No Goods Driving Licence (GDL) for foreigners – JPJ

Lorry driveshaft 2

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) stated that it has not issued the Goods Driving Licence (GDL) to foreigners, according to a Bernama report.

According to director-general Datuk Seri Ismail Ahmad, the GDL is restricted to citizens and permanent residents of Malaysia. Foreigners on the other hand, will only be issued with the Competent Driving Licence (CDL) to allow them to drive in Malaysia.

That said, the DG believes that there is a syndicate selling the GDL licence illegally. “Probably, there is a syndicate involved in this activity. The syndicate has deceived foreigners into believing they will get JPJ approval and sell GDL for between RM300 and RM500,” he claimed.

Ismail also stated that should foreigners be caught carrying the GDL, they would be slapped with summonses and court action. In addition to that, the vehicles used by foreigners for business purposes would be confiscated as they were classified as commercial vehicles.

Elsewhere, the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) has been given the go-ahead to take control of the issuance of GDL licences, along with vocational driving licences and Public Service Vehicle (PSV) licences by 2017. The move however has brought into question the commission’s capability in handling the issuance of licences and the commission’s absence in East Malaysia.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing's better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that's designed and built for that purpose.

• spongewai on Apr 14, 2016 at 11:26 am

nowadays all foreigners who driving any vehicles or riding motor totally ignored the traffic rules

man, totally dangerous

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Mamat Paki tak perlukan gdl. Brg boleh sumbat masuk dlm kereta. Masuk kampung, berniaga. Mudah betul mrk nk berniaga kat sini.

• Gargantia on Apr 14, 2016 at 11:59 am

Ministers Act, supporters just follow… Ministry can car speed said Nur Jazlan. So supporters just follow…

• nabill (Member) on Apr 14, 2016 at 12:24 pm

Ya, bcos locals are doing such a fine job following all the rules… Ignorance stupid-fied..

• Alibaba on Apr 14, 2016 at 11:37 am

Really? No foreigners? I’ve seen countless tipper trucks, lorries driven by foreigners. Those foreign”students” also drive their vehicles like their father’s road.

• UMW TOYOTA on Apr 14, 2016 at 1:10 pm

GDL lesen E bersendi..rm2000 only

• komrad on Apr 14, 2016 at 3:15 pm

some of them driving mtro bus…

• sparcov on Apr 14, 2016 at 3:30 pm

if the accident involved the politician, minister family… blame yourself for your ignorance and approval of foreigner driver in the country.

• Greedy MY pipu sells fake items to unsuspecting foreigners then blame Gov for being corrupt. I see what they did there.

• Taskforce lagi on Apr 14, 2016 at 6:22 pm

In Malaysia, even Bangla can buy pilot license if the price is right…from the right party. Someone mentioned that “Cash is King”, remember?

• Ollie on Apr 15, 2016 at 2:56 pm

Foreigners are much safer drivers than Malaysians.

• Shaan on Apr 16, 2016 at 6:50 pm

Totally agreed with you…the malaysian stupids don’t even know how to drive in the parking lot only know how to blame people…sometimes they talk about politician sometimes they talk about foreigners …if foreigners are not here..you guys would have begging from other countries…they are investing here….i admit some foreigner don’t want to abide the rules but you can’t have rights to say to all the foreigners …if 1 among 100 done something wrong as a outcome u can’t blame all of them 100 person…grow up malaysian people grow up..god bless you