Next-gen Mercedes-AMG A45 could hit 400 hp mark

Mercedes_A45-2

According to an Autocar UK report, the next-gen Mercedes-AMG A 45 is currently in its early stages of development, and will likely come with a 400 hp engine. The push for more power is due to the need to fend off increasing levels of competition from rivals such as the BMW M2 and Audi RS3.

The new A 45 is said to retain the M133 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine, albeit with a series of upgrades – revised fuel injectors, new turbocharger and tweaked combustion process. Put together, the updates will allow the engine to hit the 400 hp mark, significantly more than what the BMW and Audi (not sure about the new one, though) has to offer.

Compared to the current A 45 (pictured here), which has 381 hp and 475 Nm at its disposal, the next-gen A 45 will see a gain of around 19 hp (or possibly more). Other enhancements to the AMG powertrain include the use of a nine-speed dual-clutch automatic gearbox, replacing the seven-speed unit of the current model. The car’s 4Matic four-wheel drive system and electric differential will also get a few tweaks as well.

In terms of performance, sources within the German carmaker told Autocar UK that the next A 45 will aim to accomplish the 100 km/h sprint in under four seconds, besting the current car’s recorded time of 4.2 seconds.

In other areas, the new A 45 will utilise more aluminium in its construction to ensure that the vehicle’s kerb weight doesn’t exceed the current model’s 1,555 kg. Change to the car’s body structure is also to be expected, making it marginally longer than current.

While the A 45 will continue to be the flagship of the next-gen A-Class, the report also confirmed that Mercedes has plans to introduce a second-tier model for the A-Class, in the same path as the C 43, GLC 43, SLK 43 and E 43. Such a model will have the Volkswagen Golf GTI in its sights, and will opt out of the updated M133 engine mentioned above. Additionally, a new plug-in petrol-electric hybrid model may also make its way into the new A-Class line-up, although details are scarce at the moment.

GALLERY: Current Mercedes-AMG A 45 in Malaysia

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• This AMG or golf R by OCZ?

• tokok on Aug 01, 2016 at 11:37 am

How fast you wanna go in a traffic?

• Ben Yap on Aug 01, 2016 at 12:24 pm

tokok don’t tokok… than u better ride bicycle or at best ride a kapchai since in traffic u can’t go fast too.

people want to enjoy the brute power is their own business la.

• Why so mad? Everyone here to tokok only la. People can afford A45 or Golf R got time to tokok here lo

• tokok on Aug 02, 2016 at 9:19 am

U’re wrong. He’s going to buy A45 in his next life

• turbo on Aug 01, 2016 at 5:55 pm

Let me give u a hint… LEKAS / MEX..

• halal on Aug 01, 2016 at 11:44 am

Bro not fairlah like that. You want to compare stock model with OEM while the other one has better upgraded mechanics. That’s like trying to compare your spouse with Runway models.

• ducatiscrambler on Aug 01, 2016 at 11:45 am

Depends on how much you wish to splurge on cars. If you don’t have the ability to pay lump sump look away.

• alldisc on Aug 01, 2016 at 12:17 pm

If the owner lives in KL. He will only use 40% of max power available. And most of the time 25% as he gets stuck in slow moving traffic. He will be better off buying the a200 and then buy the AMG emblem. That will save him the amount of rm100k the least

• bro 2.0 on Aug 02, 2016 at 8:45 pm

Or the owner could top up a little more for A250 which has some AMG DNA to it. At least still sporty.

• 10Years back, i will be like FUhhh 400HP, i’m goin to work my ass of and save to buy this ultima. But now with families and all the inflation, MPV is the best for me.

• Dun worry. U still havent catch midlife crisis yet. Theres still plenty of time for u to menabung. Ganbatte!

• Annoynimouse on Aug 01, 2016 at 3:57 pm

Crazy never-ending horsepower war…