2016 Subaru Forester to launch in Malaysia on April 14, prices start from RM144k, up to RM19k cheaper

2016 Subaru Forester Malaysia price

Following the regional debut of the 2016 Subaru Forester facelift at the Bangkok Motor Show, we now have official pricing for the SUV, direct from Glenn Tan, executive director of Tan Chong International.

During an interview session with the man himself, Tan revealed that the refreshed Forester will make its launch debut in Malaysia on April 14, 2016. As reported earlier, there will be two CKD variants – 2.0i, 2.0i-P and a sole CBU from Japan 2.0 XT up for grabs here.

The base Forester 2.0i will be priced at RM144,160, followed by the 2.0i-P at RM153,700. Both variants are powered by the same FB20 2.0 litre four-cylinder naturally-aspirated petrol engine (150 PS/198 Nm).

That’s considerably more affordable than the (CBU) outgoing 2.0i-L model, which is priced at RM163,590 (the new 2.0i and 2.0i-P are RM19,430 and RM9,890 less, respectively).

As for those who need the additional grunt offered by the XT with its FA20 2.0 litre turbo four-pot, the variant is now priced at RM210,940, which is a hike of RM2,830. All prices mentioned here are GST-inclusive, but without insurance and road tax.

We’ve been told that a special discount of RM3,000 will be offered when the vehicle is launched in Malaysia. However, it is only applicable for a limited time only. Colour options here include white, black, silver, bronze and grey.

The new Forester gains many updates and features, with the highlight being the new X-Mode that makes tackling off-road terrain (up to an extent) as simple as pushing a button.

Safety-wise, the Forester is equipped with seven airbags (dual front, sides and curtains, driver’s knee), Vehicle Dynamics Control (VDC), Hill Start Assist, ring-shaped reinforcement frame and ABS (with EBD and BA). The safety suite is standard on all variants.

2016-Subaru-Forester-2.0i-P-18_BM

Retaining its familiar exterior outlook, the Forester sees the introduction of LED headlamps (2.0i-P and XT), as well as a new front-end (2.0i only). Inside, the cabin has been updated to be more upmarket with a new infotainment system, steering wheel, gear shifter and multi-info colour display (2.0i-P and XT). Additionally, various trim pieces made of leather are added here as well.

Beneath the metal, the Forester’s suspension setup gets tuned to refine its ride and handling further. NVH also gets improved with additional sound proofing, and the usage of thicker glass on the car’s windows.

With the new Forester set to arrive in Malaysia real soon, would you consider the SUV over the CR-V, CX-5, X-Trail and Outlander? Let us know what you think in the comments below.

2016 Subaru Forester 2.0 XT

2016 Subaru Forester 2.0i-P

2016 Subaru Forester 2.0i

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Neonceejay on Mar 21, 2016 at 8:02 pm

So, basically you can have XT garang face without going garang. Does Subaru actually realize that the main selling point of forester is the Turbocharged XT? Adoi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Jepunks on Mar 21, 2016 at 8:07 pm

OMG….the turbo is so cheap! I thought it will be priced at 300k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
  • Minho on Mar 21, 2016 at 8:15 pm

Worse than CR-V, CX-5, X-Trail and Outlander

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 42
  • Wiwiwiwiw on Mar 21, 2016 at 8:23 pm

No mention on how many airbags. I guess it sticks to just two. It is no wonder that the Mazda CX-5 is selling like hot cakes – because it has six airbags fitted as standard on all specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 71
    • “Safety-wise, the Forester is equipped with seven airbags (dual front, sides and curtains, driver’s knee), Vehicle Dynamics Control (VDC), Hill Start Assist, ring-shaped reinforcement frame and ABS (with EBD and BA). The safety suite is standard on all variants”

Did you even read the article?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 1
  • Levorg lover on Mar 21, 2016 at 8:41 pm

Why don’t u ask mr Glenn bout the levorg ? Hopefully the 1.6 gts will reach our shore with reasonable price

• Willy on Mar 21, 2016 at 8:48 pm

seriously dont understand why motoimage chose to bring in this model as CKD… they should have selected XV hybrid as a better CKD model.. as our current hybrid tax exemption favours towards local assembly hybrid models.. by CKD XV hybrid enables motoimage to bring down the selling price further…

• At these prices, am no longer interested. Thanks for screwing up the prices again MI.

