2016 Honda Civic – Indonesia to get new 1.5 turbo?

2016 Honda Civic Sedan

A report from Indonesia suggests that our neighbours could soon get their 2016 Honda Civic served with a 1.5 litre turbocharged engine. A source from within Honda Indonesia confirmed the news to Otomotif Kompas at a recent event in Bali.

According to the Indonesian publication, Jonfis Fandy, director of marketing and after sales for Honda Indonesia confirmed that the Civic and its 1.5 litre turbo engine is currently being tested in the country. The new 10th-gen Civic is expected to be launched in Indonesia some time this year, turbo engine in tow.

As available in the US, the 1.5 litre turbocharged engine delivers 174 hp at 5,500 rpm and 220 Nm from 1,800 to 5,000 rpm. A 2.0 litre, naturally-aspirated, four-cylinder engine is also available, offering 158 hp and 187 Nm of torque. Both mills are paired with an updated CVT automatic transmission.

2016 Honda Civic Sedan

The new Civic has also been spied in Thailand recently, and we expect Honda Malaysia to launch the model this year as well. However, news of Indonesia getting the 1.5 turbo engine does contradict what Honda R&D chief, Keiji Ohtsu, said earlier about the improbability of it being offered in Asian markets – somewhat opening the doors for us too.

“Depending on the market and region, but particularly in Asia and other emerging markets, we will continue offering our naturally-aspirated line-up, which tends to be less costly. In South East Asia, we will supply our current lineup of naturally-aspirated engines,” claimed Ohtsu, in our previous report of him outlining Honda’s future plans.

Could the doors still be open for a 10th-gen Honda Civic 1.5 turbo in Malaysia? Fingers crossed, then.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Feb 02, 2016 at 12:05 pm

Malaysia to get 1.5l turbo too. I believe this generation Civic will gonna use this engine world wide

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • George Abdul on Feb 02, 2016 at 12:35 pm

Gen10th civic “the best” by Honda, hope malaysia dealer won’t make Rakyat dissapointed !

• Yeaa.. prolly on the facelift. Honda malaysia knows that we are already sold on the looks, when the looks die out they facelift and put the new engine in so that pipu have a reason to buy more. More milk for them.

• jinggo on Feb 02, 2016 at 12:23 pm

Mana boleh civic 1.5turbo, ini akan mengurangkan pendapatan cukai kepada kerajaan. Jangan fikir kamu saja yang pandai, kerajaan lebih bijak tahu! Puihh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
  • Syameer (Member) on Feb 02, 2016 at 1:00 pm

I have to admit that this all-new Honda Civic is really impressive! Honda have finally got their design dept. to do the right thing inside-out. The outgoing Civic is such an eye-sore. Definitely gonna sell like a hotcake! On a side note, wonder when the facelift Accord would be introduced in Malaysia? Anyone in Paultan who has any clue on this?

• Jonn Dol on Feb 02, 2016 at 1:02 pm

I guess the Honda Marketing side has strongly proposed to bring the turbo engine for this region, as the potential customers no longer content with Honda dumping them with old tech engines..

• Honda Malaysia, what are u waiting for?

• FIST (Member) on Feb 02, 2016 at 1:48 pm

Bring the turbo in!!!!

• I heard from sources within their Melaka plant that the 1.5L turbo engine will be fitted in our 10th gen. Civic to be launched after CNY holidays.

• flipper2uman (Member) on Feb 02, 2016 at 2:03 pm

This is positive news. I hope it won’t cost a bomb when it reaches our shores.

• Due to the lower grade petrol in malaysia,i dont think they will import the 1.5 t version….so better go for grey market ctr 2.0 turbo have fun first…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • kzm (Member) on Feb 02, 2016 at 4:59 pm

Indo has even lower fuel grade bro. I mean in term of RON. They have RON 88 for standard, RON 92 for premium..RON95 super premium… Both bolehland n Indo still Euro 2 though

• Yes, Malaysia will get 1.5T as a highline version with 1.8L as entry level for Civic

• How about the price Bro?

