2016 Honda Civic set for mid-year debut in Australia

2016 Honda Civic Sedan

Honda Australia has sent out a teaser bulletin about the 2016 Honda Civic via email to subscribers, and while no new details were shed in the brief communique, a timeline for its expected arrival Down Under was mentioned – according to the company, the 10th-gen FC is due to make its debut there in mid-year.

Earlier in the week, Honda Thailand came out with a heritage video celebrating the previous nine generations of the Civic, with a mention at the end that the new car was “coming soon.” Initially unveiled in the US in September 2015, the C-segment offering was caught testing in the Kingdom as early as November last year, and was again sighted on Thai roads last month.

The new Civic, equipped with the automaker’s 1.5 litre turbocharged engine, has also been reported to be undergoing trials in Indonesia – the mill, which delivers 174 hp at 5,500 rpm and 220 Nm from 1,800 to 5,000 rpm in its US configuration, is set to feature across most of the region, if the indications read thus far are correct. There’s also a 2.0 litre naturally-aspirated unit offering 158 hp and 187 Nm, and we hear that will also be making its way to Malaysia.

It’s very likely now that the Civic will make its regional debut at the 2016 Bangkok International Motor Show next month, before making its way to other Asia-Oceania markets – with Australia getting the car sometime in June, the Civic should get here before or around then. We’ll know more by the time Bangkok gets around.

GALLERY: Tenth-generation Honda Civic (FC)

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ongtk on Feb 05, 2016 at 1:35 pm

“Honda has issued a stop-sale and safety-recall notice for 2016 Civics equipped with the 2.0-liter four-cylinder engine due to a manufacturing inconsistency that could cause engine damage or failure. Although an official campaign number has not yet been issued by NHTSA, what appears to be official Honda dealership correspondence detailing the action was recently posted to an enthusiast forum on the CivicX website, indicating the stop-sale of vehicles currently in dealer inventory and the plans to recall and inspect affected vehicles already in customers’ hands.” Extracted from Car and Driver. Asian models not affected as usual, yeah, given Honda’s going ahead with launches in this part of the globe?

• Salesman on Feb 05, 2016 at 2:18 pm

Like I said in another news comments section, it will be launched in Q2 in Thailand and Q4 in Malaysia, arriving as the 2017 model

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Feb 05, 2016 at 2:54 pm

i received SMS from Honda sales man for booking new civic for April 2016 launching. Somebody please verify it whether true or false.

• sivik on Feb 05, 2016 at 3:59 pm

It’s true bro.

My friend also forwarded me the sms he got from one of the salesman

• kerkusion on Feb 06, 2016 at 12:25 am

Yup, second that. April or May if I’m not mistaken.

• rajz1728 on Feb 12, 2016 at 7:15 pm

Not sure about the april launch date as I personally went to nearby showroom to get extra details. I was told by the salesman that it’s due to launch here around May or June. Engine availability??? 1.5 T and 2.0 confirm. They were already briefed about those two engine it seems. And price for the pricing?? RM120k++ for 2.0 and we can expect RM130k++ for 1.5 T same as current 2.0 navi. Plus, get this. A 1.8 engine base Civic also ‘maybe’ launch in order to compete with the cars at that price range. Meaning should be lower than 2.0 price. Example to compete with Altis base 1.8E. So let’s hope that 1.5T will be launch with a much lower price. But I doubt it. Fingers cross. Anyways those who wants to book the car, can do so actually. And ya. Almost forgot, they also mention not to have high hopes on US version like spec. We will received the same spec as Thailand and Indonesia. But let’s wait and see how much honda tone’s down the Civic..

• shawal on Feb 05, 2016 at 3:38 pm

If ur front passenger does not agree with you speeding, they cn happily press d econ button to lower down the throttle response….

• samuel on Feb 06, 2016 at 12:15 am

I got a feedback from Honda Malaysia on the Honda Civic 1.5 Turbo.

Dear Valued Customer,
    Thank you for contacting Honda Malaysia Sdn Bhd.

With regards to your enquiry, we do not have any official information on the launching of new Honda Civic 1.5 Turbo at the moment. However should the model be made available, Honda Malaysia will make necessary announcements through the media.

We appreciate your keen interest and your continuous support towards Honda products.

Please do not hesitate to contact our Toll Free Line at 1 800 88 2020 should you have any other queries.

Ref No: ECL6313
    Submission Date: 2016-02-03

Thank you,
    Online Customer Care

Copyright © 2016 Honda Malaysia. All rights reserved.

• Cusack on Feb 06, 2016 at 4:29 pm

I am planning to buy a C-Segment car and this is the car i am waiting for. The 1.5 turbo is bonus but sadly the rear design pull me back. I am still 50/50 in choosing this or wait for next gen of Altis. My comment for the car outlook are:
    1) exterior front = 5/5
    2) exterior rear = 2/5
    3) interior = 3.5/5

• rightb@ck on Feb 07, 2016 at 2:36 pm

The next gen of Toyota Altis may not be launch at least till 2021 as the current Altis was just launched in January 2014. A facelift will be due early next year.

• Cukur on Feb 07, 2016 at 10:05 pm

According to 10th civic forum members the car looks better in person.

• DPCraft on Feb 12, 2016 at 5:44 pm

Interior is underrated it looks so nice.. I will give 4.5/5 due to hard to adjust aircond settings. -0.5

• Cusack on Feb 07, 2016 at 10:59 pm

Typical cycle for a model generation change will be around 5 years. As for facelift will be around 2 yr. If the Atlis facelift will be on next yr 2017 then the next gen Altis will be 2019/2020. Anyhow, let wait until the Civic launch in Malaysia and see it feedback.