Illegal for “vigilante” motorcyclists to damage vehicles hogging emergency lane too, says PDRM

Ever get annoyed by drivers hogging the emergency lane? According to the News Straits Times, the police warned against motorcyclists taking the law into their own hands by damaging those vehicles, as they could be charged under Section 427 of the Penal Code for committing mischief.

City traffic police chief Assistant Commissioner of Police (ACP) Mohd Nadzri Hussain told the English language daily that such an act is an offence, even if the motorcyclists’ intended to discourage other motorists from using the emergency lane.

He added that those who do would be committing a double offence, as they would also be occupying the emergency lane. “The emergency lane cannot be occupied even by motorcycles,” he said.

Nadzri was referring to a video showing a number of “vigilante” motorcyclists entering the emergency lane and kicking the side mirrors of vehicles in the emergency to teach the drivers a lesson. The Facebook viral video attracted mixed comments – with some praising the motorcyclists’ actions, while others were irked by the unlawful behaviour. It is unclear when and where the incident occurred, and who recorded the video.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Anonymous on Jun 06, 2016 at 10:15 am

One group of idiot deserving another. That’s
    the way to go.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 6
    • donasi ke mencuri ke alasan pon salah. PDRM pergi tangkap org tu la. x perlu sibuk kes kecil sini

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • rempit nyawa semut on Jun 06, 2016 at 10:47 am

haha… bazir duit beli kamera tp xde duit beli kereta… pandan mrk ditolak hujan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 35
        • Papa G on Jun 06, 2016 at 11:18 am

Ada juga yang ada kereta tapi menunggang motor ke tempat kerja semata – semata nak elak jem ngan tol ngan parking tau

kamera itu gak di jadikan dash cam untuk kereta – kereta yang dimiliki juga!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 8
          • safety 1st on Jun 06, 2016 at 1:51 pm

Papa G,
            Naik motor elak jem to work? means cutting q, weaving lanes and ride between cars at the expanse of other road user to get to work faster right? other road user gets his car scratches, dented and some side mirrors broken because of their action, and some also involve in accident when these motorbike buzzing in and out of lanes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 28
        • wei. ada ke kereta harga camera? bodo ini olang

• Mau ajar orang, sendiri pun lalu emergency lane.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 11
  • Kipas angin on Jun 06, 2016 at 10:30 am

Motor pun salah juga guna lorong kecemasan. Phuii…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 11
  • kuriang on Jun 06, 2016 at 10:39 am

Then, give a solution lah!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
    • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 07, 2016 at 2:13 am

Solution? Don’t use the emergency lane. Not as car driver, not as motorcyclist. Everyone stick to the normal lanes, as they should.

• So build motorcycle lane la. not toll free highways where cars are least used.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • thetun on Jun 08, 2016 at 6:49 pm

Building an additional bike lane means a huge cost for buying the land from private owners and huge cost for paving the new road and moving existing structures along the roads.

Just look into the costs PLUS had to bear when they expanded the highway north of Rawang to 3-lanes.

Bikes dont pay toll to use the highway, it makes no fking sense to spend so much money and ask car drivers to pay for it. Either ride the bikes with the cars or dont ride a all.

• motorcar on Jun 06, 2016 at 10:46 am

The case similar as happened in Malacca & Penang while the big truck ramming through the double park motorist. Motorcyclist & Truck is a road judger.:D :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • swoosh3553 on Jun 06, 2016 at 10:55 am

I am for the motorcyclist! There is no longer anyway of preventing car drivers to use emergency lane during traffic jams. Though the bikers are technically at fault too, but bikes will easily be able to swerve along any parked stationary car in the emergency lane, unlike cars that will squeeze the left lane users and cause further stress and slow traffic. (BTW, I am a driver and also biker and I do not use the emergency lane even if there is a traffic standstill!)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 37
    • seancorr (Member) on Jun 06, 2016 at 11:28 am

Correct me if I’m wrong but didn’t those two kids who died recently due to slow response from the ambulance used the emergency lane only to crash into s stalled vehicle?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
    • Encouraging people to destroy property of others is stupid. What if they start to pull down your wife’s skirt because it is too short or burn down your house because it is too noisy? Is it still OK with you?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 5
  • safety 1st on Jun 06, 2016 at 10:56 am

the motorcylcist not only get to use the highway for free… then they use the emergency lane and now they are kicking other vehicle side mirror… unbelievable

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 12
    • Paying money doesnt mean u are king , if car driver never simply occupy emergency lane .that eill be no problem at all .I’m a driver and motorcyclist lives in K L .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 22
      • Lion Group Property on Jun 07, 2016 at 1:14 am

Who the f*** gives motorcyclist permission to kick people’s side mirror? Ask your father to pay the damages before you try to speak. Dare you!!