• peeved on Feb 03, 2016 at 11:01 am

Honda SA I asked, mentioned only 1.5 turbo and 2.0 coming to malaysia. The price is onwards of 130k. Not sure true or not, but they mentioned they already attended training to sell the car.

• Proton achieving 13% TIV in 2016 on Feb 02, 2016 at 2:30 pm

Jangan-jangan datang sini pulak jadi SOHC with 5 speed auto…

Honda Malaysia doesn’t bother to give us the full earth dream powertrain (only the CVT gearbox emplyed on the City and Jazz are Earth Dream, but not the engine. And the 2.4 Accord is not a full Earth Dream engine as it doesn’t comes with direct injection), so there is a strong possibility that they’ll skip the vtec turbo in Malaysia market as well.

Imagine this,

Customer: “Why we don’t get vtec turbo for the latest Civic hah?”

SA: “Aiya, turbo no good, lots of maintenance, expensive, somemore not reliable. SOHC reliable, 5 speed auto is enough already. Most important is your resale value. Look at those forced inducted VW, Ford, Audi, BMW, resale value suffer, you cry when you sell your car. Japanese old tech with 5 speed auto is best for you!”

Customer: “@#&£%®©€¢¢©€®$¡>]©@#…”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
    • FIST (Member) on Feb 02, 2016 at 4:03 pm

cannot Earth Dreams, fuel quality too low here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • kzm (Member) on Feb 02, 2016 at 5:03 pm

U can use Petron Euro 4 RON100 lo..

• plainbullshit on Feb 03, 2016 at 9:47 am

I have credible source that Honda Malaysia will bring in all new Earth Dreams 1.5 turbo for the next Civic this year.

• OMG…Hi Mr.Imagination, ur imagination very good lah…lol.

• hailthepurist on Feb 02, 2016 at 2:32 pm

specifications well tip-top, the pricing here is bS..

• sohhai on Feb 02, 2016 at 3:10 pm

Honda Thailand webpage has started to put a video chronologically reviewing each generation of Civic and finally stating that the 10th gen is coming soon. It won’t be long now….my guess is Q2 in Thailand and Q4 in Malaysia

• Any idea what will happen with current unsold civic model once this new model launched? Sell for extra discount?

• See…Honda Toyota never give us the best, they even give China the best like Earthdream, D4-S, 2.0T, but look at Malaysian spec, all old engines.

• Syukur lah.

• peeved on Feb 02, 2016 at 4:02 pm

Spoke to a Honda SA. According to the SA indeed 1.5 turbo is coming to Malaysia alongside the 2.0.

• ben yap on Feb 02, 2016 at 10:00 pm

Honda Malaysia won’t bring in the turbo.

it’s the brand that sells, not the car’s features.

whether it’s Honda EX5 or Honda Accord, it will sell well as long as it is “Honda”.

If Honda were to produce planes, it will replace Boeing too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • plainbullshit on Feb 03, 2016 at 9:49 am

Sorry that’s UMW not Honda Malaysia, I ensure you they will 100% bring in the all new Earth Dreams 1.5 Turbo

• KennyFang on Feb 02, 2016 at 10:31 pm

Fools! Indonesia getting the Turbo Civic doesn’t mean Malaysia will get it too. Do we look like Indonesia?

• Crazyvtec on Feb 02, 2016 at 11:13 pm

Yes, Honda Malaysia will offer us 1.5 turbo engine. I was told by a local honda dealer launch date around april or may and price below 140k..US was test with 9th gen civic si(200hp), civic x is faster!!

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Feb 03, 2016 at 10:46 am

i guess 1.5l turbo will sell at RM 135k, 2.0 will be 125k. i hoping 1.5l will be selling at RM121k, just hope for it, and it will be my garage car oled in 2016

• bye-bye FORD RANGER .. HONDA please please make available for malaysia