• Richard Joash Tan on Mar 27, 2016 at 3:52 pm

But I am interested in the XT. Thanks for screwing yourself again with your comments, DK

• excited, i am. but still expensive considering the engine is only 2.0liters, the competitors are cheaper now.

• Wow! The pricing is not too bad. I am seriously considering getting one for myself. Everything is good except the look which is a little bit outdated.

• Gargantia on Mar 21, 2016 at 9:45 pm

Wah so cheap RM 144k thanks to MAI / MITI AND AP system cronies… Rakyat Malaysian continues suffer high car price !!!

• Cheaper 20k so now this jepunis car just 4k more expensive than equivalent China MG GS in tomyamland (@141k). So yeah, its syukur time

• Well equipped and priced competitively but the external look hmmmm.

• xxxxxxxx on Mar 21, 2016 at 10:05 pm

More Subaru on the road

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Mar 21, 2016 at 10:42 pm

Bye bye crv and cx5…crv especially…good pricing subaru…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • Sandy Loo on Mar 21, 2016 at 10:42 pm

The new Fortuner much more desirable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
  • ben yap on Mar 21, 2016 at 11:02 pm

this SUV very hard to sell.

• about the same time Mitsu launched their new Outlander. Hmm…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 21, 2016 at 11:41 pm

would be a good competitor to the cx5 2.5 FL….but cx5’s fuel consumption and power still wins it for me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
  • Green hornet on Mar 22, 2016 at 6:10 am

I see literally ordinary people won’t buy new car this year for sure..all these car companies been earning so much over the years..just look at our selling price…now they eat back their profit now, n ultimately firing more people….

• BeemerFreak on Mar 22, 2016 at 6:33 am

The Mits outlander with its 7 seats should be alone in its class with that pricing unless Kia counters with an aggressive pricing for the new Sorento. Other than that it’s pretty much level playing field with the only car coming close to the Subaru in terms of spec being the cx-5

• OMG…the interior almost look like XV….Size a slight bigger than XV…engine also same..why i need to pay more for this?

• applegreen on Mar 22, 2016 at 11:09 am

pay more and you’ll get more airbags and features, bigger cabin space and X-mode

• autodriver (Member) on Mar 22, 2016 at 9:24 am

the NA version forester is just overlapping the xv which serve less meaning to consumer. XV is now selling about RM120k after discount and new forester is selling RM144k. The different of 24k but the spec of the car aren’t much different.

I drove the XV, the power isn’t adequate if 4 adults on board. and XV isn’t fuel saving what about this forester with bigger cabin and heavy weight. Not really eyes catching and good deal though.

• I am a proud owner of xv and feel it is a fantastic car…next after xv maybe i’ll go for forester..if subaru’s price is competitive…i’ll stay loyal to this brand..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • Two dislikes..LOL!!!no offence but subaru produced fantastic car…my xv sti drives well and furthermore..comes together with 100k km/5 years warranty and free service…

• No offence for those who only like to complaints..but subaru produced fantastic car…my xv sti drives well and furthermore..comes together with 100k km/5 years warranty and free service…

• Malansial muttal on Mar 22, 2016 at 10:51 am

sheesh. Nothing but negatives. obviously they wouldn’t have made the turbo a CKD model. too much at stake there. Idiots, the rest of the commentators are.

• Toyohatsu on Mar 22, 2016 at 3:50 pm

Just wait for the new Fortuner, ketu..wait cannot say, King Toyota can say arr?

• subaru fan on Mar 23, 2016 at 10:27 am

The look very outdated, Subaru with no turbo is big no no. They don’t know what people want in the market.

• Subi-Dubi-Doo on Mar 23, 2016 at 3:55 pm

It’s Subi-Snack time!

• Josh Ong on Mar 25, 2016 at 2:14 pm

I like Subaru brand. However, the exterior and interior a bit outdated. Could you please upgrade these?

• The Rich Guy on Mar 28, 2016 at 4:03 pm

They only manage to understand engine displacement and Hp but neglect the imporantce of torque and handling.

• The Rich Guy on Mar 28, 2016 at 4:14 pm

Apparently they never focus on handling and torque ( which is much more important than horsepower-no point having a car that has a whole lot of horsepower but no suitable place to unleash it. ) The handling of the Forester is on par with CX-5, even better for my case as I’ve already tested both of the cars. Fuel economy wise, of course the CX-5 wins but still the Forester still has acceptable fuel consumption despite of its AWD system. This beats a whole lot of competitors in the segment.