Pan Borneo Highway project in Sabah to launch Apr 23

Pan-Borneo-Highway

The Sabah section of the Pan Borneo Highway is expected to be launched on April 23, nearly seven months after the construction of the Sarawak section kicked off in early October, according to Bernama.

The national news agency quoted Sabah chief minister Datuk Seri Musa Aman as saying that the event will be officiated by prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak at Jalan Donggongon-Papar. Stretching some 706 km, the project is slated to cost around RM12.8 billion.

“Jalan Donggongon-Papar will be the first phase that will be developed under the Pan Borneo Highway Project and it will be launched by the prime minister,” Musa said, adding that the stages of the highway project’s implementation, along with the identity of the contractor involved in the construction, will also be revealed at the event.

“We have not only been given the opportunity to bring the highway into existence, but our local contractors will also be involved in the construction of the highway. This was the prime minister’s promise and he will fulfil that promise,” he said.

During the previous Sabah parliament sitting, deputy chief minister and Sabah minister of infrastructure development Tan Sri Joseph Pairin Kitingan said that the 11.7 km Jalan Donggongon-Papar is one of the earlier phases that will be build under the Pan Borneo Highway Sabah project, along with Jalan Tawau-Semporna between kilometre 45 and 47.9 and the 7.1 km Jalan Lahad Datu Bypass.

In total, the Pan Borneo Highway will span 2,239 km from Sabah to Sarawak, has a ceiling budget of RM27 billion and is expected to be completed by 2025.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• jibby martha focker on Apr 05, 2016 at 5:23 pm

it’s amazing how much more they can rob in broad daylight

• Sabahan & Sarawakian like. Cuz this time rob from peninsular and gip to east MY.

• nickson on Apr 05, 2016 at 9:23 pm

lol… penisular rob frm e.m

• WT Fuchhhh on Apr 05, 2016 at 9:28 pm

Sudah..lah. Again trying to bribe the Borneo people to vote for You. Bad habits die hard. Dekelarasi rakyat is Deklarasi Borneo against gomen injustice.

• nabill (Member) on Apr 05, 2016 at 5:46 pm

That pic alone has got so much sin…

• AbdulB on Apr 05, 2016 at 10:32 pm

wow crap… RM12.8 Billion?! That’s RM18mil per kilometer average. Patutlah rakyat derita…

• Do u think sabah & sarawak is wide as-far-as-u-can-see open area like in US midwestern kah? Building hiway there is 2~3X more complex than in peninsular.

• Really on Apr 06, 2016 at 3:45 am

Now you know why all those in the picture are smiling like they just hit the jackpot. They basically did, at the expense of the taxpayers.

• Visitor on Apr 05, 2016 at 11:02 pm

Actually, the Donggongon-Papar section is now being upgraded to 4 lane highway. Kind of like do all the works first, then publicise later.

Will be very interesting on how the highway will be upgraded along the Tamparuli- Sandakan section. Highest point would be about 1,500m above sea level.

• B-Unggul on Apr 06, 2016 at 2:28 am

Using KM post with number 1 will be more appropriate.

“Satu….”

• Really on Apr 06, 2016 at 3:40 am

Let us see how long the roads can remain in good condition. The highway should be of high quality, if all that 12.8B really gone into its construction. Sadly, the reality is this will be just be another disappointment for us. They won’t build it to be too good. As you know, maintenance is another way to ‘cari makan’ for the cronies.

• Is this free highway?
    or it come with tollbooth as a package?
    HaHaHa.

• parkjw on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:26 am

I see you have been living under a rock, how big are rocks in peninsular huh?

there will be no tolls in sarawak. beat that, bitching keyboard warriors.

• parkjw on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:25 am

can the west monkeys shut up for good?
    who cares how much the highway costs? we can use it for free!

unlike west monkeys who only bash bash bash can tcss, do nothing but online keyboard warriors, we appreciate what the good government has done for us in sarawak.

• stasta on Apr 06, 2016 at 2:50 pm

at least WM have open their eyes to BN corruption. EM still living under a rock, throw a few goodies to u already so happy. no wonder bN call u their fix deposit.

• FarKing Clown on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:59 pm

I wonder who will benefit from the timber chopped down from 2239km of planned highway. Raped again!!!