Honda to introduce emoji licence plates in the UK

HONDA INTRODUCE EMOJI LICENSE PLATES IN THE UK

Are you one to wear your heart on your sleeve? How about on your…number plate? That’s right, Honda has today (April 1) announced its plan to introduce emoji registration plates for its cars in the United Kingdom, and has revealed the world’s first official emoji plate on the new 310 PS Civic Type R.

The move is in response to demand from younger customers across the UK, and the company has planned initial talks with the UK’s Driver and Vehicle Licensing Agency (DVLA) to exclusively offer the plates starting in early 2017.

Honda said that in research conducted with British customers earlier this year, 96% of those aged under 30 preferred emoji plates over traditional licence plates, and 97% of the respondents admitted they now mainly use emoji faces to express an emotion or idea in texts or instant messages.

The plate fitted on the CTR includes the Japanese “circle of the sun” Hinomaru flag – symbolising Honda’s Japanese roots. Also featured are the red car and, of course, the keys to your first car.

“We are really excited to offer our customers a fun, quirky way to customise their car, which importantly, is reflective of their personality and lifestyle,” said Honda UK’s First Officer Of Licences Shigatsu Baka (we wonder what that name means in Japanese). “At Honda, we believe in innovation – and this concept is sure to be well-received by younger consumers for whom emojis are such a popular way of communicating.”

Enamoured by these new plates? What would your own plate say about yourself? Sound off in the comments section after the jump.

GALLERY: Honda Civic Type R at Tokyo 2015

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Apr 01, 2016 at 7:14 pm

We have our own emoji. We love our bas ekpres inspired stickers no smoking, wifi, 3G, VIP, karaoke, DVD, McDonald’s etc. True Malaysians have these stickers

• james on Apr 01, 2016 at 7:14 pm

catch u! April fool lah….

• skatax on Apr 01, 2016 at 7:23 pm

April Fool. Definitely

• Penggunaslals on Apr 01, 2016 at 7:34 pm

Plss la honda. Learn to make your car proper first la. See honda jazz. Can’t even match Ford Fiesta handling . Even Proton Iriz match the Fiesta handling . Don’t too over hype your type R plss Honda. Even A45 AMG produce more hp than yours . Try beat 381hp from AMG. And your 1.5 turbo engine . Even Proton 1.5 TGDi produce more hp than yours. 180hp 250nm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • aqeef on Apr 01, 2016 at 7:40 pm

if i drive a dry clutch veedub i would put sad emoji all the way

• Maxceed on Apr 02, 2016 at 12:56 am

Hahaha. Shigatsu Baka. I like that name, Fourth Month Fool

• honda UK on Apr 02, 2016 at 11:52 am

lame april fool joke

• KC Tee on Apr 02, 2016 at 3:14 pm

“Shigatsu Baka” is April Fool in Japanese

• Finger licking good on Apr 02, 2016 at 11:46 pm

Middle finger would be more suitable emoji on our car plate to protest against turning without signal,slow drive at fast lane,texting while driving,baby on driver seat & 50 stickers on windscreen.

• Aniki on Apr 03, 2016 at 5:01 pm

Yesterday i travel on a road with road block, the police are ready to go back to police station. On the way back we stop at a traffic light whereby they are heading to right while me n another Alphard in front of me is going straight. I notice something strange about the Alphard car plate and found that it is changing from MAR 109 to MARIO 9… I slightly honk the police car just right to my right hand side and they stare at me: “What you want?”. Then i point to my front to make a rectangular shapre with my fingers and they start to discuss in the car without making any decision. Then the traffic light turn green and they don’t even bother the Alphard… This is the attitude of Malaysia Authorities… We can’t enforce law like what Singapore government did if we want to improve our people mind to follow the rules and regulation…