VIDEO: 2016 Audi RS3 emerges from mother R8 V10

At paultan.org, we’ve seen more than our fair share of video-based hijinks as manufacturers resort to creating the oddest, most attention-grabbing commercials to promote their vehicles. But it’s been quite a while since we’ve seen something quite as strange or as disturbing as the latest spot for the new 2016 Audi RS3.

The video starts out innocuously enough, with the outgoing R8 V10 (a Competition model, no less) sitting in a sort of futuristic dystopian chamber. Then, robots disassemble the rear bumper and the weirdness begins – the entire rear section of the car starts to split open, the V10 emits its trademark piercing wail to simulate screaming, and what’s that weird gooey brown stuff the robot squirts onto the engine?

But by far the creepiest part of the whole video comes near the end, when the RS3 emerges from the “womb” covered in some kind of waxy red substance, before it gets cleaned up for its reveal. We really don’t understand how the RS3 is “related” to the R8 – yes, the former is four-wheel drive like the latter, but it’s front-engined, has a far more doldrum five-door hatch body style and comes with five cylinders instead of ten.

Still, there’s no denying that the RS3 has all the makings to be quite an exciting car, with the 2.5 litre TFSI turbo five-pot pushing out (hah!) 367 PS and 465 Nm of torque through a seven-speed S tronic dual-clutch transmission. Just keep the weirder, wilder ideas to yourself next time, okay, Audi?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• shawal on Apr 30, 2015 at 6:47 pm

……wad. De…. Phunk…

• Fahmi on Apr 30, 2015 at 6:54 pm

But then, who’s the father? Audi RS6 Avant???

• Josh Ling on May 01, 2015 at 5:58 am

i think probably Q7….or A8.

a rather creepy advertisement. i truly believe there are much better ways to get the message across.

• holofanboi on Apr 30, 2015 at 7:14 pm

I…I…

I got aroused.

Damn it. ;_;

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 30, 2015 at 7:34 pm

Audi, as much as I think your A3 Sportback and RS3 Sportback are probably one of the nicer cars you make, Y U DO ADS LIKE DIS.

I can’t even……

• spongewai on Apr 30, 2015 at 9:20 pm

pretty weird but crazy good idea woh

• melvinlzx on May 01, 2015 at 12:30 am

i can feel the pain of the audi r8 v10

• Insider news on May 01, 2015 at 1:05 am

I think the ads was brilliant. Never come to my imagination a car ads will do this.
    Sometime u don’t need V10 to born a V10.
    Just take it as R8 is the mother of all Audi, Give birth to an exciting RS3 !
    About the father… Don’t bother asking. You don’t wanna know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Annoynimouse on May 01, 2015 at 9:01 am

Crazy ad… FINAS won’t approve! But I like the car. Haha.

• What is so creepy about? It’s pretty good actually!!

• venven81 on May 01, 2015 at 12:42 pm

Some people just don’t have the creative side of thing and hence they thought it’s creepy, weird, etc. But of course all humans were borne in different ways.

• Macromedia on May 01, 2015 at 11:12 am

Distasteful ad.

• Hor Shen Hau on May 01, 2015 at 12:10 pm

Very nice ads.Good job Audi!!!!I think after this Same Lorrr will ask Toyota to make a ads like this too.Toyota Camry give birth to a Toyota Vios.Haha

• Hor Nien Yuet on May 01, 2015 at 2:10 pm

And Preve giving birth to Iriz. Haha

• Hor Shen Hau on May 03, 2015 at 2:00 pm

At least the Preve “give birth” to a good car,the Proton Iriz.Cheers!^_^

• A hell-born child.

R8 doesnt seem like its moving anymore. Is it dead?

• I.. I… I CANNOT BRAIN THIS!!!

• albag on May 01, 2015 at 3:53 pm

gosh after watching this ad it gives me a weird impression on R8 from now on… :(

tony stark is driving a high speed vagina