2016 Harley-Davidson Roadster 1200 CX, Softail Slim S, CVO Pro Street Breakout in Malaysia, from RM 110k

2016 Harley-Davidson launch -4

Harley-Davidson seems to be moving away from the traditional image of the chrome-laden cruiser, and producing a machine in the traditional American iron style that is designed to appeal to the younger, more urban, rider. After launching the Dark Series Iron 883 and Forty-Eight earlier this year, Harley-Davidson Kuala Lumpur has launched the 2016 Roadster 1200 CX, Softail Slim S, and CVO Pro Street Breakout at RM110,000, RM160,000 and RM210,000, respectively.

The smallest of the newly launched cruisers is the Roadster 1200 CX, at RM110,000. Sporting a 1,200 cc air-cooled Evolution V-twin that puts out 103 Nm at 3,750 rpm, the 2016 Roadster weighs in at 249 kg, and comes in four colours – Velocity Red Sunglo, Billet Silver, Black Denim and Vivid Black.

Next in the line-up is the RM160,000 Softail Slim S, which comes with a Screamin’ Eagle twin-cam 110B air-cooled V-twin that displaces 1,801 cc, and makes 145 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. Coming in at 308 kg, and a low-slung 650 mm seat height, the 2016 Softail Slim S has two colour options, Olive Gold Denim (picture) and Vivid Black.

At the top of the heap is the CVO Pro Street Breakout at RM210,000 – CVO standing for Harley’s Custom Vehicle Operations motorcycle department. Using the same 1,801 cc Screamin’ Eagle V-twin as the Slim S, the Breakout gets 151 Nm of torque at 3,500 rpm from its mill. Owners can choose between two two-tone paint schemes, Starfire Black/Starfire Black and White Gold Pearl/Starfire Black (picture).

During the launch, Eskandar Esa, associate vice-president of Naza Prestige Bikes said, “Harley-Davidson is committed to providing an uncompromised level of quality service to all its customers, we have a team of highly competent and specially trained personnel.”

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• The real road hog

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 24, 2016 at 1:11 pm

Rm210k for a motorbike but still have to wait under the bridge when it rains.

The when go to mamak to eat, have to park the bike beside the table cause scared someone bring Hilux and carry the bike ie curi the bike into the Hilux and run off.

So careful, someone in kancil bang you also terus become cacat and spend 6 months in ICU and CCU

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
      • Hogs being such a big bike, probably ur kancil 660 engine wud burst thru firewall and reach u b4 ur car front even touches the rider’s butt.

• Redidiot on Jul 26, 2016 at 6:39 pm

Sorry, the original american iron is either the Excelcior or Indian, deffinitely not this phony. Thats right PHONY.

• Henry on Jul 23, 2016 at 1:48 pm

This is something you see and like to buy and own. But once you have it it is not so fun afterall. I have been down this road before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Dr Vida on Jul 24, 2016 at 1:53 am

Same here. That’s why I’m buying my 9 year old son a Bugati Veyron.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • Henry on Jul 24, 2016 at 6:19 pm

Right, there are many ToysRus stores in the country. No waiting list either.

• scramblerenduro on Jul 23, 2016 at 6:26 pm

You’ve got to be a dummy to spend this much on American excessiveness when more sophisticated European counterparts are either similarly priced (or cheaper). Miata Mx-5 is a better proposition than that CVO PRO steel crap

• Mx5 is a car, this is a bike. They scratch different itches on a person.

• Have you tried riding an air cooled harley during heavy traffic jam, you are cooking your own thigh

• Jonn Dol on Jul 25, 2016 at 8:23 am

While I do have respect for Harley bikes, the price for these custom Harleys are a bit absurd.

• alex chan on Jul 25, 2016 at 9:43 am

not everyone taste…harley is more to show off your status to your friends..rides? mostly to mamak around 2km only.
    Highway rides aka convoy?..maybe once a year
    only leisure ride aka makan angin with loud exhaust pom pom pom just to notify their arrival.
    Ride 5 min to mamak..lepak 4 hours..then wife call, ride again 5 min home.
    and gentlemens, that what we at harley call it life style

• Richard on Jul 25, 2016 at 1:43 pm

It’s still a good option to ride to work due to heavy traffic congestion, however you have to think twice due to parking in basement where you don’t have a piece of mind. You may end up missing side mirror and disc brake…
    Price is also a factor whereby the government should reduce the taxes and to encourage more people to use bike rather than car. Just compare the price to Thailand & Singapore…