Mazda Soul Red production too time-consuming for CKD, may be introduced as option – Nippon Paint

mazda3-sedan-australia

Those of you who have bought locally-assembled (CKD) Mazda models such as the Mazda 3 and CX-5 may have noticed that the signature Soul Red Metallic is absent from the list of available colours. At the launch of its Automotive Trend Colours 2016/2017 yesterday, Nippon Paint – supplier of paints for Mazda’s CKD operations and creator of Soul Red – has finally revealed the reason for the striking hue’s omission.

When asked by paultan.org, assistant general manager for industrial use (IU) marketing Ong Eng Keong said that the four-coat metallic finish sapped too much productivity to be used at Inokom’s Kulim plant, where local distributor Bermaz is building the CKD models.

“As far as CKD [assembly] of Mazda is concerned, Soul Red was never a choice for them because of [the colour’s] four-coat system,” he said. “Having to coat four times would mean that you lose half of your productivity, because the car has to go to the oven three times.”

However, Ong also hinted that buyers may be able to get the colour as an option in the future, although they shouldn’t get their hopes too high up. “[Bermaz] is studying as an option to use Soul Red for CKD models, but they have not actually confirmed it yet,” he said.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Mangali Singh on May 13, 2016 at 1:33 pm

Coat four times only go in oven three times? Should be Four times oven no? Last coat no need oven dry?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
    • Brader, u go in try then let us know. topkek!

• If the Japanese can do it, why not here? Malaysia people got lower productivity than Japan people?

• Shine on May 16, 2016 at 1:59 pm

It’s a common and well known fact Malaysian has lower productivity than Japanese, and many other countries workforce too.

• 4G63T DSM on May 13, 2016 at 1:59 pm

Suspect the middle translucent colour coat is wet-wet application.

base coat -> Oven -> 2 coat translucent colour -> Oven -> Clear coat -> Oven.

• hanye tan on May 13, 2016 at 2:22 pm

You tend to miscount between number of coat and oven by inhaling too much fume from the paint. so will cause issue to productivity.

• wilson on Jun 01, 2016 at 4:07 pm

macam 4 days 3 night theory

XD

• Postscript on May 13, 2016 at 1:41 pm

better be quick. the Civic is coming real soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
    • People who have driven honda’s before will not go back. Granted its a great first car but after owning one i’ll need something ‘better’ in the future. Maybe people who dont like or know anything about driving will stay with hondas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • Acrix on May 14, 2016 at 10:12 am

What would you recommend then?? Since you gave such a comment please do offer a solution.

• Hondabest on May 14, 2016 at 12:15 pm

Please explain. They are many Honda worshippers here wanting to know

• IrizX on May 15, 2016 at 4:41 pm

Your point is moot. Honda and Toyota was never about driving. Most malaysians don’t care about driving. What they care is fuel efficient, big space, good rv, reliable and a huge boot. Which Honda hits every marks.

Mazda car has always failed when it comes to space and continues to do so.

As much as you like to think, drivability is only applicable to a small group of enthuasist drivers. See how Proton failed even with Lotus Ride and Handling? The market doesn’t gives a fcuk.

• Matsuda Seiko on May 13, 2016 at 1:46 pm

Why not have a special CKD Soul Red with only 2 coats so productivity not affected. Can call it S-Soul Red. Yes, S-Soul Red. Hyphen must be there for correct pronunciation to denote ‘Special’ local version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • 4G63T DSM on May 13, 2016 at 1:54 pm

Because it wouldn’t work.

Most paintjobs are 2 coat. A colour coat and a clear coat.

While I can’t say how mazda’s “soul red” goes on, Some special paint with especially deep tone (ie. Candy Apple Red), require a base metallic coat (could be silver) before a translucent colour coat is applied (maybe up to 2 or 3 coats) and then a final clear coat.

• Edward on May 13, 2016 at 3:24 pm

Because the pronounced effect and glow of the Soul Red won’t be visible. It would be the same metallic red color as all other brands.

But this also means that the soul and attention to detail philosophy of the Japanese is lost when your cars is being CKD-ed.

• Suzuka Mayojita on May 13, 2016 at 3:49 pm

Malaysian very cincai one, jus one coat can de, make sure warranty excludes paint issue can de…

• ae101 on May 13, 2016 at 4:15 pm

In every manufacturing production, all tasks have proper procedures defined in order to minimize defect output. Is hard to produce something in between. Imagine one batch this output and another batch different. It would create a big mess. That’s why end of day, either you continue or drop it.

