VEP to address the issue of unpaid summonses among foreign vehicles and cloned cars syndicates

singapore road

The implementation of the Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) in May will address the issue of unpaid summonses among foreign vehicles that are going in and out of the country, Bernama reports.

“Currently, cars from Singapore coming into Malaysia have no record, which is why, Singapore-registered vehicles that commit an offence in West Malaysia are free from having to pay summons, and they can still enter the country,” said director-general of the Road Transport Department (JPJ), Datuk Seri Ismail Ahmad.

The VEP aims to clamp down on this problem. “When we implement the VEP later on, all vehicles that commit an offence in the country are barred from returning until the summonses have been settled,” he said. Apart from identifying foreign vehicles that evade settling summonses, he added that the VEP will help the JPJ to “control” and “combat” cloned car syndicates.

“When the VEP is implemented, all vehicles coming into the country from Singapore must be registered,” he said, noting that this will help tackle the cloned car matter. According to him, most clone vehicles are purchased with cash as there are no financial institutions willing to give out loans, seeing that the vehicles in question have no documents.

“We urge the public not to be fooled by such attractive offers to own a luxury vehicle at low prices. I am sure half of these buyers are aware that they are clone cars, but they still buy them, because the prices are appealing,” he said. Ismail further stressed that owning a cloned vehicle is an offence under the Road Transport Act 1987 and also the Anti-Corruption Commission Act 2009.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• alldisc on Jan 27, 2016 at 9:47 am

Why don’t just allow the cars in. Apply used import tax. Say, 30%?

• George Abdul on Jan 27, 2016 at 10:48 am

If get caught by police just say “Is from DONATION” then ask A-G to closed case !!! Simple and easy Malaysia system of policy !!!

• Open Letter to Datuk Ismail Ahmad on Jan 27, 2016 at 9:49 am

Hello Datuk, what are you doing about your corrupted officers? Basic pun cannot solve, you want to do VEP? Everything boils down to basics. If you foundation is so corrupted, whatever you do, nothing will change.

You yourself know, cloned cars and false road tax are done by your own officers. You can call MACC and do all the drama catching one or two scapegoats to show you are objective but the truth is, big guns in the JPJ are involved.

Please go down to the road bloacks and see how your heroes are asking for money. Sort that out first. Every car and every lorry driver kena from your ground officers. Please clean your ground officers. All the time asking money. That is why so many lorry hantu causing deaths.

The schoolchildren who died is 100% the cause and responsibility of JPJ cause in the past every lorry hantu pay your JPJ officers. That is why lorry hantu is so famous in Dengkil and Cyberjaya.

• Copy cat lar!

Singapore has long implemented mandatory Auto Pass which required annual renewal by providing the vehicle records of new valid road tax and insurance policy.

Make it compulsory for Singaporeans to deposit some amount of money into the Auto Pass. We keep the money and generate interest from it, just like you do to us on the touch and go card. Jangan pandai tekan warganegara saja.

That also you cannot think aar… Tiru aja…

• Their Autopass is like our TnG. But we implemented it donkey years ago. Somemore u cannot use it for MRT and SBS bus or buy things or pay parking, unlike our TnG. Why ah?

• Proton achieving 13% TIV in 2016 on Jan 27, 2016 at 11:00 am

I smell songlap again, which bini/crony/ketua cawangan/anak menteri is going to supply the VEP system to JPJ? I bet that system is a half baked one supplied by some sub-con, because the prime-con is a RM2 company who ain’t know shit about VEP system (pity the sub-con, sometimes even sub-sub-con, who don’t received the final payment in the end of the day anyway) . The prime-con get the multimillions, go buy property in London, buy 3 Ferraris and bring whole family go cuti Eropah for 3 months.

In the end, because the system is so out-dated and screwed up, all original plan will be so badly executed, and coupled with one of the most corrupted institution in Malaysia, namely JPJ who makan rasuah day and night, Singapore drivers will speed at their will in our highways and nothing changed. Thi is business as usual in Bodohland because clean and efficiency is never our mantra, makan suap and songlap is. Jangan persoal, kalau persoal, engkau pengkhianat negara /ajen Yahudi.

Don’t get me wrong, I am all for enforcement of the law and safer roads in Malaysia. But looking at our JPJ clowns and head of divisions who know nothing other than makan rasuah, how could we entrust them to execute the law according to how it is written? Heck, talking about clone car syndicates, they are the one who did it lah! Is like entrusting thieves to catch robbers, how amusing.