Don’t honk at stray animals on the road – Wildlife Dept

Chickaboo-Ostrich-Federal-Highway

First an ostrich, then a horse. We’re not sure what’s going to pop up next, but whichever animal you see on the road, please do not honk at it. This is to prevent the lost animal from panicking and getting out of control, the Wildlife Department advised.

Wildlife and National Parks Department (Perhilitan) deputy director-general II, Fakhrul Hatta Musa said honking at the animal would cause it to be muddled, and that could be dangerous to both motorists and the animal.

“(Instead) when dealing with such a situation, the drivers should slow down their vehicles and help to save the animals by contacting the relevant authorities such as the PLUS hotline, Veterinary Services Department and Perhilitan itself for the next course of action,” he said when contacted by Bernama.

The Perhilitan man was commenting on recent incidents caught on camera and viewed by millions on Facebook. Chickaboo the ostrich needs no introduction (screengrab above is from BFM’s video of Jeff Sandhu, the man who shot the original video, visiting the big bird at its new home), and the Federal Highway incident was followed three days later by a horse galloping down Jalan Sultan Yahya Petra in Kota Bharu.

Fakhrul Hatta said the incidents were due to negligence of the animals’ owners, and that they could be sued if it involved accidents. “The licensed owner or breeder must adhere to the stipulated guidelines in securing the animal in a safe place,” he said. Remember, don’t honk and safety first.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• But what happens if the ostrich starts to Beep Beep at me?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 6
    • Kunta Kinte on Jun 23, 2016 at 11:32 am

Our PLUS the best, we pay one of the highest tolls in the world and yet, they cannot fence up the whole highway.

Every year, hundreds of massive accidents because people langgar kerbau, lembu, ular sawa, kambing or iguana.

So, why we pay so expensive tools in the first place?

Oh yeah, we cannot even sue the concessionaire because they are UMNO linked and the judge will throw the case out of court immediately.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 15
      • Balik tidur lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 46
        • Kunta Kinte on Jun 23, 2016 at 11:43 am

Yes John, that is your culture. Even MAS Union also told the whole world, it is the right of Malaysians to sleep during office hours if they are tired.

Pls go back to sleep John.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 11
          • Tidur pun salah kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 29
          • mueller on Jun 23, 2016 at 1:42 pm

Vip police escort = stray animals.
            Do NOT honk at them too.

• Same L00 on Jun 23, 2016 at 6:56 pm

OK, i will stop honking on the taxis. Sorry I didn’t know that. No wonder they drive even more recklessly.

• timbuktu on Jun 23, 2016 at 1:52 pm

ostrich doesn’t beep beep. it’s the road runner. don’t be a fool trying to be funny, john.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
      • And from ur observation, the ostrich wasnt running on the road? Its just casually waddling along at a leisurely pace on the hiway?

• There are safety signs on the highway. The ostrich has to obey traffic rules

• What about that stupid human chicken

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Can the UiTM/Mara graduates teach them how to cross the road?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
  • I’m john. I have a fetish for animals. That is why you see my name here for the fifth time.

• John Kunta on Jun 23, 2016 at 1:57 pm

When you see John, Kunta and a Snake on the highway, what do you do?
    Catch the Snake and whack both of them.

• Black Dog on Jun 23, 2016 at 2:00 pm

‘due to negligence of the animals’ owners, and that they could be sued ‘

But in Bolehland the suppose to be guilty is always hailed as the Hero!

• someone on Jun 23, 2016 at 2:06 pm

Don’t forget the pig, they walks ooppss drive on the emergency lane

• spongewai on Jun 23, 2016 at 2:25 pm

John, the Sam Loo’s partner.

• thepolygonal on Jun 23, 2016 at 2:57 pm

That is NOT an ostrich, it’s a test mule for the upcoming new model for…

• Ben Yap on Jun 23, 2016 at 3:19 pm

cannot honk but we can bang them down!

• Works on humans too. Honk at them, it agitates them and they lose control. Thats how road rage starts in malaysia. Honking. Lol

• Sam Loo (orig) on Jun 23, 2016 at 3:51 pm

Use Toyota Hilux to bang it down….our Hilux is robust likes tank sure no problem even bang elephant…..call me to buy Toyota Hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • BNaik on Jun 23, 2016 at 4:00 pm

Please saman the owner’s let the animals run here & there!!??
    Today ostrich, next cow & horse… next kambing, kucing, anjing, monkey apa pun keluar, plz lah take care ur PETs don’t let it run on the road. Think it fun & safety for public!!??

• You know, i can ride the ostrich all day

• KarmaComing on Jun 23, 2016 at 7:45 pm

What if I see a female “Hippo” crossing the road??

• You try to Run Over the Stupid Moose Ass-shaped “Hippo” with big hair down =)
      If you read the caps letter you know who the hippo is.

• Bernard on Jun 24, 2016 at 4:39 pm

She will smack the monkey looking at her with his beady eyes!

• Bernard on Jun 24, 2016 at 4:38 pm

Everybody breaks the rules here. Now my horn is out of order for honking so much.

Do you think if msian drivers take a psychology evaluation test, they would pass?