Genovation GXE claims electric vehicle speed record

An electric Corvette developed by Genovation Cars has claimed the new land speed record for all-electric road legal vehicles. Known as the Genovation eXtreme Electric, or the GXE, the electrified Corvette Z06 managed to hit a top speed of 300 km/h (186.8 mp/h) at the Johnny Bohmer Proving Grounds in Florida.

With the previous record of 285 km/h (177 mp/h) set by a Finnish prototype car, the Genovation GXE’s top speed record of 300 km/h was certified by the International Mile Racing Association as the fastest road-legal electric vehicle, beating the previous record by 15 km/h.

The GXE is essentially a 2006 Chevrolet Corvette Z06 which had its internals swapped out for an all-electric powertrain that produces up to 700 hp and 813 Nm of torque. Its other highlights include an even 50/50 weight distribution, and an electric driving range of up to 210 km under normal driving conditions.

“We are thrilled that the result of our development testing led to the setting of this record,” said Andrew Saul, CEO of Genovation. “Based on our experience so far, we believe the car to be extremely robust as we set the record on our first day of testing. We fully expect the car to do a lot more,” he concluded.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Nasser on Mar 09, 2016 at 9:57 am

where is our electric and Hybrid that MAI promised us? MAI said 7 years ago Proton hybrid was coming. What happened?

• alldisc on Mar 09, 2016 at 10:00 am

how far can the car go at that speed? 50km per full charge?

• Corvette ZO6 on Mar 10, 2016 at 12:58 pm

I want my LS7 engine back