Mercedes-AMG A45 – Thai price dropped by RM164k, to RM514k; still RM165k more than in Malaysia

Mercedes-Benz A-Klasse (W 176) 2015Mercedes-Benz A-Class (W 176) 2015

If you thought Malaysia is the only nation stricken with high vehicle prices, think again. Pricing for the facelifted Mercedes-AMG A 45 in Thailand has just been revealed at a lower 4,390,000 baht (RM514k) compared with the outgoing model’s 5,790,000 baht (RM678k).

The lower price has been awarded to the compact AMG hatchback courtesy of the Thai government’s new incentive scheme for cars with low CO2 emissions in the country. As such, the excise duty has been lowered from 50% to 35%, knocking off a total 1,400,000 (RM164k) from the pre-facelift model’s pricing. That’s still RM165k more expensive that our AMG A 45, which is priced at RM348,888.

The new incentive scheme in Thailand officially began at the very start of 2016, as part of Phase 2 of the nation’s Eco Car Project. The country which previously awarded incentives to vehicles with a certain engine size has now opened the incentives to all vehicles, basing the amount of incentives on its CO2 emissions.

Alongside the W213 E-Class, Mercedes-Benz Thailand is set to unveil the new AMG A 45 at the coming 2016 Bangkok Motor Show. The hardcore hot hatch offers a barrage of new updates, chief of which is the higher-tuned 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbo engine which delivers 381 hp and 475 Nm of torque (the pre-facelift version had 360 hp and 450 Nm). The car is expectedly a lot quicker, performing the century sprint in 4.2 seconds now, compared to the pre-facelift model’s 4.6 seconds.

We’ve detailed the AMG A 45’s new updates in our local launch report, and you can also check out our coverage of the local-market A-Class facelift range for further details. Just remember, the next time you think about how expensive an A 45 is in our country, spare a thought for our neighbours in Thailand that have previously had to cough up 5,790,000 baht (RM678k) for it, and only now get to “enjoy” a 4,390,000 baht (RM514k) price.

GALLERY: Malaysian-spec Mercedes-AMG A 45

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Hunda on Mar 14, 2016 at 4:10 pm

Hahahah orang thai also kena tipu. Third world will always be third world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • nothingmuch on Mar 14, 2016 at 4:21 pm

our currency dropped 30%. So you see the difference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Mar 14, 2016 at 9:56 pm

How come all RBAs so quiet one…cannot accept that other Asean countries orso sell expensive cars…so now cannot talk bad about own country issit…now feeling stupid issit…hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Hunda on Mar 15, 2016 at 8:03 am

Tak faham ke? This is third world disease. Milking money from ppl. Macai bn will never get it.

• suke2 ko je on Mar 15, 2016 at 10:23 am

last time blaming P1 for causing import car price higher. Now when compare to neighbor country, blaming third world disease… are you sure that is the cause? are you fully understand how thai economy works? they dont sell their own brand, but still sell import brand higher than us? how about singapore? do you have any justification or evidence on what you are saying?

• Hunda on Mar 15, 2016 at 11:08 am

P1 is our third world disease. Thailand also got corruption and need taxes to bolster their own leakage. Macai bn takkan faham.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • JIbby on Mar 14, 2016 at 4:14 pm

when u drive one…the A250 felt lethargic …

• Hong kong is selling around HK$730k, which is about RM386k+, not cheap.

• areos on Mar 14, 2016 at 4:57 pm

Kete mercedes mahal sebab kerajaan Thai nak jaga harga kete proton…macam malaysia jugalah . Kalau ada proton mesti kete lain jadi mahal….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 15
  • goodbiz on Mar 14, 2016 at 5:01 pm

Resell used Malaysia AMG45 to Thai as grey imports.

• Kenneth Fook on Mar 14, 2016 at 5:05 pm

This is why i love my country. Car price banyak murah. But i can only afford a myvi. =(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • Work harder or work smarter. Nothing will be handed to u on silver platter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
      • mitsu on Mar 15, 2016 at 5:52 am

rubbish. people also work harder n smarter. but our economy system still in this so called ‘third world’ standard.

• Hahaha!!! dont blame here and there.. If we are in First world status. U sure u can cope? U sure u are ok with govt. taxing us 40% income tax? GST 7% – 10%? Bsides, our pace gotta be fast if u wan a first world country with cheap and low tax.

• Those who think Malaysia has the highest car price then u are wrong. In fact, there are many more countries with high car price in Asia. HK, Thailand, Singapore, Vietnam, China, and even India..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • Well, credits is where its due…brovo to Mercedes Benz Malaysia that managed to price the A45 competitively here

• Anyone know A45 got any gearbox problem like the DSG?

• Well done to Mercedes-Benz Malaysia for the good pricing and effort to qualify their cars for EEV status!

• johny cash on Mar 15, 2016 at 7:12 am

Thai gov doing a right thing..TAX THE RICH!!!…in Malaysia, we tax everyone but we give tesla buyer tax exemption…poor you axia owner

• arteu32 on Mar 15, 2016 at 9:29 am

On the contrary, in Malaysia, even if you want to get a Tesla, a cheque book will not be enough.
      We have to be a government official and get one leased by tax payers money, to drive around, so that people can see how good a zero emission car really is…it does take a few read to wrap one’s mind around the idea but then again, its Malaysia
      Malaysia mana boleh

• Yeah later you complain how to recharge the battery from your 14th floor of your low cost flat

• That is not a fair comparison. Those mas market cars like civic, accord camry and vios. Thai is still much cheaper than us.

• Sorry la macha, but the price diff isnt very much. There is no such thing their price is cheaper by half.. Nvr was. It was slightly cheaper but with the new emission tax, price is actually getting higher.