Parking fees at four non-CBD areas in KL to be reduced by 25% to 50% – official announcement soon

Public-Parking-Lots

After Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) raised parking charges by 150% for its public bays in the central business district (CBD) and other high traffic areas on July 18, the authorities have since back-pedalled following public complaints.

DBKL has already scrapped the implementation of the new parking charges in Taman Tun Dr Ismail (TTDI), and according to The Star, at least four more townships will see a reduction in parking charges of between 25% and 50%. The daily believes that areas such as Bangsar, Sri Hartamas and Solaris Mont Kiara will see a reduction in parking fees.

It was reported that Federal Territories Minister Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor met with PM Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak yesterday to discuss the changes and the former is expected to make an announcement on the matter today or tomorrow.

In the July 18 move, the CBD saw a hike in parking charges by 150% from RM0.80 an hour to RM2 for the first hour. Beyond that, it will cost drivers RM3 for the second and each subsequent hour. Additionally, a maximum parking cap of two hours was implemented in selected areas. Affected areas included Bukit Bintang, Bukit Damansara, Hartamas, Solaris Mont Kiara, TTDI and Bangsar.

tengku adnan bernama pix

Tengku Adnan had earlier said there was confusion about CBD areas which led to residential townships being included in the steep hike. “The instruction to increase parking charges to RM2 for the first hour and RM3 for consecutive hours was only for CBD areas. Townships such as TTDI, Bangsar, Sri Hartamas and Kepong were designated as CBD in DBKL’s old structure plan, hence the mistake,” he said.

“I have asked DBKL to review the rates and listen to the people affected. The rates for the CBD area will remain,” the minister was quoted as saying.

If the reduction is 25%, the RM2 rate will fall to RM1.50. If it is 50%, it will be RM1 per hour. The Star points out that if a 25% reduction is approved, motorists in say, Bangsar, who park for eight hours straight will pay RM12 as opposed to RM23 with the recently increased rate.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• U raised the price, give discount.
    U think we stupid pipu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • hailthepurist on Jul 28, 2016 at 12:11 pm

‘They’ think we stupid..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • We should rasa cukur as our BN government is so considering…when barang naik many many…rakyat make noise…they will turun sikit sikit…..BN government is the best government in the world. Salute!!!!!!!

• kzm (Member) on Jul 28, 2016 at 12:49 pm

Where?

• swoosh3553 on Jul 28, 2016 at 11:54 am

It is still a RM0.20 increase over the old rate! If it was a mistake to label residential areas as CBD, then the hike should be reverted back to original RM0.80 and not RM1.00 (50% reduction)! Kunan really thinks Malaysians are dumb. Rakyat didahulukan, my A55!

• azrai on Jul 28, 2016 at 12:11 pm

In dollar and cents POV, I think it is better to get summonses from DBKL, than wait for the Hari Wilayah offer only RM30 per summon, make sense than paying almost RM40 a day.

• Hahaha..smart move maybe. Pay “parking” fees lum sums for a year.

• Our ministers get pay for implement stupid ideas and find solutions after, you think this is school project ke.

• this stupidity here and there will never happened if DAP rule the country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • hellhole on Jul 28, 2016 at 1:15 pm

1st snap election to install fresh mandate, then as a referendum for Najib then no need snap election. My Ass DAP will better run the country

• No matter who lead, there is always not so smart so call leader.

• Yokohama24 on Jul 28, 2016 at 12:41 pm

Dear gomen, Malaysia is not a joke country for you all to play around. Today you increase then the next day decrease. We, the citizens have no time to joke with you all. Kindly make proper plannings before enforcing anything.

You keep saying the plan can help to reduce road traffic, Bro! there are plenty of methods to reduce besides raising the public parking rates. You may raise the parking rates after your public transport are efficient and reliable enough. Your MRT pun belum ready bro, chilling first.

Go kautim the taxi vs UBER/GRAB WAR first in the meantime. You may also try experiencing taking Rapid KL or LRT to the areas that you raised the parking rates. Have you even tried it by yourself? Then only you get the feel of how the Rakyat are experiencing everyday.

Please STOP all these jokes and make Malaysia a great country to live in. Serious la sikit…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • azrai on Jul 28, 2016 at 1:47 pm

Flip Flop policy since Pak Lah years..

• Err. What does DBKL have to do with Uber/Grab vs taxi war? Then what happens if war happens inside MPSJ area, can DBKL oso masuk campur?

• BNGov bodo piang! Everytime flip flop when somebody complain. Nobolas. They shud be like Pinoy Harry, gip them offer they cant refuse: choose either payup in full now and dun get any punishment, or kena piang piang FOC. Courtesy of Pinoy Official 1. U will see menara DBKL so full, they have to build menara DBKL 2, 3, & 4 just to collect all the outstanding fines for past 50 years.

Win-win for everybody, thats why I said BNGov bodo piang nobolas.

• So bloody unorganized. Just increase and decrease at your whim. KuNan thinks DBKL is his company ah??

• abd halim on Jul 28, 2016 at 1:19 pm

Warloard Tg Adnan thinks he can bulldozed everything to top up the empty govt kitty.
    Now the rakyat voice their concerns and he diverts the blame game to DBKL instead.
    Typical Msia No.1
    – no responsibility and tai chi here and there.
    Decision on parking charges also have to discuss with the PM ? ?
    Bercukurlah!!!

• Henry on Jul 28, 2016 at 1:59 pm

Thank you very much. You are so kind. Btw, do you pay any parking fees at all?

• Crony company got the contract la

• Traffic chaos in KL will only get worse.

I don’t even feel like there is any ‘CBD’ in KL, just a super chaotic and unorganized city where there is no vision and direction from DBKL.

They don’t even know what is their priority. Or just don’t care, sit there take salary only.

• Johnny Cassidy on Jul 28, 2016 at 4:46 pm

Lagi-lagi this face,he thought we are all stupid like him arr?

• They expect us to clap just because they ‘may be’ giving discounts after that stupid hike?
    How ‘brilliant’…

• Bernard on Jul 28, 2016 at 6:57 pm

Why reduce?

It was a good move to increase .

• I don’t understand all the big fuss surrounding the parking rate. Who still pays them seriously?

I carry a DBKL summon I got long time ago. Everytime after parking my car I just stick the summon on my wind screen. They don’t even bother to check the date. It works guys. Always