying it last year. Now I can wait to buy it this year with possibly better deals.

I am smart.

Be like me.

• Toyota Moving Coffin on Jan 15, 2016 at 2:43 pm

In overseas, especially Indonesia, Toyota is highly respected. But in Malaysia, Toyota now has become a laughing stock. If you buy one, people secretly laugh at you thinking you are the dumbest person in town cause the Toyota is heavily stripped of its safety features. Now somemore, Picanto, comes with 6 airbags and can be safer than a Camry!

Malaysians already now know how Toyota has been cheating people. Until today, even RM165k Camry got no VSC and only 2 airbags. Paultan already wrote long article how vital VSC is 3 years ago and yet UMW don’t care a damn for our lives.

Global price of Camry 2.5 with 10 airbags and VSC is US$22,000. Besides VSC and 10 airbags, the global Camry has about 20 other safety features that is NOT in our Camry. These features are standard and free on the global Camry. our Camry RM160k also no VSC, and only 2 airbags.

UMW don’t care about your life. you die or vegetable, they don’t care, janji untung lebih. they take out safety features to save cost. Yet, they charge us 3x the global price of US$22k. We buy for RM180k a heavily stripped down car. Same with Altis. Same with Vios.

Worse still, it is CKD and Made in Malaysia. The price is even cheaper. If US Toyota is sold at US22k and still make a profit, you can bet that UMW will get this car at country distributor price of US15k. CKD it, it will be US$12k (about RM40k). But they sell to Malaysians for RM180k.

Camry Hybrid even better. US$26k. Come to Malaysia no tax. But sold for RM175k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Salesman on Jan 15, 2016 at 2:49 pm

So far no CNY deals from UMW for the Camry. If you’re smarter, you will buy a Teana, Mazda 6 or Accord

• Fastwork on Jan 15, 2016 at 4:32 pm

I like your name and believe everyone will greet you by calling your name in full.

• Sam Loo on Jan 15, 2016 at 5:00 pm

Consider a used Sonata. Very dai mai

• nonsense on Jan 17, 2016 at 10:48 pm

No discount then buy other models with discount?
        You buy car or buy discount?
        You don’t even know what you are buying…plz go to sleep and wake up early to school/work and make sure you earn your money buy a car and not discount.

• Sam Loo on Jan 15, 2016 at 5:02 pm

Head straight to a Hyundai showroom and get a Sonata instead.

Need more sorhais like you to prime the used kimchi market

• Chamberlain on Jan 15, 2016 at 3:01 pm

It’s retailed for only US$29K in the US or about RM129k. Why would they want to adjust their selling price in Malaysia? They’ve been making big profit since the launch of this Camry Hybrid!

• aikon on Jan 15, 2016 at 3:10 pm

probably their margins are more than enough to hedge against material increases while still allowing for a comfortable profit. thereby allowing them to maintain selling prices.

• Top salesman on Jan 15, 2016 at 3:15 pm

If u buy these cars when oter drivers saw u otr they will think u r:….

Toyoda-Genius
    Honda-Smart
    Nissan-Old uncle
    MAZDA-upcoming uncle
    Kia Hyundai-Ah Beng (smarter version who tink multi gadgets more important than RV)
    Ford/Chevy-Ah Beng (less smart version)
    Peugeot-Renault-Weirdos
    Proton-Loserz

• Sam Loo on Jan 15, 2016 at 5:03 pm

Toyoda-Genius
      Honda-Smart
      Nissan-Old uncle
      MAZDA-upcoming uncle
      Kia Hyundai-Sorhai Tai Lan Ngongs
      Ford/Chevy-Ah Beng (less smart version)
      Peugeot-Renault-Weirdos
      Proton-Loserz

• Kimchi ftw on Jan 15, 2016 at 3:42 pm

Why people buy Toyota?
    Because they listen people said Toyota has good RV. They don’t compare cars or do research. THEY JUST LISTEN !!!

• Sammy Loo on Jan 18, 2016 at 2:07 am

You may compare the Camry hybrid in terms of safety, fuel efficiency, maintenance cost, price, cost of ownership and last but not least, the RV with any other D-segment competitors in the market, definitely a good choice for this price.

• old dog on Jan 15, 2016 at 3:45 pm

Toyota without commercial vehicles sales sucks…

expect Toyota Japan take over soon from UMC cronies

• camtakpro on Jan 19, 2016 at 8:09 am

Obviously. If they were to change the price, how much more they want? People might as well just get other brands. LOL

Those car price is just market segmenting, nothing to do with hybrid exemption. >200k for Camry Hybrid LOLOL.

Toyota I challenge you to change the price higher!