Khairul first Malaysian to take maiden Moto3 GP win

89-pawi_gp_0133_0.big

In his first season in the Moto3 Grand Prix World Championship, and only his third race, 17-year old Khairul Idham Pawi of Honda Team Asia took first place at the Gran Premio Motul de la República Argentina, becoming the first Malaysian to do so. Held at the Termas de Rio Hondo racetrack, the race started wet, with Khairul opting for slick tyres in the hopes that the track would dry out, and banking on the high levels of grip from the track surface.

While South African Brad Binder of Red Bull KTM Ajo got a strong start, Khairul powered through the pack from his seventh place penalty spot on the grid to take a half-second lead by the middle of the first lap. Khairul collected a three place penalty during first free qualifying on Friday for riding too slowly – in the hopes of getting a tow from faster riders to improve his qualifying time – dropping his fourth place qualifying position to seventh.

Khairul finished the race in a time of 41’35.2″, ahead of Spaniard Jorge Navarro of Estrella Galicia 0,0 and Binder, beating them by 26.1 and 30 seconds respectively. Fellow Malaysian Adam Norrodin of Drive M7 SIC Racing Team managed 11th place after high-siding his bike within sight of the finish line. Locked in a battle for second with Navarro, Adam managed to push his bike across the finish, to the applause of the Argentinian crowd.

Lapping the course a consistent three seconds ahead of the rest of the field, Khairul’s performance has drawn praise from MotoGP fans. “For the race today I am so happy! There were difficult conditions on the track but I tried to keep my lap time and hang onto first position. I pushed really hard in the first lap to escape from the others,” said Khairul.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• WT Fuchhh on Apr 04, 2016 at 9:13 am

Congrats, ……You go , Khairul !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Congratz Khairul!
    I envy your ability but I will still support you throughout your carrier >,<

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Wee fuk yew on Apr 04, 2016 at 9:34 am

Congratulations to you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Congatulations!!! Keep the good performance until end of the season.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • oliver wong on Apr 04, 2016 at 9:47 am

Congratulation Khairul!!!!!
    Proud to be Malaysian!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • Hafiz on Apr 04, 2016 at 9:51 am

So sad for Ahmad Norrodin..

• Still proud of Ahmad Norrodin effort, not to give up and push the bike untill the end..

• Good job Malaysian! on Apr 04, 2016 at 9:51 am

This is proof that Malaysians can compete in the international stage with the right funding/sponsorship, hard work and proper guidance from the mentor/team…

On the other hand, what do Malaysians get by funding street rempit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
    • theanswer on Apr 04, 2016 at 10:51 am

plus, gov should realized that they should focus more on sports that can yield a good result. dont just spend millions on something that is controlled by royalties.

• TheSaint on Apr 04, 2016 at 10:03 am

Now…this is the real case of Malaysia Boleh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • amirad on Apr 04, 2016 at 10:35 am

Congrats. Its like winning a gold medal in the olympics. In the bantamweight division. Nevertheless a great victory.

• takeo1070 on Apr 04, 2016 at 11:21 am

the tickets running fast for Malaysia GP round….Bravo Khairul

• Its hard to be no1
    but harder to maintain on podium.
    Keep it up for this season.

• donno on Apr 04, 2016 at 11:41 am

Super KIP was easily the fastest rider in the moto3 race at Argentina, making the other riders look like they are doing a lazy afternoon ride. His pace was unbelievable, consistently riding more than 1 seconds faster than everyone on each lap for most of the race duration. Was hoping gor a 1-2 malaysian podium but alas norrodin fell on the very last corner in 2nd position, and had to push his bike across the finish line to salvage 11th position. Looking forward for the malaysian round of motogp this year. Very2 proud moment last night to hear the negaraku played on the motogp podium. To the government, please help our youngsters to properly channel their motorcycle talents, I believe we can create lots of future motogp champions, and this is more achievable than trying to get our football team to the world cup.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • Aero (Member) on Apr 04, 2016 at 12:05 pm

Well done Khairul Idham Pawi, my dua tangan thumbs up to you !

• Tanah Merah on Apr 04, 2016 at 12:09 pm

Watch the race yesterday, Man that was awesome Khairul ! What was really amazing is not just he won but how he destroyed the competitors. 20 + seconds ahead !!!
    Its was a damp track, a consistent 2 sec faster on each lap you would think he gamble on different tyre choice from the rest m got lucky, but NO ! ,all except one guy took wet tyre n it didn’t work out for that person.
    Again congrats Khairul !!!

• Great job both Kahirul & Ahmad, Khairul for a great win & Ahmad for your great sportsmanship and never say die attitude, proud of you both as Malaysian.

• nabill (Member) on Apr 04, 2016 at 1:24 pm

Good on u boy, u r alot more competent than the G combined…

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 04, 2016 at 1:49 pm

Tahniah. Amazing achievement to both riders for their bravery in treacherous conditions and never give up attitude (push the bike on foot to finish). Malaysia boleh. Hope this becomes catalyst for future riders to take up the sport, legally, of course.

• Rempit on Apr 04, 2016 at 1:54 pm

We got so many talented rider in Malaysia for motor racing (go see for yourself on the road every morning and evening), too bad we lack proper channel for them to step up higher. Racing on the track is luxury for most of our ‘hati kering’ rider, and those able to afford it just a few that able to bring it further (considering they need to focus on work and family, not to mention racing to be high risk sport).

I really hope great performance by Khairul Idham and Adam Norrodin will bring major improvement to our motor racing scene.

• Soo proud!!! welldone!

• should be Adam (not Ahmad) Norrodin…

• Ponggiri Ponggiri on Apr 04, 2016 at 11:10 pm

Pawi Power! Syabas. Not only did he win but he won in style. So far ahead and he was on slicks in the wet. Malaysia Boleh.

• Ahmadjr on Apr 05, 2016 at 2:11 pm

I will go watch them in Sepang this year for sure.