It was recently reported that Automated Enforcement System (AES) will make a comeback in March, along with the shelved Kejara demerit points system. However, the government says that it will consider public feedback on the matter, The Star reports.
“We welcome the feedback and suggestions from the public so that we can do better,” Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai told reporters yesterday, adding that he has directed the Road Transport Department (JPJ) to conduct a survey.
Liow said that traffic fatalities is a main concern of the ministry, with almost 7,000 road-related deaths in more than 500,000 traffic accidents every year in Malaysia. “We want to implement AES because it is an effective ways to reduce traffic accidents in the country,” he said.
The minister said that he had received feedback from road users admitting that they would slow down whenever they see an AES camera. “Areas with AES installed have recorded a reduction in traffic accidents. Implementations in other countries have also shown that the system is effective. Unlike what many people claim, AES is not to punish the rakyat by issuing summons and fines. We want to save lives,” he said.
The two-pronged approach will include the Kejara demerit points system, which will see drivers who accumulate a certain amount of points have their licenses revoked. “As for how many points to deduct for each traffic offence, we want feedback from the rakyat. We are willing to listen to their views,” Liow said.
In a separate function, Deputy Transport Minister Datuk Abdul Aziz Kaprawi told Malay Mail that the ministry was looking at enforcing an improved Kejara system by March and JPJ had submitted three key proposals during a meeting with the ministry last week.
The proposals are: separate demerit points for commercial vehicles and those for private use; demerit points will not be removed even if a traffic offender settles the fine; and motorists who maintain a clean record for at least two years will get their accumulated demerit points reduced by half.
Under Kejara, 20 demerit points will earn one a warning, 40 points will get your driving licence suspended and 60 points, cancelled. Abdul Aziz said the ministry was expected to green light the proposals soon and forward them to the Cabinet for approval by February.
The AES system was initially supposed to start in 2012, but came under public objection. In December 2013, the Dewan Rakyat adopted a motion to allow the Government to take over the system from the previously appointed private operators, and Boustead Holdings Berhad and the Armed Forces Fund Board (LTAT) are now in the picture.
In May 2015, the government announced that AES coverage was to be significantly expanded in the second phase, with cameras being installed at traffic light intersections in stages at 262 locations nationwide.
Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (Miros) chairman Tan Sri Lee Lam Thye said the body supported the government’s move to revive AES and Kejara. “Most accidents happen because of speeding and what better way to track these traffic offenders than installing AES cameras and enforcing the Kejara demerit system,” he said. What are your views on AES and Kejara, motorist?
Perhaps a new penalty system where the fine is based on the value of your car? What is RM300 speeding ticket for someone that drives a Bugatti? They dont care and they are happy to pay RM300 a few times just to show off their powerful car in front of the poor kancil.
Until they set up a ‘fair’ system, this AES is to punish the poor.
slippery slope there mate… where do you stop? people paying different prices based on income?
food at tiered prices???
water, electricity at different prices for different socioeconomic groups???
Petrol???
You’ve really got to think before saying something buddy!!!
He spend most of his time shaking his leg at some mamak shop somewhere whining and waiting for handouts
He said it. Just the price of the car.
are u unable to understand what LatukBandar wrote? he said based the saman amount on the value of the car driven. why would u suggest something so stupid as based on the income of the driver ?
gh and sta for sure doesn’t understand English…. back to school for you both! read my comments again…
Slow will not have accident. How sure is the government?
without any high tech equipment, the police can just set a laser detector at Plus highway around Subang area and guaranteed lots of lorries and buses kena…EVERYDAY lorries / buses speeding at plus endager other drivers without being catch since cronies protection.
we rakyat withtout any fight back are the target by the enforcer..
Liow and Aziz, how much money this feedback thing requires? How many consultant you want to appoint for this? I ask because its my money u are going to use.
And dont forget i still dont forgot the monkey doing the AES before. Billions of my money are gone and yet you cant get it right.
Exceed speed limit by:
10km/h – Fine RM300
20km/h – Fine RM500
30km/h – Fine RM500 + License suspended 2 years
40km/h – Fine RM1,000 + License cancelled forever
50km/h onwards – Gantung sampai mati.
Problem is, the road planning is bad. Some roads they suddenly reduce to 50 km/h.
How about: unable to explain RM2.6B donation properly and fck up the whole country until RM4.40:
Gantung sampai mati.
I drive my friend’s car, got captured by AES. I have to pay the fine for sure, demerit whose points?
How about for those slow pokes who are driving on the fast lane @ 80kph on a 110kph highway? Or those lane hoggers? Or those who cut into the fast lane without signals and/or looking at their mirrors?
no comments from kiasu since minister is chinese
The government n the police must be fair but firm. Firm and no double standards. Dato2 and Tan Sri2 all also treated the same as other rakyat, no waiver and have to pay in full
No need for all this system la. Even unlicensed Indonesian, African, Underage are driving freely on the road. Even the cars and motorcycle do not have road tax and insurance covered. Id you don’t have license in the first place, then how to retract it?
If one look at the proposed list of AES installation then we can see its purely to earn money. No doubt its a superb strategy,if one is running a business.
Camera at traffic light…i like it very much but why there is no standard where one traffic light blink before turning red while the other dont?this is very dangerous and unfair.some traffic light even have the yellow on in a blink of an eye before turning red.so,a car rear ending another car is better than someone beating the red light?
Cmon lh…..you paid milion for your civil servant salary…increase their productivity lh.
I do agree with the aes n kejara system cos speeding does kill people especially if u are driving recklessly. I asked 1 of my friend who come back from Australia, he said that the speed limit in Australia highway is only 100km/h and there are camera here & there within the few kilometers. So how good a car u have is worthless.
Camera at Alam Damai traffic light vely sneakily placed..frum highway u go up the hill, green light starts blinking and most motorist will step on accelerator, but as goingg uphill no power so sure kena..
Public feedback? Please tell us where and how to summit feedback. If the gov really take into public feedback I’m pretty sure what the conclusion will be.
Lets just start here. Just yes or no. Yes if agree for AES and Kejara, No if dont agree.
what a bunch of jokers…..eat too much kuih lapis and teh tarik syndrome….
Driving over the speed limit by only 1km/h also gets 6 demerit points?
Not every car have digital display speedo meter. That’s mean those with analog display, the driver have to stare at the meter instead the road in front. Just incase, he/she drive just 1km/h more than the speed limit.
It must have 5km/h allowance or little more. Those speed limit in front the school is 30km/h, now if I drive 25km/h… other drivers going to kill me. Same as some main road only with 50km/h speed limit. Every time I drive a little below that speed limit, so many motorist and drivers drive pass me with 70km/h to 80km/h.