Renault Twizy EV launched in Malaysia, from RM72k

Renault_Twizy_Malaysia_ 003

Ever wanted a tiny two-seater zero-emissions electric vehicle that can zip through small alleys? You’re in luck, as the Renault Twizy is now officially on sale in Malaysia, priced at RM71,888 for the Urban, and RM73,888 for the Cargo variant.

As you can guess, it’s pretty small, this. It measures in at just 2.34 m long, and 1.23 m wide. It’s claimed to be able to achieve a total range of 100 km on the NEDC cycle. This 474 kg quadricycle’s 6.1 kW lithium-ion battery will charge from flat to 80% in a matter of 3.5 hours, through a standard 240 V three pin plug.

Power-wise, there’s a small electric motor that’s mated to a one-speed automatic transmission. It offers 17 hp and 57 Nm of torque, and runs from zero to 45 km/h in just 6.1 seconds, and from 30 to 60 km/h in 8.1 seconds. Zero to 100 km/h? Well, the Twizy tops out at 80 km/h.

The Twizy uses Pseudo McPherson struts with coil springs on all corners (apparently developed by Renault Sport) while the wheels are small 13-inch items (bi-tone alloys on the Urban, steel wheels on the Cargo) wrapped in 125/80 R13 tyres up front and 145/80 R13 tyres round the back.

Inside, there’s no air-conditioning in the Twizy, and neither does it have windows on the sides. Save for a windscreen that has a single wiper blade, one will have to rely on good ol’ fresh air to stay cool. Just hope that it doesn’t rain, though. A Bluetooth handsfree kit with music playback and a two-speaker sound system are standard.

As for storage, the Twizy Urban has a lockable 31-litre space underneath the driver’s seat, while the Cargo gets a bigger 180-litre area at the back. The larger cargo area takes up the space of the rear seat, however, making the Twizy Cargo a one-seater.

Safety-wise, there’s one airbag, a four-point seatbelt for the driver and a three-point belt for the rear passenger (Twizy Urban only, obviously). No, there’s no electronic stability control or traction control available.

The Renault Twizy comes with a two-year/50,000 km manufacturer’s warranty for the base vehicle, and a three-year/50,000 km coverage for the traction battery and electric drivetrain. The service interval is every 10,000 km or six months, in case you’re wondering.

So, the all-electric Renault Twizy. Any takers?

Renault Twizy Urban

Renault Twizy Cargo

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Ionlaw on Aug 20, 2015 at 7:48 pm

Do I need a B or D to ‘drive’ this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Guan Eng should use this instead of his S Keras. Be humble like the BN politicians instead of using a S Keras.

That is why we need more BN Ministers cause they are so humble and use Accordana

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
  • Ionlaw on Aug 20, 2015 at 7:49 pm

Do I need a B or D to ‘drive’ this.

• donno on Aug 20, 2015 at 7:49 pm

No aircons

No windows

Surely will get drenched in our tropical downpours, and drenched in sweat in our humid hot afternoons.

Btw how does a fully electric car be rated for roadtax?

• hailthepurist on Aug 20, 2015 at 8:34 pm

what else than lambo looks so sexy with scissor doors..

• Mason_ on Aug 20, 2015 at 9:18 pm

No aircond and window..that is a big minus for me…has to think twice…hehe

• Dr lala on Aug 20, 2015 at 9:23 pm

How much the road tax? And afraid have to prepare few power bank to standby if traffic jam.

• seriously?
    no aircond but selling in Msia?
    only for Cameron Highland people?

• Cameron also don’t want. The classic land rover sayur truck will smoke you if you trail them.

• panjang on Aug 20, 2015 at 9:56 pm

What is there to service at 10k km?
    I might want to check my washing machine manual if it says it require service after a set number of wash.

if its cheap then i might buy it.i have to go home a bit late everyday to avoid getting stuck in jam under the hot sun.

