2016 Vespa 946 Emporio Armani in M’sia – RM68,551

2016 Vespa 946 Emporio Armani -21

Most will look at scooters as basic urban transport, designed to be thrashed about on the daily commute. Oh, and it’s usually cheap too. Right up to the point you lay eyes on the 2016 Vespa Emporio Armani (EA) Edition – now in Malaysia – with its eye-watering price tag of RM68,551.

Carrying a 155 cc air-cooled engine, the Vespa 946 EA comes with a SOHC pushing on three-valves. The four-stroke single-cylinder drives a CVT ‘box with dry centrifugal clutch and belt final drive.

Braking is with discs front and rear, and the Vespa 946 comes with two-channel ABS with anti-slip regulation (ASR). Suspension is a single-arm in front with coil spring and dual-action hydraulic absorber, while a single shock absorber props up the rear with adjustable pre-load.

Fuel is carried in an 8.5-litre tank, and consumption is claimed to be 2.0 litres per 100 km. Weight is claimed to be 147 kg.

2016 Vespa 946 Emporio Armani -2

A single leather-covered seat is the key feature of the 2016 Vespa 946 EA, with leather wrapped grip on the handlebars and a parcel grid on the rear-end. The entire scooter comes covered in a shade of matte black, with an LCD instrument panel.

For Malaysia, 12 units were brought in out of a limited production run of 100 units worldwide, and all have been spoken for. So, what do you think? Is RM68,551 way to much to pay for a scooter with a brand-name on it? Leave a comment below with your thoughts and opinions.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• kamalrul on Aug 08, 2016 at 5:16 pm

wish to meet the buyer of this Scooter..

• i got friends when I’m on duty in Bandung who ride this bike. he’s bought around RP150 Million and thanks to his dad cuz the company I’ve been was their dad companies.

• Zabir on May 04, 2023 at 12:53 pm

Amy Search using it

• This is kinda like special editions of the Fiat 500. The Gucci, GQ, Maserati & Ferrari Tributo edition.

• Andrew on Aug 08, 2016 at 5:23 pm

Outrageous

• Pay so much just to early afterlife. Better save money and buy my untested Bisa for same result. PM me for Road to Nirvana package.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • ben yap on Aug 08, 2016 at 5:49 pm

which part of the scooter is made by Emporio Armani?

• Expensive?? All already spoken for lah…
    With that kind of quick sale, my economics 101 tells me that it is actually too cheap.!

• NIZZAN on Aug 08, 2016 at 10:25 pm

Wah! SOHC!! Wah super SOHxI to spend for a so called collector item!

• Shaekey on Aug 08, 2016 at 6:11 pm

Those that bought the 12 units… none of them probably will be riding them regularly. It’s basically just a collector item and they probably want to keep it in brand new condition as much as possible.

• Ootai on Aug 08, 2016 at 7:18 pm

Alas, my Arab friend is late remitting the dollar. All already spoken for. Will wait where is this wheeler park.

• Arab fren kata not exclusive enuff. Wait for him to gold-plate it first.

• Bernard on Aug 08, 2016 at 7:36 pm

Is this a sign that the world is coming to an end?

• Kenny on Aug 08, 2016 at 8:25 pm

A fool and his money are soon parted.

• yoshi on Aug 09, 2016 at 9:11 am

better buy a T-Max

• “Fuel is carried in an 8.5-litre tank, and consumption is claimed to be 2.0 litres per 100 km”

So full tank can go 425km, wow!

• rapid on Aug 09, 2016 at 11:56 am

buy to be put as a display/prop unit in apparel shop…

• VespaChamps on Aug 09, 2016 at 10:11 pm

12 units sold.tq

• Rick Keffer on Sep 12, 2016 at 3:41 am

Vespa are great but generally speaking too many $ you could buy a BMW 650 and gas for years for that much.

• Where is the best place to buy Vespa in Malaysia, either new or second hand?