Next-gen Nissan Serena leaked in brochure images

serena-brochure-leak-6

The next-generation Nissan Serena has been leaked in a series of brochure images, showcasing the MPV’s fresh new looks, inside and out. Previously, we posted spyshots of the new MPV, which includes a good look at its cabin, and it appears that the design is consistent here as well.

Starting with the front, Nissan’s V-motion grille takes centre stage here, featuring a two-slat setup, with the Nissan logo positioned between. Flanking the grille are new headlamps that are not only less rounded than before, but are divided by a body-coloured accent that extends into the Serena’s character line, and on to the rails of the rear sliding doors.

The new face also features a more aggressive-looking front bumper and sculpted hood that follows along the contours of the redesigned headlamps. Other pages of the brochure also show an optional ‘Rider’ bodykit that replaces both the front bumper and grille that sport a multi-slat design instead. The former also comes with larger, more angular fog lamp enclosures.

serena-brochure-leak-1

From the rear three-quarter angle shot of the Serena, “floating roof” design is part of the Serena’s exterior overhaul, with part of the D-pillar being painted black to create the illusion. Other black-painted areas include the A-, B- and C-pillars, side mirrors and roof.

At the rear, the bumper follows the same aggressive look of the front with a small lip attached. The ‘Rider’ pack introduces a new rear bumper here, with more prominent reflector/fog lamp sections. Meanwhile, the hatch door gets a larger chrome accent fitted above the number plate holder. New alloy wheels are also part of the Serena’s new look.

Big changes indeed, and they continue into the cabin as well. The layout you see here is identical to what we saw in earlier spyshots. For starters, the top dash now includes a wider instrument binnacle that feature new digital displays within. As one of the brochure images show, the MPV’s reverse camera and tachometer can appear on said display.

Elsewhere, the reshaped air-con vents are now positioned alongside the centre stack, which is also of a brand new design. Featuring a silver surround, it plays host to the car’s new air-con switchgear, gear selector, electronic parking brake, the push-start button and the large touchscreen infotainment unit.

Like its predecessor, the new Serena will still be capable of ferrying seven people. For passengers in the second-row, there are flip-up trays fitted behind both the front driver and passenger seats that can be stowed away if needed. Other returning features include the sliding central second-row seat that acts as both an armrest and additional storage space.

What do you think of the all-new Nissan Serena? Do you think it looks better than its predecessor? Let us know what you think about the MPV in the comments below.

GALLERY: Next-gen Nissan Serena spyshots

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Same steering wheel from the gt-r….
    Wwwooooww……

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jul 01, 2016 at 9:02 pm

In this category…Biante wins…not too tall and thin like serena, noah and stepmother..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 32
      • topkek on Jul 02, 2016 at 12:34 am

Biante chassis is from old 2004 Ford C1 platform

As usual basher logic if p1 reskin accord they say close shop

But when their jepunis overlord use old platforms they dun persoal pulak

Topkek

• idealtech on Jul 02, 2016 at 3:27 am

im so sorry but biante is fugly as a this segment mpv can get.

• replying to the bodoh above on Jul 02, 2016 at 10:56 am

Biante, Noah, Serena and Stepwagon are MPV that design for JDM’s small car classification for below 4.7m length and 1.7m width

• All are from jepunis overlords which i’m not interested. Exora wins hands down

• Buy Proton Perdana lah. My pipu should support our own brand. Why buy Jepunis overlord brand and give other country our money?

Orang bodoh sahaja beli kereta Jepunis overlord macam Dear Leader in Penang.

I will only support Proton. Kebangaan Malaysia!

• KangkungBoi on Jul 01, 2016 at 6:18 pm

Looking awesome Serena…now who still needs an Alphard or Vellfire

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
    • Competing with Alfat is Elgrand. Serena is 1 step lower

• BluOcean on Jul 01, 2016 at 8:41 pm

Civic is better than Perdana tho. different segments

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
        • If im looking for space and presence, Perdana win hands down

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
          • DPCraft on Jul 01, 2016 at 11:54 pm

If you looking for space & presence go buy bus, very spacious and everyone will notice your vehicle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 21
          • But then how to park at KLCC, Changkat and in front of jalan pinhor… oh wai

• kakaka on Jul 02, 2016 at 12:37 am

So now basher starts to sound like p1 supporter pulak, ask them to buy bus if want more space.

Bashers run out of idea kah? Kah kah kah.

• Turbocor on Jul 02, 2016 at 1:02 pm

Civic turbocor ? Prepare for tow truck service in your speed dial

• SoftbankSucks on Jul 01, 2016 at 7:37 pm

Different segment. Serena competes with Noah or Voxy or Esquire, Stepwgn, Biante

• I liked almost everything about the current generation Serena. However, I made a decision to skip the current generation Serena due to the lack of sufficient airbags for 7 or 8 passengers (I think Tan Chong only gave 2 airbags which is total madness. Please correct me if i am wrong). I have 2 kids in the back seats and the idea of having no airbags whatsoever for your most precious cargo is just completely unacceptable to any responsible parent. Some of my friends shared the same thought. Let’s see if Tan Chong do it right next time round.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • Totally agree

• Hayenadeblue on Jul 01, 2016 at 9:01 pm

So true. Btw, how about the third row? Is it as spacious as Sharan and urgh, Estima?

• faildesign on Jul 02, 2016 at 12:40 am

It still looks like bread van, they ask kindergarten kids to design it, narrow long body with high roof.

Fail design.

• Sonyman1 on Jul 03, 2016 at 11:37 am

Recommend you volvo xc90. That’s the perfect one for you

• O.o

• Bernard on Jul 03, 2016 at 1:18 pm

If below 50k , good buy.

And must come with minimum 6 airbags and all the other safety features.

Only than it would be fair to the consumers.

• Still maintain a outdated box design.

When can you come out with the bullet design like Estima?

10 years old Estima still look better.