Alfa Romeo is planning on building a rival for the Mercedes-Benz E-Class, BMW 5 Series and Audi A6, according to a report by AutoExpress. The new Alfa model will slot in above the Giulia, which competes in the compact sedan market.
In terms of details, the Giulia will likely share its rear-wheel drive platform with the new Alfa, along with its range of diesel and petrol engines. The former includes a 2.2 litre oil burner that has three states of tune – 135 hp, 180 hp and 210 hp, plus a potentially new V6 diesel powerplant.
Petrol offerings include 2.0 litre unit, also with three power outputs – 180 hp, 250 hp and 330 hp. Fiat Chrysler chief technology officer Harald Wester also hinted that the Giulia Quadrifoglio’s 2.9 litre bi-turbo V6 engine with 505 hp and 600 Nm of torque might be offered as well. Transmission options for all the suggest engines include an eight-speed auto and six-speed manual.
Alfa Romeo’s Europe boss Fabrizio Curci has gone on the record to say that the new Giulia platform will support electrification, although that isn’t expected until around 2018. Therefore, plug-in hybrid, hybrid and even full electric version of the Alfa’s new 5 Series/E-Class/A6 fighter may debut after the combustion engine versions.
As for its looks, Theophilus Chin has rendered what Alfa’s upcoming model may look like, merging the Giulia with a Maserati Ghibli. As the rumoured mid-size sedan has yet to be confirmed (or even named for that matter), Theo has christened his creation – Giorgio.
The Italian brand has stated that it it aiming to launch eight new models including the Giulia, by 2020. Other models part of this business plan include a new SUV, reportedly called the Stelvio.
I saw a Giulietta in the car park in Mid Valley yesterday. It’s good that Malaysians have so much disposable income they can buy a car which doesn’t work. Thanks Najib!
Rear copy new A4
Bashers bash car prices in bolehland expensive, better work hard lor so can buy any car they want. Even Maybach also can.
Najib’s rear copy A4 paper
why it doesn’t work?
Nice! but in my opinion not much Italian feel. The headlights reminds me of Toyota Vios. Still prefer the 159 headlights:)
Long time ago, some joker motoring claimed that a perdana v6 have better handling than the alfa 156 and thus, the nickname Alfadana.
Today the 156 still looks good and i dare to says, the interior is still better looking than the new accordana. Check out the italian leather on the 156. It will make our so called national prestige car a joke.
Yeah yeah, and this car sold for what price? And you didn’t read above which it’s rival to?
Oh before forget, nu such thing as Volvo of Asia, only butthurt basher created that name
Its nice. Make it snappy and get into the fight already! More power to the punters.
Clarkson once said that Alfas are like super models. they are cranky, moody and have to be handled with tender loving care. But once u get the sweet spot…. my GOD she is a sight to see and drive…
once Alfa settle the reliability issues, the big 3 Germans will have another contender to deal with… Peace
in my opinion, it is easier to come out with an attractive design, but reliability is easier said than done. it shouldnt be an issue you tackle after, but rather in-built in your design and engineering from day 1.
Well, until they sort out their after sales support, dealer network, spare part availability at non shocking prices and inject decent reliability into their cars they are not gonna met their goals..selling cars are more than attractive designs and brand cachet
Alfa’s and most of FCA’s brands will not be able to get a foothold in Asia if they dont sort out the basics…Come to think of it..what I said above applies to globally for Alfa and FCA in general….
Alfa had tried for years to compete with the big European boys but failed miserably .
Of course if you compare with Proton, it’s world class and light years ahead …