• Service centre on Aug 21, 2015 at 6:54 pm

Every 10,000 km, we need to top up battery with special water from France.
      MYR 2,500 per bottle at current exchange rate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • oh my god on Aug 20, 2015 at 10:39 pm

I seriously do not understand what JPJ allow it on the road. what is the safety measurement?

It is just like a golf buggy with registration plate.

Wait..golf buggy might be better as it can carry more passenger and stuff..

• anonymous on Aug 20, 2015 at 11:22 pm

Are you kidding? No air-conditioning sells at 72k? Absolutely ridiculous. Not gonna sell well for sure. Spend 50k on a myvi still have 22k for fuel zzz

• A two seater with no air-cond or full rain protection? In Malaysian traffic jams? Plus having everyone stare at you and fantasizing about strangling you? Back to where you came from then.

• Stormwarrior on Aug 21, 2015 at 11:33 am

Very true bro.. even i ride the E-scooter everyone on the road staring at me like 1 kind

• Motocup on Aug 20, 2015 at 11:56 pm

So basically it is a motorbike with a roof

• FaizalMisman on Aug 21, 2015 at 12:24 am

Got Honda EX5 with the GIVI box much better due can carry almost same thing. Spare part also easy to find with low emission.

• Look at it as an alternative transport. Oftentimes we want to pop out to the shops for some errands and out comes the humongus car suv truck or mpv. With a Twizy you can zip out with some protection from the elements. There are options to fit zip up windows on youtube. And you dont leave such a big carbon footprint. Price is a separate issue.
    Would i get one if i can afford it? I see the toyota iRoad as a nicer alternative but it loses out in terms of range 50km and top speed 30 kmh but with killer good looks

• I ate on Aug 21, 2015 at 7:50 am

Like others have said, no aircond no thanks. Shame, this would make a great fun vehicle or backup car.

• 72k for this??? NO THANKS…
    I’d rather spend my 72k for other type of much worth transport mean.

• I was very very interested until I read that there are no windows and aircond….. it is not suitable for the weather here..,

• Leonardo on Aug 21, 2015 at 9:00 am

It would better if this bike, errr car, errr CarBike, uses a hybride engine. Then it makes more sense. You can at least have a small air con, which is a MUST in Malaysia. And you will also have an extended range of more than 100km.
    For urban use, you run on Electric, and for longer range you can use the petrol. Also in case the battery dies off, you have a back up petrol engine to get you to your destination.
    And yes you also need proper windows, when you have stuffs in your car.

• thepolygonal on Aug 21, 2015 at 9:12 am

Can we use the bike lane on federal highway with this during rush hour?

• thepolygonal on Aug 21, 2015 at 9:14 am

Are these under ‘kereta’ or ‘motosikal’ when comes to the toll gate?

• Shaekey on Aug 21, 2015 at 10:44 am

Our highway need a minimum speed limit and with max speed of 80km/h, this vehicle should not be allowed on certain highway. And backhoe should not be allowed on any roads during rush hour and definitely should not be allowed on highways.

• Baik beli motorbike.

• sozai on Aug 21, 2015 at 11:52 am

what is the windscreen wiper for if this buggy tak boleh pakai during raining day. SA, can remove the wiper and get discount ah?

• Better buy preve…

• no windows?? no aircond?? hahaha.. who’ll buy this???

• tinmilo on Aug 24, 2015 at 11:50 am

well… maybe malaysia could use this to start some Tuk-Tuk business in the city…

• oklar on Nov 11, 2015 at 6:02 pm

FYI, JPJ have sent mail to the owners of this car. This Renault Twizy is prohibited to drive legally on road. This due afraid of accident due to lorry/bus driver visibility to see this small car on road.

• qiao hua on Jan 14, 2016 at 1:37 pm

if have air conr and window, im pretty sure will buy this , its cute !

• I feel interested and really want to get one until I saw it said without air-cond, WTF…forget about it.

• This car isn’t practical in Malaysia. Furthermore, with the same price…I would go for Honda city.