No more discounts for traffic offenders – Deputy IGP

polis operasi PT

Waiting for the next “mega sale” to settle your summonses? Bukit Aman will not be providing any discounts to traffic offenders if Datuk Seri Noor Rashid Ibrahim has his way, The Star reports.

The Deputy Inspector-General of Police commended traffic offenders who were punctual in paying their summonses but no discounts will be offered to them as well.

“Not offering any discounts will be a form of deterrent to traffic offenders. We hope that with this awareness, they will be more careful and disciplined in the future,” he told reporters at KL Sentral last Saturday.

Federal traffic police chief Senior Asst Comm Mahamad Akhir Darus said traffic offenders should settle their summonses punctually.

“We don’t want to encourage an attitude among Malaysians where they will only pay their summonses only when there’s a discount offer. If there are no such offers in two years, they will not pay their fines in those two years. We don’t want to encourage such practices,” he said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Foo… Suddenly want to be very strict.. Ltr ask ppl more duet kopi la tu… Nasi lemak… nasi lemak.

• Open Letter to Abang IGP on Feb 22, 2016 at 11:45 am

Hello abang IGP, I got saman before, I go to balai to pay fully at payment counter, the seargeant call me aside to back room and told me he will settle it for me for RM50. He said got no receipt thought.

This is why Malaysians are not scared of saman. Don’t even have to bribe polis officer who saman you. When you go balai also, no need to beg or appeal for reduction. Polis themselves come and offer you their “services”.

This is why, even RM1000 saman also, we Malaysins will be cool about it. Go to Balai, officer will now ask RM1000

Clean your polis first lah IGP. Then come and talk big about increasing saman and having more operasi.

We can have all the laws in the world, but when your officers makan duit kopi, what is the use of those laws and operasi?

• blardy on Feb 22, 2016 at 2:34 pm

halo bang, why you didnt resist during that time? even this corrupted police asking for rm50, doesnt mean you need to pay him. rather than pointing out to others, go clean yourself first. you paid him, so you also part of “rasuah system”. if you reject his offer, the chain of bribing will immediately stop at that time. if lots of people like you condeming polices while still be part of the rasuah system, for sure this will go on. Fix yourself first then only fix others.

• stasta on Feb 23, 2016 at 10:09 am

u said : “if you reject his offer, the chain of bribing will immediately stop at that time”

are u really that retarded and naive ? if i reject the sargents offer, he will simply ask for bribe from the next traffic offender, who more likely than not will pay the bribe.

if the gov is really serious about tackling corruption then it needs to stop it at the source, which is the bribe-receiver.

• kazanixm on Feb 23, 2016 at 9:41 am

The question is, did you do something about it?

I mean, did you report on the corrupt police or did you just paid the RM50 to cleared up your summons?

Bribery will happen on 2 parties, the one who is giving and the one who is asking. If either party did not accept, thus the bribery did not happen.

So did you do something other than just ranting in the web?

• hahaha on Feb 22, 2016 at 12:10 pm

looks like the rakyat will teach igp a lesson by not paying them like before. then he’ll have to bring the disc back. malaysian society no discount, no parting with money…

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 22, 2016 at 12:17 pm

Najib songlap RM2.6 billion got give discount ah? PDRM so scared to even soal Najib. But PDRM pandai talk big and buli rakyat.

• Roger Tan on Feb 22, 2016 at 9:42 am

Discount = loss of revenue.

No no at the moment. If anything they will want to introduce late penalty fee. or maybe abolish prison time for higher fines.

Fines is pure revenue while prison costs money to run. Time to cut all costs

• Says him lah.

Next month they offer discounts.

• Silthice on Feb 22, 2016 at 11:04 am

The discount is not fair cause for those that settled the summons immediately do not get anything but those that pay late received rewards in term if discount. As if encouraging the public to delay the Summons payment…

• kaya kronies club on Feb 22, 2016 at 12:22 pm

hahahahaha, if all could work, cows can fly.

I remember last time, the authorities even organized lucky draws to encourage summon payments.

Only in Malaysia…hahahah

• Cakap saja lah.

• Dear Leader says its our human rights to break laws and dun pay saman even when kena tangkap. Hidup Party Hard!