During the launch of the Safe Steps Road Safety programme in Kuala Lumpur, Tan Sri Michelle Yeoh was vehement in emphasising road safety awareness, especially where it concerned children and young adults. Speaking at a press conference after the event, Yeoh said that road safety awareness began at the roots.
“We are hoping to start soon with the schools, and I have already been approached. It’s a collaborative effort with the government, the private sector, with individuals and especially with schools. We have the messages right now, but we need to work together with the schools where it becomes part of the curriculum,” said Yeoh.
She said training on road safety starts with children, and road safety is a behaviour that has to be inculcated from young. “We will be assisting schools in getting the Safe Steps videos and pamphlets, so that children can be taught the correct thing to do, and in turn, they can pass the message on to adults about road safety, acting as their Jiminy Cricket,” she explained.
Meanwhile, FIA president Datuk Seri Jean Todt said that the biggest problems on Malaysian roads were collective. “It is everything put together, you don’t have enough education, you don’t have enough law enforcement,” he said.
“For example, in Europe, if I drink and then drive, I will lose my license. If you think nothing will happen, you will not pay attention. So it comes down to education, and law enforcement. You have beautiful motorways here, but you must know how to use them. But the motorways must also be improved.”
“Malaysia has 30 million people, but you have 34 million vehicles. Take Philippines, you have 100 million people and eight million vehicles. In Malaysia, you have three times more vehicles than the Philippines and three times less people. That’s a successful country. On road safety, you have to be more effective, so the Safe Steps programme is necessary,” Todt said.
Asked about her thoughts on the cost of safety, especially in Asia where the addition or requirement of safety equipment in a vehicle may be prohibitive to some, Yeoh said that Malaysians should re-examine their priorities.
“When you are buying a new car, you have all these safety features and equipment available to you, it doesn’t cost you that much extra. Instead of getting a new car stereo system in the car, get these safety features, such as ESC, as it will make a difference to you and your loved ones.” Readers can search Carbase for vehicles with ESC and other safety features.
tell this to UMW Toyota…
tell her favourite bn government to reduce car prices so people can buy safer cars and not have to suffer with cheapo no safety spec tin kosong cars…or else just recommend everyone join mca youth, umno puteraputeri mic machas….then can buy mercedes like me in the 90’s
But hohh. Najib-crony P1 & drb-honda & naza-kias has decent safety at reasonable prices, yet UMW-toyota stuborn dun wanna gip unless u topup altis topkek spec.
Is it cuz UMW toyota is official car for Party Hard, so they dun need worry cuz after GE14 becum national car when PH takeover Putrajaya? So means UMW is crony of PH?
So shud ask Dear Leader to pressure UMW toyota to gip better safety at leeeeast on par with Najib-crony P1 & DRB-honda….
This is why Lim Guan Eng reject to sit at Toyota Camry so he decide to change Mercedes and more safe
Thank you Datuk for the good message. But what if we want to spend that money but the car company like UMW don’t give VSC?
What to do then?
Adding VSC only cost UMW less than RM1000. But they don’t even have it in the Vios, Altis and Camry.
So what to do?
If UMW spend less than RM1000 to install VSC and car cannot sell like proton, how?
What to do?
It’s Tan Sri
Ya right! Even if I wish to spec on safety features like lane departure warning, autonomous braking, VSC etc, some car manufacturers here in Malaysia don’t even provide as an option. They will proudly advertise options such as nismo this, mugen that or TRD this….
Safety should be standard across all range, not only limited to highest spec!
Lesson learned: Get a rich white man then you’ll have whatever you wants!
UMW, pls take note, safety always come first. Not your Ah Beng body kits and stereo upgrade. Give VSC & add more airbags.
According to a study done by umw and perodua. Consumer buy their vehicles based on body kit and resale value.
Safer car always not so popular. Like volvo.
You ask Sam loo the toilet cleaner. He will tell you. Hailat no need abs. Airbag. TCS. Esp all bullshit. You need Hailat for resale value
Sam loo alredi brainwash pipu that hi-RV & almighty T badge will protect them from injuries & accidents. Somemore managed to convince them that dying in a moving coffin is less losing face than surviving in a P1
Typical of an idiot to please the the government, instead of gunning at the government to provide more and sustainable and efficient and reliable and affordable public transport for all Malaysians, like those you can find in nearby countries. Without that, your are barking for the sake of publicity, in common with all the public servants who server themselves and their family with impunity. Try this for publicity instead and most of us will applaud you. Otherwise, whatever title you have is not worth a piece of paper written on. Tell the government , national and local, they exist for the people, not the other way round, and by doing so you earn what you have at this moment.
And what did u do in comparison for calling the lady and idiot hmm?
she where dare…criticize government her $$$ also bye bye
this is true especially for those ah bengs that modify their car that sound like disco cars.
although vehicle in philippines fewer than here but traffic jam in manila is much more worse.
That’s why between a Myvi 1.5 and Proton Iriz, I bought a Premium Iriz 1.6. No regret lah.
Some Malaysians have money buy imported pajero sport but complain no money buy proper child seat or wear seatbelts
Stupid comparison by another dumb actress who think their comments have weight. Safety is specced into the car whereas stereo systems are upgradeable components. If she is really serious she should urge the government to make it mandatory to have base safety specs in all cars.
If mandatory then onli P1 will survive cuz P2 will kolos shop due to none of their models have safety. So 300k pipu will rage and vote against Gov, cuz no car. So how?
Then they will be forced to spec up. Logic? Strong business people know how to survive when its challenging instead of closing shop.
No cuz their jepunis overlords when see the extra cost involved to include ESC, will say: No Way!
Syukur lah.
Talk is easy. Can we retrofit airbag? VSC? ABS? Safety come standard from manufacturer and is always been omitted. At least stereo we can retrofit when oem is sucks.
Can i upgrade safety if oem sucks?
Safety equipment and features should not be taxed together with the card price and car loan interest.
Agree?