Penang Transport Master Plan (PMTP) project delivery partner SRS Consortium has detailed the state’s public transport plan in a meeting with the Penang Real Estate and Housing Association (REHDA), according to the state government’s publication Buletin Mutiara.

The proposal includes seven lines that will connect the island to the mainland, including the Bayan Lepas and Georgetown-Butterworth LRT lines, the Ayer Itam, Tanjung Tokong and Raja Uda-Bukit Mertajam monorail lines, the Permatang Tinggi-Batu Kawan Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) line and the Georgetown tram.

On the island side, the Bayan Lepas LRT is expected to stretch from Komtar to Permatang Damar Laut via the Penang International Airport – the proposed alignment spans some 22 km and include 19 stations. Another eight stations are expected to be built along three proposed reclaimed islands in the south, bringing the total length to 30 km.


From Komtar, the Tanjung Tokong monorail will extend north to Gurney Drive and ends at Tanjung Pinang – it’s expected to be a seven-kilometre ride passing eight stations. The Ayer Itam monorail will also start at Komtar, heading towards Ayer Itam and terminating at Majestic Heights – a distance of 13 km across 13 stations.

Trams are slated to return to Penang under the PMTP – the new two-kilometre, six-station line will start from Lebuh Carnarvon near the Komtar LRT station and passes through Lebuh Chulia and Pengkalan Weld before terminating at the Swettenham Pier.

Meanwhile, the Georgetown-Butterworth LRT starts from The Light station (an interchange with the Bayan Lepas line) and crosses the sea north of the Penang Bridge towards Penang Sentral, before concluding at Sungai Nyiur. Overall, the alignment is expected to be 18 km in length, consisting of eight stations.


The Raja Uda-Bukit Mertajam monorail will start from Taman Kenanga, interchange with the Georgetown-Butterworth LRT at Sungai Nyiur, and pass through Bukit Mertajam before concluding at the Kulim Industrial Park. Another line will branch out from the Alma station and ends at Permatang Tinggi; all in all, the line will through 21 stations along a 28 km route.

Lastly, the BRT connects Permatang Tinggi to Batu Kawan, ending at the Bandar Cassia Industrial Park – a distance of 14 km via 15 stations. In all, Penang’s public transport plan spans 151 km – The Star previously reported that construction of the LRT will begin in 2018, with completion set for 2024; work on the George Town-Butterworth LRT and the Raja Uda-Bukit Mertajam monorail is only expected to start after 2026.