• So you want to play ‘teaching lesson”? Can car drivers bulldoze bikes on non-bike lane along Federal Highway?

What about bikes parked under bridges and flyover during raining? They are not supposed to stop there.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 7
    • Cool down .I can feel ur anger. Ww need to have Big heart.sekarang susah cari hidup di malaysia.

• charge toll for motorcyclist lo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
    • U wanna kenakan mereka .soon u kenakan sendiri sahaja .think wisely

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • Kurang Ajar on Jun 06, 2016 at 11:14 am

these mat rempit so kurang ajar, leave this to the law but not themselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
  • merzlover on Jun 06, 2016 at 11:15 am

The bikers in the video are “abang-adik”, so there will be no actions taken from PDRM..so don’t worry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • orang biasa on Jun 06, 2016 at 12:11 pm

at highway got bike lane meh?!!!!? No bike lane, biker use what lane? Left lane? nak potong guna right lane? Superbike boleh lah… kapcai bike boleh potong dgn speed 110km/h serata dgn kereta speed?! Emergency lane utk emergency used, kito orang biasa tahu. Tapi kapcai motor tak boleh bawak laju macam superbike, of course kena guna emergency lane+bike lane. Kalau guna left lane, nanti kereta marah kata kapcai biker BTC (no education). So harap itu Tuan jangan cakap syor syor without fikir orang biasa pakai highway. Ingat semua org biasa pakai superbike ke?!?! pi lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 39
    • safety 1st on Jun 06, 2016 at 1:47 pm

orang biasa,
      law is law la bro, orang susah or orang senang subjected to the same law,if you think your bike not suitable to be on the highway because it is too slow, by all means, sila guna the trunk road. jangan menyusahkan org lain yang bayar toll

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 12
  • takNakP1 on Jun 06, 2016 at 12:15 pm

this is the result of screw up nation from the root. all parties is at fault in this modern world with state-of-the-art technology.

• cheung on Jun 06, 2016 at 12:18 pm

those mamats sze beh kwai lan.
    haha.
    the lane is so wide for them to ride through and yet still want to cari pasal.
    ish ish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • Stupid kiasu driver on Jun 06, 2016 at 12:33 pm

All those fuming against the bike here is either a lame ass car driver or they themselves have used the emergency lane, cutting ques and etc. And for those narrow minded crap kiasu thinking that “i’m better than you because i’ve a car”, u should stop reproducing. Ask your wife to start taking pills.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 25
    • safety 1st on Jun 06, 2016 at 1:54 pm

so you are better than anyone else that you condone the act of damaging other’s properties? I think the one that always cutting the queues are the bikers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
      • If u didnt simply enter emergency lane .blocking other user on the road .no case at all

• Vigilante?….hahaha…these mofo as just rempit samseng.

• Motor rempit ? Car also got a lot of rempit .especially homda civid.an BMW snd merc just chilling at the mid lane .

• Biker who drives on Jun 06, 2016 at 12:44 pm

I often ride to my office in Penang which normally takes 50% lesser time than driving my car. I dont agree that people who ride do not have money, but majority of them ride for convenience purpose. Even though the law states that only emergency vehicle and so called VIP can use emergency lane, bikers using emergency lane on the highway would not cause traffic jam that much compared to cars and other large vehicles. I am sure that when you drive and if you see cars using emergency lane during traffic jam, you will feel angry (unless you are among them).

Sometimes laws are bullshit. For example, bribary is wrong and should be severely punished but our top leaders are doing it openly without getting executed. To those responsible agencies, dont waste time with small problems like this. Better get your butt off to work on big problems.

P/s: Even though everyday I feel like kicking side mirrors, I dont do that because I know that these drivers who use emergency lane will never care and learn. They are in fact born with this shit attitudes.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 6
    • Biker who have 2 cars and own properties on Jun 06, 2016 at 1:18 pm

Totally agreed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • safety 1st on Jun 06, 2016 at 2:00 pm

biker who drives, same like me bro, everyday I feel like ramming over these bikers when they weaving in and out of lanes and squeezing their bike between cars causing scratches and dents, I don’t do that because I know that these riders who behave like that will never care and learn. They are in fact born with this shit attitudes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
      • Should blame the public transport dept lah ..why fight agiant each otherv?signs

• Storm on Jun 06, 2016 at 1:32 pm

I got a solution which solve all these nonsense but too bad I’m not in the ministry so I’ll keep it myself

• Use your brain la people. Just coz a few rempit apes go kicking around cars doesn’t mean every biker is a barbarian on wheels. Some of us just want to commute to work, no harm. Maybe some stupid drivers should stop facebooking while driving and causing accidents, how about that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Yes.i got tons of footage the driver facebooking ehile driving .

