VIDEO: Ford Mustang teased for Malaysian debut?

A video of the new Ford Mustang has been posted on Ford Malaysia’s Facebook page — could this be a hint to an approaching launch? We can’t help but think that it’s about time already, given that the Mustang was originally due to make its local debut in December last year.

Unfortunately, the social media post doesn’t reveal too much more that the obvious, and yes, it is cool to see some behind-the-scenes footage of the Mustang’s development. But with the order books being opened since June last year, it is surely about time Sime Darby Auto Connexion gets this car on dealership floors.

The last we heard of it, estimated prices for two variants of the Mustang were revealed — RM435k to RM450k was mentioned for the 2.3 litre EcoBoost variant, and RM550k to RM565k for the 5.0 litre V8. Fastback coupe and Convertible body styles were also said to be available.

The 2.3 litre Ecoboost turbo four-pot delivers 310 hp and 433 Nm, while the range-topping 5.0 litre naturally-aspirated V8 offers 435 hp and 541 Nm. The Ford distributors, SDAC, has also confirmed to us that only a six-speed torque converter automatic transmission will be available for our market — no mentions of the six-speed manual has been made yet.

As we continue to wait for further news from SDAC, feel free to check out our detailed preview of the Ford Mustang and full gallery of the left-hand drive model that was on display at the Publika shopping mall early last year.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• This thing is almost 2 meters wide (1.9m) to cater to US fat asses. How to park this in KL?

Trying to park at Starhill or Westin for wedding? Valets gonna be happy being able to test test, rev rev, vrooom vroom all the time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • You can still park in KL expect for some of the very old buildings. I am driving a truck with a 1.92m width (inclusive of extruded tires) and i can get into most indoor parking with picky choice parking lots.

Typically, this is based on true story, many will not dare to park close to you if your vehicle is 1.9m wide as they will have problem getting out. Unless the person is driving a hot hatch or subcompact, they won’t have problem getting out.

• The new perdana is 1845mm wide. The mustang is only 55mm wider. Surely its not a big problem to park.

• FIST (Member) on Mar 14, 2016 at 10:52 am

haiyohhh,, crazy laaa Ford car prices nowadays.

• Why signing TPPA has no effect on Mustang car price?

• Really on Mar 14, 2016 at 4:25 pm

That’s the price to pay so our beloved PM can play a round of golf with the POTUS. The TPPA is lopsided in favor of the US, despite all those ‘smart’ ministers are spewing from their pieholes to defend the move to sign the TPPA.

• topkek smartass. TPPA sign today doesnt mean enforce tomolo, bub.
        Internal discussions (in Cabinet) need to happen and laws need to be re-aligned to suit. According to the agreement, it will come into effect in 2018. Next time, read before u yak from ur piehole.

• after signing japan free trade agreement which has zero import duty on japanese cars but manufacturers in the name of resale value are profiteering, dont expect anything from tppa unless you can stop the greed.

• stupid SDAC. We should all boycott SDAC for doubling the price for the mustang. Even with all the taxes the 2.3L Mustang shouldn’t be more than RM250k-300k

• bodoh never read on Mar 14, 2016 at 12:22 pm

bodoh. the tax already few hundred k. you dont know how car industry import duty and excise duties work then diam.

• Bro, the mustang is supposed to be around the same price as the entry level BMW 420i with no options in the UK. Why does it cost much more than the 428i M sport here? Care to explain? bodoh

• Consumer on Mar 14, 2016 at 1:47 pm

What weee said is right, which the price tag might shifted a little too much already. By comparing over focusST’s pricing, the mustang i assume we get is all premium(for both EB abd GT), still the number is way too far away. Maybe there are some special equation for this special car aside all the CBU import/excite duties? Share if anyone know how to calculate this. Cheers!

• Marque product definitely GP margin higher than ur focus/fiesta. Just like GTX Titan X compared GTX960.

• kukukiri on Mar 14, 2016 at 12:21 pm

spare parts……surely gonna wait for months before reaches Malaysia…

Ford cars aint famous for being durable. Good luck to the future owners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • dickless on Mar 14, 2016 at 1:57 pm

clearly if someone afford 500k car they will have other Mercedes or BMW to drive while waiting for spare. use your brain harder next time

• American dream is too expensive for Malaysian.

• Ainon on Mar 14, 2016 at 12:46 pm

The cheapest here is 4 times the US base price of $24k. If only the Dodge Challenger and Chevy Camaro have RHD then more competition and perhaps more sane prices.

• MrPoppyplants on Mar 14, 2016 at 1:58 pm

If SDAC does not learn how to calculate and price them properly, then good luck selling more than 10 of these in Malaysia.

• whyicanthavenicestuff on Mar 14, 2016 at 2:01 pm

the person who buy this must feel like ripoff driving half million car but feel like 100k car

• last year June open for booking

now only come? wow…so long

• paanjang16 on Mar 14, 2016 at 5:26 pm

SDAC will have a hard time convincing anyone to buy the Mustang at such as high price especially since we have already signed the TPPA. Shouldn’t it be cheaper? Would be a better choice to wait till the TPPA to come to full effect then buy the Mustang at a discounted rate?

• The mustang ford that driver on left side . how to driver on here ? better buy GTR 35 nismo more better and powerful only 3.8 liter 600hp more fast that mustang ! mustang ford 5.0liter only have 435hp and so expensive us brand !