VIDEO: 2015 Toyota Camry Hybrid walk-around tour

By now you’d already know what our walk-around video series is all about. This time, it’s the 2015 Toyota Camry Hybrid coming under our scrutiny, as part of UMW Toyota’s latest facelifted Camry range.

This isn’t a standard Toyota facelift, as the entire line-up has been given a major shake up. The 2.0 litre models sport a brand new VVTi-W engine and a six-speed automatic transmission (the archaic four-speeder has finally been retired), while the top-spec 2.5V variant has been replaced with this, the new Camry Hybrid.

So what’s new, and what’s not? Watch the video above as we explain all the differences between the three variants available: the RM150k 2.0E, RM160k 2.0G and RM175k Hybrid. Want to know more? Read our detailed review of the 2015 Toyota Camry, or check out CarBase.my for the all the specs and figures.

GALLERY: 2015 Toyota Camry Hybrid

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Kancil Hybrid on Apr 27, 2015 at 9:37 am

This is a good car. Congrats Sam Loo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
    • Sam L0rrrr on Apr 27, 2015 at 10:03 am

Thank you! Combining both 2.5cc engines + motor, it can matches the acceleration of Passat 1.8T now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
      • Gargantia on Apr 27, 2015 at 10:37 am

But the car still 150% expensive compare to the original price.

Soon including “Double taxes by Bolehland cronies”. Taxes duty + 100% Hybrid tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
        • Same L0rrrr on Apr 27, 2015 at 2:52 pm

Cars so expensive? Thanks to your beloved government.

Those who can afford that, will buy it straight and appreciate Toyota Hybrid technology.

Those who can’t afford that, will either talk east talk west complaining expensive, or keep the mouth shut work harder to improve their own income.

So which one is you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
        • YourStupid on Apr 28, 2015 at 8:32 am

How is this 150% more expensive? Normal petrol 2.5lt Camry cost RM180k+.

• alldisc on Apr 27, 2015 at 12:30 pm

the best exhaust emission level in its class here. bar none.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 27, 2015 at 10:12 am

finally one decent car from umw …that is until the tax duties exemption are gone…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
      • Gargantia on Apr 27, 2015 at 10:31 am

True, taxes duty + 100% Hybrid taxes = Owning a Hybrid car in Malaysia suffer “Double tax system by Bolehland industry”.

• Areyousure on Apr 27, 2015 at 10:41 am

The question is why 2.5cc ?
      I would fancy if 2.0cc Hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
      • Shaekey on Apr 27, 2015 at 11:27 am

I’m surprise readers of this site are still confused between liter (l) and cubic centimeter (cc). It’s 2.5l OR 2500cc NOT 2.5cc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • Get_The_Fact_Right on Apr 27, 2015 at 3:24 pm

Normally people use turbocharged small capacity to yield big output. But Toyota uses BIG capacity engine for power and depends on the electric motor to save back some fuel.

To RACE it: This gotta be extremely not economical
        To CRUISE it smoothly like uncle: This gotta be nice

• Same Lorr on Apr 27, 2015 at 12:02 pm

Haha! My favorite car!

• shawal on Apr 27, 2015 at 9:49 am

A very tempting proposition…
    Only limited to 7000 model and until year end…
    unless the cronys at UMW can pull out a cat in the bag and extend the hybrid tax exemptions well beyond 2015….

On the other hand, if the tax exemption stops this year, expect to see a new 2.0GX model next year with more kit count , and the E finally gets VSC and more airbags too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Very well spec and impressive indeed. In the end customer win. Consumer power at play here..

• Balls on Apr 27, 2015 at 10:27 am

Nice. With the upgraded specs and pricing… this will sell. Especially compared to Mazda 6 FL. If you are thinking of getting that, may as well consider the new Ford Mondeo. Great specs and better engine with lower roadtax.

• like or dislike? (that camry)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 27, 2015 at 11:06 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
  • alldisc on Apr 27, 2015 at 12:32 pm

now, we are all still spoilt for choices (those shopping for a new car in 170-200K segment)

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 27, 2015 at 10:46 pm

Rats, now I am in trouble.

Checked with Hyundai dealers and they mentioned no sales recorded for the Sonata for the past 3 days. Supply of used kimchis will be affected 12 months later.

Dam UMW for doing this to me

• TRD SPORTIVO on Apr 27, 2015 at 12:35 pm

Camry got trd sportivo kit or not???

• Nvr thought i will buy a Toyota.. now with this i am quite tempted !

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 27, 2015 at 10:35 pm

I would even encourage you to buy the Sonata/i45 new.

Bet you that within 12 months, you will come looking for me

• Sam, this is Hybrid, and with the battery life expiring in 8 years or so its dead weight. So what happens to its RV then ?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 28, 2015 at 8:26 am

Just check the US stats for 1st gen Prius was launched in early year 2000.

They only had less than 5% of battery failures after 15 years

• Sam L0rrrr on Apr 27, 2015 at 2:44 pm

Our TRD Kits just to make the kids happy only. Camry hybrid has good handling and power, no need to add the stupid spoiler already.

• Captain Obvious on Apr 27, 2015 at 8:52 pm

Bro.. can shave abit?

• Damn ugly!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Matchy on Apr 27, 2015 at 11:27 pm

Argh… can’t they just mop the floor before doing the video? Damn dirty! I think the previous videos are much cleaner (maybe edited?)

• SkYDiVeR_Pro on Apr 28, 2015 at 12:07 pm

Hahahaha… Whoever said Toyota has RV are idiots.. If you have a true car dealer friend, he’ll tell you the truth. Simple logic, if there are a lot of choices, then the price will be competitive and cheap. My bro bought a Camry, 3 years old, more than half price gone. I got a big car dealer friend, ask him, he laughs, say who tell you Toyota got RV?

Anyway, this Camry not bad la.. But still looks ugly.. Toyota should ask design advise from Lexus, hahaha