• Tong Sampah on May 13, 2016 at 1:48 pm

in short, cost cutting so they get more profit..what productivity? it shows also Bermaz has no soul to make Mazda marketing even though they grab the initial hype for the CX5 and 6.
    Now the 3, 2 and CX-3 all sucks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Just like how Mazda announced that they will not increase price like other competitors due to the currency exchange but they give so called product update in Mazda 2 and charge extra 5k for the LED headlights and DRL.

• BAMYouHaveAIDS on May 13, 2016 at 1:50 pm

go to some ah beng shop and spray lah, ezi.

• Malai on May 13, 2016 at 2:40 pm

Like Proton 1 coat Red, after a year became pink! eyesore, Mazda never compromise quality of paint job!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Andas on May 13, 2016 at 7:13 pm

My persona is 7 yrs old.. she still look red.. no pink leh.. or maybe ur eyes got cacing inside.. better check.. hope ur company cover the ops. Expenses..

• Danny on May 13, 2016 at 2:50 pm

Accident claim also 4x?

• Ben Yap on May 13, 2016 at 2:56 pm

any colour will do as long as your service center give good after sales service.

• Rommy on May 13, 2016 at 3:19 pm

i have this color on my Mazda 2, a little bit regret for choosing this color, because when it get scratched and need to be repaint, the color will be very different.

• Aero (Member) on May 13, 2016 at 3:26 pm

I know that Bermaz has limited capacity at the Inokom plant, but they shouldn’t discontinue the Soul Red colour. It’s the most iconic and symbolic colour for Mazda’s new Kodo design models… the same way you’d want a Ferrari in red, or a Lamborghini in yellow… or even a Mercedes-Benz in silver.

I hope Berjaya will find it in their hearts (and wallets) to build an exclusive Mazda-only assembly plant in the near future. They will have full control of operations, and need not worry about outside intervention and sibling rivalry. Honda, Nissan and Toyota all have their own plants here (Nissan has two, no less). But Mazda has no choice but to share the same Inokom plant with Hyundai, BMW, Mini and some smaller players. Hyundai and Mazda are direct competitors too.

I believe Mazda can become the no.1 non-national brand in Malaysia within the next 5 to 10 years… why ? Mr. Ben Yeoh. As long as he’s there, Mazda will keep on zooming.

• carazy on May 13, 2016 at 5:21 pm

Under tree workshop can mix-matching color like peanuts. Why complicated simple thing? If u want to win in this fast changing world, pls don’t make SOP that make u mad.

• Kancil Hybrid on May 13, 2016 at 7:34 pm

Just use colour wrap la.. Like Merc GLE Coupe and Kancil.

• KennyFang on May 13, 2016 at 7:36 pm

Soul red looks good but you won’t like it if you need to respray a panel. It’s impossible for workshops to imitate and the colour will turn out very different.

• Josh Ling on May 13, 2016 at 11:01 pm

ya, the problem will arise when you have to respray….i think that’s probably one of the main reasons why many car owners don’t like to go for some new funky colours for their cars too. it will be a headache when it comes to respray, especially when only certain panels need it.

• Jobless on May 13, 2016 at 9:10 pm

Me thought last time same reasonHyundai discontinued ckd the red in Elantra (tat time selling Rm99,999)…but saw some Elantra in light blue paint sucks, thebumper color doesmtmatch the body

• willie on May 14, 2016 at 9:28 am

What else, Mazda Malaysia wanna generate more profit. Wasting too much time in painting reduce total production car per week.

• too time consuming?
    available in future?
    indirectly it will be a premium price to pay for that option colour XD

• Berembun on May 16, 2016 at 1:26 pm

I just picked up my car from the mazda center PJ. Need to respray the bonnet due to stone hitting it the other day

The color is soul red. Yup true, you cannot get exact shade. From fsr it looks the same but closer you will immediately notice differences,the ripple effect not there. The repainted area all smooth..

The SC did a rather poor job the dent can still be seen from an angle. Looks like they just grind off the scratchef area and paint it off..should have cemented the area before psinting. Sakit hati la but what to do. They offered to redo it but i cannot leave the car there for a few more days as i need the car to go to work. Only consolation for me they say they wont charge for the psint job. I donno..but i rather pay for a job well done.

So those driving mazda soul red color be prepared to face disapointment la..

Overall,rather poor paint job by mazda SC PJ. They did even bothered to wash off the polishing grime.

Datok Ben,i hope you are reading this…your/mazda’s comments expected…