• Confuse City Traffic Officer Statement on Jun 06, 2016 at 2:37 pm

He added that those who do would be committing a double offence, as they would also be occupying the emergency lane. “The emergency lane cannot be occupied even by motorcycles,” he said.

That’s very interesting, I always though it was a emergency lane but also double as a motorcycle lane as a lot of roads don’t have both emergency & bike lane !!! So if the bikes cannot use the emergency lane & they have no bike lane, they will have to use the normal car lanes making it worst for cars …. CAn somebody confirm this ???!!

• Not Toyota Fan on Jun 06, 2016 at 3:41 pm

Since when have rempits bikers follow the law? The whole freckin’ road belongs to them. Jalan ini milik siapa?

• Bernard on Jun 06, 2016 at 3:16 pm

Thank you Mat Rempits although you are also committing offences i.e criminal damage, road traffic offences etc etc.

But Thank You.

• David on Jun 06, 2016 at 6:01 pm

That’s a violent mat yo-yo!

• Seriously on Jun 06, 2016 at 7:14 pm

Okay. It is illegal for motorbikers to occupy the emergency lane. Correct. Now imagine what happens when all the bikers starts to occupy your car lane. What will happen?

• Diesel Power!!! on Jun 06, 2016 at 10:55 pm

Law is law, any1 break any law must face the music.. Enforcement must do their work. Cant take excuse for any1 to act on his own. I do agreed bikers got cars themself, but wat if when u drive ur cars, some bikers kick & scratch ur car?

Anyway, must build a dedicated bike lane for the goodness of both. Used to have such during Tun M time, even in town,but y now dun hv already? If the highway builders can build a nice highway, is just a little effort for them to provide the bike lane.

Bike zigzag between cars really danger themselves, especially raining time. And fyi, cars hv blindspot, and most of the time cant even know there is a bike coming from behind in speed coz we are focusing at front.

I dun mind to subsidized them by paying toll, all I want is safety. Tq.

• Diesel Power!!! on Jun 06, 2016 at 10:57 pm

Sometimes, even when u paying toll at the tollbooth, there is a bike sprint thru beside u…this is really annoying!!

• peter chong ton nen on Jun 07, 2016 at 1:27 am

Anti mat rempit

• azrai on Jun 07, 2016 at 7:58 am

Kata dulang, paku serpih. “The pot calling the kettle black”

• safe and slow driver on Jun 07, 2016 at 9:12 am

today i was chased by a motor bike cause i horn at him he suddenly cut inform of my car almost hit my light .his bike has no rear signal and brake light
    at the batu caves round about heading to mrr2. he actually chase me untill the whole mrr2 brige… hmm road bully i guess

• Bernard on Jun 07, 2016 at 4:28 pm

Don’t horn at people unless you are Hulk Hogan or Jet Lee.

• namanama on Jun 07, 2016 at 9:35 am

KAHKAHKAH…

• Diesel Power!!! on Jun 07, 2016 at 1:14 pm

Road users are getting more uncivilized now, what happen to our beloved country? Is acting on their own is permitted now?Do they know what is the name of morale, tolerancy?

What if they or their family is the victim of those bullies?

What is vision 2020 if the mentality of the people is like barbarian???

• joe labu on Jun 07, 2016 at 4:11 pm

Don’t blame mat rempit only , you all should blame the stupid driver that use emergency lane , if one day u all accident & ambulance late come , i think your wife & kids will smile to see your death body

• MalaysiaTakBoleh on Jun 07, 2016 at 4:17 pm

Was hoping to see the cb motorcyclist to fall down after his sidekick

• good job motorcyclists..u guys deserve an award..always hated asshole fcuktards who use the emergency lane

• mat rempit on Jun 08, 2016 at 7:58 am

Malaysia TakBoleh , how about the stupid car driver use emergency lane , give thumbs up ka ? or give reward because be a silent killer

• lolol on Jun 09, 2016 at 11:46 am

if referring to the last accident, technically they killed themselves. it’s daytime there’s no way they can’t spot the broken car unless they’re speeding/weaving like crazy.

• What do u expect from mat rempit? Breaking the law all these while and now have a chance to do what they think is right, of course do it wholeheartedly la.

• Rapeface on Jun 13, 2016 at 1:38 am

I think we malaysian road users learned from the russians, always road raging for no reason and became obsessed with dash cam whatsoever and then say CYKA BLYAT!!!!!