KTM to convert old diesel-powered trains into heritage holiday coaches – first trips start in April

ktm-intercity-antarabandar-train

Keretapi Tanah Melayu (KTM) is set to retire its ageing diesel-powered passenger trains this year. However, rather than scrapping the trains altogether, the old trains will be repurposed to serve as holiday trains catering to those who are seeking a bit of nostalgia along the lines of the famous Orient Express.

The company said these old trains, mainly Intercity coaches, will be replaced by the newer Electric Train Service (ETS) on the Gemas-Padang Besar line around the second quarter of 2016, according to a report by The Star.

KTM president Datuk Sarbini Tijan said, “I anticipate that by May, all those (Intercity) trains (on Gemas to Padang Besar) should be replaced completely by ETS. However, for those lovers of conventional trains or those who like heritage, we will come up with a new service, running the old trains as excursion trains.”

ktm-ets

Sarbini also stated three old-school trips that will be offered by KTM – Tumpat-KL (by early April), Kuala Lipis-Kuala Krau-Gua Musang-Kuala Lipis and Johor Bahru-Haadyai (from May onwards). The latter, according to Sarbini, will probably not run daily but will have “regular intervals”.

The service will be catered towards foreign (including Asean) and domestic tourists. However, Sarbini did not disclose how much a trip would cost, or if the service would be similar to that of the Orient Express.

On a separate matter, Sarbini said the electrified double track train (EDTT) project from Gemas to Johor Bahru was scheduled to be completed by end-2019.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• shawal on Feb 24, 2016 at 11:31 am

nice…looking forward to what they have to offer….

• We cannot do Orient Express lah. Malaysians need to wash their buntot and bird everytime kencing. So, we wet the toilet maximum until even fish can swim on the floor. How to do Orient Express like that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 28
      • Ultra2disk on Feb 24, 2016 at 8:21 pm

Have you ever ride KTMB Intercity ? I highly doubt you ride it once.

• puchong DAPite says public transport too low keras for them. they onli endorse using moving coffin

• donno on Feb 24, 2016 at 11:44 am

Please retain the nostalgic “express langkawi” line, even as a once or twice weekly trip.

• tokmoh. on Feb 24, 2016 at 11:45 am

Eastern and Oriental Express super luxury, pricing also super luxury.

Like, >USD 2k per pax for Bangkok-KL.

But at least can feel like a sir.

I don’t have any issue if KTM wanna offer similar service. Competition is good, plus it truly has heritage value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Nobel idea but what normally happened some people eyeing for contract to refurbish the train rather than bring in income – feasibility study is must. We cannot just copy other practices,. Please!

• gaviny on Feb 24, 2016 at 12:41 pm

there is nothing like a v16 two stroke through a straight exhaust at notch 8

• carlist on Feb 24, 2016 at 12:54 pm

The poor southern people still using the aging diesel powered trains as well as the Shuttle Tebrau going into Singapore. Broken windows and seat, malfunction cabin doors and lighting can easily found there. Please take a look seriously KTM.

• policeman on Feb 24, 2016 at 1:02 pm

Goodbye choo choo train. A lot of memories in these old trains.

Long time ago, I received BJ from my girl in 2nd class berth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • Albert on Feb 24, 2016 at 2:14 pm

The rakyat is more interested in the wastages caused by the rm14 Billion Double tracking songlapped by the arab than all these fanciful fairyland shit.
    My friend took a double tracking train to Ipoh..hardly 10 passengers in the entire f..up coach.
    Only during peak seasons/holidays are these trains full.Can you see the wastages?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • KTM makes their money from hauling freight rather than hauling pipu. Double track improves movement speed of goods.

I guess u r not in the hauling/ logistics/ mass transportation industry. Better go back to haranguing P1.

• I highly doubt you take the ETS train at once. The ETS train was selling good especially for the train heading to the Northern City like Butterworth & Padang Besar and I spot the train seat are likely 90% occupied.

• Visitor on Feb 24, 2016 at 2:34 pm

Sabahans have done it with their old steam locomotive – turning it into a heritage/vintage tourism attraction called North Borneo Railway. The tourists love it. I even suggested to the operator to extend the route all the way to Padas Gorge as the scenery is even more breathtaking.

• pleaselah on Feb 24, 2016 at 3:18 pm

Why not transfer the system to Sabah Sarawak.