Microlino – modernised all-electric Isetta micro-car

Micro Mobility Microlino - 4

As urban environments become more congested, transportation and mobility is more of an issue. Micro Mobility Systems of Küsnacht, Switzerland, has resurrected perhaps the most famous micro-car, Isetta, and updated it for this generation.

Also known as “bubble cars,” the Isetta was designed and manufactured by Iso Rivolta of Italy in 1953, and licensed to several manufacturers around the world – notably BMW, which produced it in 250, 300 and 600 forms. Meant to provide cheap transport to post-war Europe, micro-cars fell out of favour as earning power increased and people wanted a ‘proper’ car.

Micro Mobility Microlino - 1

In the case of the Microlino, the five-decade old concept of a micro-car that is cheap to use, easy to drive, doesn’t require a car driver’s licence seems to have been resurrected. Starting in 2015, the Microlino started life as a series of design sketches, that became a rolling prototype in 2016.

Using a 15 kW electric motor, Micro Mobility claims the Microlino will reach a maximum speed of around 100 km/h, with a range of around 100 to 120 km. Classified under the Euro L7e category as a scooter with a roof, the Microlino falls under the same category as the Renault Twizy.

The design of the Microlino was developed in conjunction with ZHAW university and Designwerk, and manufacturing will be done in China under Kandi Technologies. Micro Mobility says on its website that because the Microlino is not classified as a car, it is not subject to crash testing. However, the Microlino has undergone simulated crash testing at speeds of up to 50 km/h.

Provisionally priced at between 8,000 to 12,000 euro (RM35,770 to RM53,650), the Microlino is expected to be on sale at the end of 2017, and will go into full production in 2018.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Jimmy on Mar 29, 2016 at 1:34 pm

How many entrances and exits are there?

• LOK CHYI YEU on Mar 29, 2016 at 2:04 pm

Is an upgrade from motorcycle to mini car

• dodgeviper88 on Mar 29, 2016 at 2:14 pm

Some enterprising people should bring it in here not as a vehicle but a motorized moving electrical appliance to circumvent our absurb car-tax

• Goes up to 100kmph and no license required to drive. If come here, MY pipu will drive it like suicidal maniac and if get into accidents, their excuse is no license required so din go driving skool. Again ini semua salah N…..

• According to Mike Brewer from Wheeler Dealers, some time ago, UK government gave incentives to all three wheelers owner a free road tax and you dont have to have a license to drive one. It is because these three whelers was not considered as a car back then. Thus the popularity of three wheelers car and several manufacturer invest their money in this sector, including BMW. Nowadays, probably all kena cukai lah agaknya, therefore nobody make one anymore, except Morgan. They make the Morgan 3 Wheeler. At the same price, i will always choose 4 wheelers.

• DAVID SEAGRAVE on Jul 31, 2017 at 10:54 pm

I am anxious to acquire a bubble car which does not need a licence to circumvent a deadlock with DVLA who forced me to take a test in a full size car which I failed ( I had hitherto driven an Aixam SL 500) I live in Dunfermline and I have lost access to most of the Highlands Can you recommend any electric bubble car ?

Yours hopefully David Seagrave